We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Meal And Service”
Review of Ocean Prime

Ocean Prime
Reserve with OpenTable
Ocean Prime is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #46 of 2,491 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: River Crossing Blvd., & 86th Street
Description: Ocean Prime is an award winning modern American restaurant and lounge from renowned restaurateur Cameron Mitchell. With stunning settings, a vibrant energy, an impressive menu of seafood and steaks and truly exceptional service, Ocean Prime is an ideal place to socialize, talk business, celebrate and indulge.
Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile

We visited Ocean Prime for dinner. What a positive dining experience! Under the careful guidance of our server Keith, we were consistently pleasantly surprised. Our dinners were excellent (Sea Bass, Blackened Snapper, and Ahi Tuna), and the service was outstanding! We shall return!

Thank Gene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMRinfo, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Prime, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Thank you for the kind words and the 5-star review Gene!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2018

We dined here last night and loved the experience. We were seated in a large booth, which we had requested. The waitress and helpers paid close attention to us and our needs. We were given good beer advice and the bread was warm and tasty. My wife had the scallops and was quite impressed with them. They were creatively served with sliced fennel on top and a rich risotto. I liked my oysters on the half shell and then had the Chilean sea bass. It was very tasty and sauteed nicely. It was served over whipped potatoes. We added sides of asparagus and brussel's sprouts, which were cooked exactly right. The only downside to the experience was having to cross traffic as the area has never bothered to put a crosswalk in from the mall area. This i very dangerous and I realize that we should have driven over.

1  Thank Sliphorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMRinfo, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Prime, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Thank you for your kind words and the 5-star review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

Celebrated our anniversary at Ocean Prime and was highly impressed! The Decor is Sheek, upscale, and modern. Clean restaurant with very friendly staff!! We ordered shrimp cocktail, fillet mignon, New York strip, jalapeño au gratin potatoes, roasted brussels sprouts, sautéed button mushrooms. Every dish and side was amazing!!! Will definitely be coming back!

1  Thank indygirl8451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMRinfo, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Prime, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Thank you for the kind words and the 5-star review! We are so happy that you choose to celebrate your anniversary with us at Ocean Prime and that we could make the evening special!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

We visited Ocean Prime to celebrate my wife’s birthday and arrived with another couple promptly for a Sunday 6pm reservation. We were escorted down a corridor with many empty tables into a dining room containing fewer than a dozen other guests. The dining room was very dark and we followed the hostess (very young and entirely disinterested that we were celebrating a special occasion) to a table in a back corner of the dining room.

Unfortunately, only after our salads were served did we discover that what appeared to be a corner wall simply was a floor to ceiling partition hiding the entrance to the kitchen and a server’s station. Because there were so few patrons in the room that was so dark, we didn’t notice the less than favorable seating in an otherwise mostly empty dining room. With so few other patrons, I would have expected to be shown to a table set to impress a guest on a special night.

I think the darkness of the room may have been utilized to cover the reality that little if any updating of the dining room has been done for quite some time.

We were treated to the clatter of dinnerware as the server’s and bussers handled dinnerware. Along with the clatter of the serving station, we had to compete with loud elevator style Mazak to be heard in conversation. Staff did lower the music volume when asked.

I ordered a Manhattan Cocktail that was served without any garnish – sloppy work or perhaps the bar was out of cherries.

On a positive side, the food, particularly our Surf & Turf Sunday special was excellent and plentiful. Our server was pleasant. And, had she not messed up packing our take home boxes, she might have saved the overall impression of a very sloppy operation. There are several restaurants in Indianapolis that deserve to charge $$$$ for dining. This isn’t one of them.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMRinfo, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Prime, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Thank you for bringing this to our attention Michael. Our number one priority is to make sure our guests have the best experience possible and we are sincerely sorry that this did not happen during your visit. Please contact info@cameronmitchell.com if you have any additional comments. We value you as a guest and look forward to providing you with a 5-star experience in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

Food was excellent. However, the service was a little slower and not as efficient as what we would have expected from a restaurant of this caliber. In addition, our group was seated by the wait station and entrance/exit to the kitchen which was one of the noisiest locations in the restaurant. Had this been a busy evening and our party walked in without reservations and this was the last open table we would understand being seated there. However, it was only about half full with several other tables available throughout the evening. In addition, we did not receive all of the food items we ask to have boxed up in order to take home. Overall our group was rather disappointed in the overall experience.

1  Thank 482ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMRinfo, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Prime, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Thank you for the feedback! We value you as a guest and look forward to providing you with a 5-star experience in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Prime also viewed

 
Indianapolis, IN
 

Been to Ocean Prime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing