We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Yes the manager and the family lives there, now whats wrong with that? :)” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Corydon IN

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Corydon IN
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Corydon
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yes the manager and the family lives there, now whats wrong with that? :)”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2007

We have stayed there twice, once in 2004 and once around Halloween of 2006. Yes, the managers family does live there, that is quite odd and maybe a bit uncouth! Where is that "Mystery Shopper" when you need them?

Management / Staff: Just plain odd goings on, in this department! Both times, several of us were going to visit some friends who lived about 20 miles further down I-64. In 2004 we were waiting in the lobby for the others in our party, chit-chatting and what not when the staff asked us to hold it down! You have to be kidding, right? They have their nerve, huh? We weren't that loud. :) Just as another reviewer said, the staff lives there. In 2006, we did the same thing but no one said for us to hush. The odd thing here is that one of the staff's kids, takes their (live-in) dog from their room, behind the counter and out of the front door for him to do his business . . . right in front of God and everybody! It gets better, then the dog (and boy) come back in. The dog goes behind the desk, stands up by putting his paws up on the counter, like he was waiting on the next customer. Comical as all get out but also unprofessional. Other than that, the staff were helpful, esp. in 2006.

Location: Convenient to I-64, WalMart, restaurants and so on. It is hard to see, turn into the Wal Mart parking lot (at the stop light) and it is behind and to the North side of the strip mall. Parking can be tight.

Rooms: Very clean, comfortable and well appointed for standard rooms. We paid about $55 per night for a King room. Not bad.

Otherness: The lobby and hallways both times had nasty odors. They must use a 100% bleach solution to clean the lobby with. It made your eyes water and head ache. We aksed to prop the main doors open to let fresh air, in. The motel's laundry was right behind the desk. Constant, hot, dryer lint smells went everywhere.

It was just an okay place. It would have gotten a 4 or 5 had it not been for the live in staff and the awful smells that were everywhere (less so in the rooms).

Overall: Typical mid priced stuff, just odd seeing Innkeepers at a mainstream place!

  • Liked — Loaction
  • Disliked — The odd management / living arrangement
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doodle1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    61
    45
    34
    29
See reviews for
84
70
20
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, In
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2006

We were totally impressed with this hotel!!
Everything from the cleanliness of the room to the friendly and helpful staff.
This is the first time we have stayed in a smoking room that you couldn't tell that it was ever smoked in.

  • Liked — the cleanliness
  • Tips/Secrets — Great Chinese Buffet in walking distance as well as a Cracker Barrel
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tjswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2006

This hotel was very dirty. The staff was horrible. These people live here. We were kicked out of the lobby because it was there living room. Every area has an odor and not a good one. I would NEVER stay at this hotel again. I would say to camp before staying here. And word to the wise do not eat the breakfast. They had a dirty crock pot w/ gravy in it. The flies were just making it there home. I still shake just thinking about it.~not worth 8 bucks!!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keepingallhappy, manager at Super 8 Corydon IN, responded to this review, 8 March 2007
The motel is not dirty, The crock pot is a new crock pot that people make a mess of regulary and is cleaned continuously . It is maintained as required by health and safty.There has never been problems with flies in this establishment. As far as management living here they do not. There was a employee paying to live here at the time, and performed on call services if a problem arose. She is no longer employeed or living here.The only time quest are asked to leave the dining area is when quest complain of noise or they have open alcohol containers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Corydon hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2005

I stayed at the Super 8 in July, 2005 while in town for a family wedding. This is a very clean motel at a very reasonable rate. The front desk staff and cleaning staff were top notch and the continental breakfast was above average.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2004

For the price, this is a great hotel right on I-70. Very clean. Newly built. Highly recommended

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corydon
0.4 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Corydon
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn Corydon
Hampton Inn Corydon
#1 of 5 in Corydon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.8 km away
Comfort Inn Corydon
Comfort Inn Corydon
#4 of 5 in Corydon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Corydon
20.5 km away
Horseshoe Southern Indiana
26.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS West I-64
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Corydon IN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Corydon IN

Property: Super 8 Corydon IN
Address: 168 Pacer Dr NW, I 64 Exit 105, Corydon, IN 47112-2144
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Corydon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Corydon
Price range (per night): $95 - $118
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Corydon IN 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Super 8 Corydon IN reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Corydon
Corydon Super Eight
Corydon Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing