We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riley's Railhouse
Nearby Hotels
Quality Inn(Chesterton)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Indian Oak(Chesterton)(Great Value!)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Chesterton)
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites(Porter)(Great Value!)
US$85
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
US$93
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
US$115
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
49
3
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
3
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsupper berthtrain stationlove trainsrail carstrains passinganne mariefreight housebed and breakfastrailroad themewithin walking distancemichigan cityrailfanlofthostsboxcardunesnorfolk
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

We thought it would be a nice place to stay. We tried calling ahead of time, no answer. When we arrived there were No cars in the parking lot, and all the lights were off inside. Ended up going else where. Looked cool from the outside.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank tkdbati7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

We stayed for two nights and loved it! Richard was a great host and very helpful. He makes the best breakfast as well! We stayed in the lower berth and slept right through the trains :-) We actually liked the trains passing through as it added to the experience. We are planning on coming back with our little kids next time and plan on staying in the box car. Great location and very close to the dunes!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank crashker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the upper berth and loved it. The hosts are so nice and took time to show us the new train cars that they are refurbishing. The main area had great train toys for the kids. Our boys loved standing out on the small deck off of the room upstairs and watching for the trains.
The trains do get very loud, but we still slept well. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and the hosts really pampered us, even making the fruit into a smiley face which the kids loved.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank mchughcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

My husband loves trains and I love the unique and arty travel world! What a find at Riley's with railroad antiques, collections incredible lounge, unusual accommodations and delightful hosts! Richard and Anne Marie and passionate and loving hosts, creative and warm! Fresh blueberry pancakes, comfy bed, fun trains and location across from Ivy's Bohemian, which is delightful! Con Saturdays during the summer, walk next door to the large farmers market too! Convenient to the South Shore train station to Michigan Ave.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jenifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

My friend who loves trains and I visited here for an overnight. Very unique place to stay. The innkeeper was so friendly and fixed a fabulous breakfast. She does have dogs that are out and are friendly as well. Plan to be awakened a few times during the night by the trains passing by. Must eat at Ivy's Bohemian House across the street. Wonderful menu. Also yummy bakery and ice cream place within walking distance. We did enjoy our stay and would recommend you give it a try. The Railhouse is close to Michigan City in case you want to do some shopping.

Room Tip: We stayed in the lower berth - the quietest room.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank GOPManda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews