We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riley's Railhouse
Nearby Hotels
Quality Inn(Chesterton)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Indian Oak(Chesterton)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Chesterton)
US$50
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
49
3
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
3
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsupper berthtrain stationb blove trainsrail carstrains passinganne mariefreight housebed and breakfastrailroad themewithin walking distancemichigan cityrailfanlofthostsboxcardunes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2017

I rented out Riley's Railhouse for my graduation party this past Spring and it was PERFECT. It is such a beautiful space and Rich and Anne Marie are the most divine hosts! We had about 50 guests and catered in the food and drink. My friends and family were super impressed with the space and loved the train theme.

Stayed: April 2016
3  Thank LeelieRegine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016

This was one of the most unique B&B's we have ever stayed at! It is an old converted railway freight station sitting on two **very** active tracks. At first, the train traffic was a little intimidating, but we quickly grew to enjoying the sounds and motions of the trains going by! It is actually kind of addicting! The inside décor is all about trains. Outside sits a box car converted into two beautifully unique rooms and two cabooses in the process of being converted into more rooms all on their own track! The host/ hostess could not have been more friendly and accommodating. The breakfasts were delicious and filling. The resident canines added to the ambience. The town of Chesterton was quaint and enjoyable. It is close to the Indiana Sand Dunes and Michigan City, as well as many other attractions. The outside deck area was fun to sit on and watch the trains go by. We definitely plan on trying to revisit this B&B! Steve & Joanie, Alton, IL

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lower Berth. The room was very comfortable and convenient.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank swsands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Let me start by stating this is our 2nd anniversary and we only started staying at bed and breakfasts on our honeymoon so I don't have a ton of experience. This year we were looking to not spend a ridiculous amount of money and find some place interesting.

We definitely found something interesting here. My husband used to do model trains with his grandfather and godfather so he is a bit of a rail fan. In choosing this location, I knew we had active train tracks next door to us so I can only say that when staying in the Upper Berth, they are very loud as it is also at an intersection so the trains are also blowing whistles. If you're really lucky, you'll have multiple trains on the tracks at one time. So that is the extent I'll talk about the sound of the trains...it's a railhouse...there are trains going by...you chose it, expect it.

The railhouse dogs, Chloe and Jackson. They are sweet dogs but be aware that one is a labradoodle and the other is a goldendoodle, they are not small dogs. If you are afraid of dogs, you may want to consider this. They also bark, bigger dogs equal bigger barks. Again, super sweet and friendly dogs but something to be aware of.

Another thing about staying in the upper berth, there is a window between the room and the common area. It's a plate glass window, not open but it is there. This means that any noise in the common area is easily heard in the room, not sure if it goes both ways or not. Also, the lights in the common area illuminate the room so if you need a dark room and you go to bed a little on the earlier side, it won't be terribly dark.

Also there is a skylight in the room. There are skylights throughout the common area as well. Another way there can be too much light in the room if that's your thing.

There is also a small balcony in the room you can step out onto to watch the trains. They have installed two swing arms with long velvet draperies to help muffle the sound. If you close them while a train is going by, you'll see what a big difference it makes. But remember, the trains are like 100 feet away from the wall, they're still loud...railhouse...you knew this.

There is so much history in the building itself and Richard has brought in a ton of items as well. The place is beautiful. The amenities are high end. The room is super comfortable. Richard and Ann Marie are really wonderful hosts with lots of stories and information if you are interested. Breakfasts were simple and tasty. We had french toast, sausage, fruit, and pastries from the farmers market the first morning and blueberry pancakes, bacon, yogurt, and fruit the second morning.

The company was nice, the other people staying there were very friendly.

So, if you are a rail fan or are looking for something different, I would definitely recommend Riley's Railhouse. The Upper Bert was wonderful but if we were to stay again, I would want to stay in one of the boxcars, they are far more spacious than one would think and also beautifully appointed.

Room Tip: The boxcars are probably quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank saraw0418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We stayed in the boxcar with my grandchildren 5 & 12 years old. Each enjoyed the wonderful experience: the loft, the large sliding wood door at the entrance of the boxcar, the trains blowing their whistles while passing. We celebrated a birthday in the gathering room and felt right at home. This unique lodging was impeccable in every way: decor, hospitality, food, cleanliness. We enjoyed the stroll through the open market just a very short walk next door. We also liked the location in Chesterton...a small town ambience and so close to the Indiana Dunes National & State Parks. We were looking for a unique fun traveling experience different from the typical amusement park rush. The combination of the boxcar accommodation and the trails, beaches, tours at the Indiana Dunes Parks kept everyone happy. We've already planned our return. Visitors should be aware Riley's is very near a railroad crossing with frequent trains passing day and night. The noise of the train tracks and whistle blowing added to the ambience and excitement for us... some might prefer a more silent night.

Room Tip: Trains passing, rain on the metal boxcar roof added to the ambience & excitement for us. Some might prefer a more silent night.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank juliag553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2016

We stayed at one of the box cars while visiting the Dunes. This place is amazing. My two teenagers were extremely excited to be in the well decorated room with a cozy loft. The owners and hosts made us feel very welcome. What a highlight of our trip!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OneTravelingTechie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews