We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Quality Inn(Chesterton)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Indian Oak(Chesterton)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Chesterton)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$61
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$76
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites(Porter)(Great Value!)
US$85
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$109
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$99
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
50
3
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
3
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsupper berthtrain stationrail carstrains passinganne mariefreight housebed and breakfastrailroad themewithin walking distancemichigan cityrailfanlofthostsboxcardunesnorfolkaccommodations
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2017

We can't share experiences from an overnight stay at this B&B since we were here just for two catered receptions. But wow, what a beautifully restored and decorated space! Lots of fun looking at the railroad paraphernalia, watching the model trains going around and talking to Richard Riley, the friendly owner. It seems that he had a lot of fun putting this together. The South Shore rail is busy, you can watch lots of the real trains go by sipping a glass of wine on the veranda.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelpr0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

A hidden gem in the Midwest! We spent two days at Riley's Railhouse enjoying great times with host and owner, Richard. The B & B is located in an old railroad freight house in the center of the town of Chesterton. We had a second floor Upper Berth with a nice balcony overlooking the Norfolk and Southern RR right of way which hosts over 80 trains a day. The room was well appointed and squeaky clean with a King bed and nice well supplied bathroom and sitting area. A bonus for this room is a cute one bed loft that would be perfect for a child! Richard serves a wonderful breakfast that fills you for the entire day along with great conversation and advice for experiencing beautiful Porter County. The building has been renovated tastefully and has a beautiful great room for sitting and visiting. They are currently refurbishing rail cars to provide additional accommodations. As a Train Addict I was in heaven for two days shooting pictures of the heavily traveled main line and enjoying the varied and tasty Chesterton food options. I will be back to Riley's Railhouse very soon!

Room Tip: Upper floors have a great view but the 24 hour sounds of trains passing may bother light sleepers so a south side room may be quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mpower361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

We thought it would be a nice place to stay. We tried calling ahead of time, no answer. When we arrived there were No cars in the parking lot, and all the lights were off inside. Ended up going else where. Looked cool from the outside.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank tkdbati7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

We stayed for two nights and loved it! Richard was a great host and very helpful. He makes the best breakfast as well! We stayed in the lower berth and slept right through the trains :-) We actually liked the trains passing through as it added to the experience. We are planning on coming back with our little kids next time and plan on staying in the box car. Great location and very close to the dunes!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank crashker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the upper berth and loved it. The hosts are so nice and took time to show us the new train cars that they are refurbishing. The main area had great train toys for the kids. Our boys loved standing out on the small deck off of the room upstairs and watching for the trains.
The trains do get very loud, but we still slept well. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and the hosts really pampered us, even making the fruit into a smiley face which the kids loved.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank mchughcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews