We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Alternative to Staying in Downtown Louisville...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Louisville Riverside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Jeffersonville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I stayed in a Club floor room at the Sheraton Louisville Riverside for Thunder over Louisville this past April and had a fantastic stay there.

Check-in was very quick and the woman checking me in was very friendly. Actually, everyone was very friendly throughout the hotel, from the bar tender to the lounge attendant to the cleaners.
The lobby was very nice and roomy and looked like a "private club."

The room was very clean and in very good condition. It had 2 double beds, an oversized desk with a 32" LCD TV, and a single chair with a table by the huge window.
The bathroom was modern and of average size but more importantly very clean.

The Club was also great with enough seats and large screen TV. The breakfast there was more than sufficient and was almost the same as the buffet breakfast they had in the lobby. The hors d'oeuvres in the evening were a nice touch and delicious.

Some (minor) negatives:
- Hotel rates were sky high because of Thunder over Louisville (one of the most expensive in Louisville) and a minimum stay of 2 night was required (most hotels in downtown Louisville actually require this for Thunder over Louisville).
- Did not receive a printout of the schedule for Thunder over Louisville (received one the previous year)
- The toilet seat could not stay open at all (this is actually the only real complaint that bothered me)

I would go as far to say that the Sheraton Louisville Riverside is actually a hidden gem in the Louisville area. After having stayed at the Galt House and the Marriot in downtown Louisville, the Sheraton is definitely the better hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GXS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Thank you for your positive feedback about Thunder Over Louisville. That is a very, very busy time at the hotel. Due to the positioning of the bridges and barges for the fireworks, I think our hotel has the best location of anywhere to watch from. The rates are high over Thunder Weekend and we do require a two night stay, however, I think with the complimentary parking (a huge cost to most people attending the conference) and internet that the hotel has a very good value - even on Thunder.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

326 - 330 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2012

Excellent location for your visit to Louisville and environs on the Ohio River with an abundance of superior restaurants within walking distance. My room had a magnificent view of the Ohio River and downtown Louisville. The Club Level Lounge was very good for breakfast and evening appetizers. Most of all, it is about the friendly staff especially Micah, van driver, bell person extraordinaire. This is an excellent choice for a mid-range hotel.

Room Tip: Suite 900 has an imcomparable view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwwcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Thank you! Sheraton Louisville Riverside is lucky to have so many excellent dining and recreation options within a few steps of the hotel. Micah has been with the property for about a year. He does an outstanding job. The van drivers and bellmen are a very visible group. The Sheraton has some of the best I have ever worked with.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the Sheraton Louisville Riverside hotel in June, right after staying 2 nights at the Marriott Louisville Downtown for business. The first thing we noticed (and loved right away!) is that it was a welcomed break from the super-busy, rush-rush feel of Downtown Louisville. Although it was only a 10 minute drive away from the Marriott, the area was so much more relaxed, quiet, calmer. Some may feel that the area is boring, but believe me, after 3 days/2 nights right smack in the middle of Louville, it was such a breath of fresh air. We had elbow room! It wasn't crawling with business folk! We weren't nickel and dimed for everything!

We booked the hotel using a combination of cash & points from the SPG program. (2,800 points plus $45 per night) Excellent, excellent value.

Free internet, free parking in a well-lit lot, free bottled water in the room. (what a nice change from the Marriott, who not only charged a corporate rate of $225.00 a night, but also $12.95 a day for internet access, $21.00 a day for self-parking. Ouch!)

A couple weeks after booking, I received an email from the hotel stating that I could upgrade to a club floor room for an additional $20 per night. Additionally, the upgrade included free breakfast and evening hors d'oeuvres. I went ahead and submitted my info online for the upgrade. The only bummer about our stay is that the upgrade was not guaranteed, and upon check-in, we found that out. No worries though, we were assigned a beautiful room on the 9th floor that was clean and comfortable, and had a nice partial view of the river if we stood at just the right spot at the huge floor-to-ceiling window in the room.

Let me tell you about the OUSTANDING maintenance staff. During the course of our stay, we experienced two issues that required the assistance of the hotel maintenance folks. #1 - when we got into our room, we found that the toilet handle was broken. We called the front desk and maintenance was at our door within 3 minutes. Problem fixed immediately! #2 - On the second night, we accidentally dropped a glass container in the bathroom and it shattered all over the floor. Placed a call to the front desk asking for a broom and dustpan, and maintenance showed up this time in a minute, I swear! Not only did he bring a broom and dustpan with him, he also offered to clean up the broken glass. Now, we feel like fools for this admission, but we regret that we did not catch this gentleman's name. But we do remember that he was friendly, non-obtrusive, and helpful. (really wish we would have caught his name so we could give him a shout-out to hotel management, but we filled out a comment card and left it at the front desk upon checking out)

If and when we find ourselves in the area again, we are headed straight to the Sheraton Louisville Riverside! Business and pleasure travel combined, we stay 20+ nights a year at hotels and this landed a spot in our top 3.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CaptPeanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick40206, General Manager at Sheraton Louisville Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

The team at the Sheraton is committed to making every person's stay a great one. The maintenance team is the best I have ever worked with. They try to turn any negative around quickly and completely. I will certainly make sure they see your comments about both interactions.

Thank you for sharing your experience! Please come and visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

My family and I spent a weekend in Louisville to go to the Louisville Zoo, Children's / Science Museum, and Louisville Slugger Factory tour. We booked this hotel on priceline and got a great price! The staff here was courteous and professional, and they were very helpful answering our questions. Clean and spacious rooms, comfortable beds, and at a great location to downtown Louisville.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick40206, General Manager at Sheraton Louisville Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Thank you for choosing us while in Louisville. Next time you visit, you should look at our website for special rates. With our complimentary shuttle, parking and WIFI we are the best value in the downtown area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We were here for my husbands Navy Reunion. The staff there was great. Rooms are very comfortable, breakfast was good. We walked to the candy store in town and when we walked back to the hotel we took the river walk along the
Ohio River. It was about a 2-1/2to3 mile walk but it was a nice day and vert enjoyable.

Room Tip: Our room was facing the front of the hotel and was quiet. We also had a view of Louisville and the O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Litequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jeffersonville
Galt House Hotel
#30 of 98 in Louisville
4,098 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#11 of 98 in Louisville
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 98 in Louisville
1,978 reviews
Central Business District
Aloft Louisville Downtown
Aloft Louisville Downtown
#23 of 98 in Louisville
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Louisville Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Louisville Riverside Hotel

Address: 700 W Riverside Dr, Jeffersonville, IN 47130-3151 (Formerly Ramada Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Jeffersonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Jeffersonville
Price Range: $186 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Louisville Riverside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Louisville Riverside Hotel is located on the riverside in Jeffersonville, Indiana. The hotel offers beautiful views of downtown Louisville skyline and the Ohio River. The Sheraton's complimentary shuttle service connects to downtown Louisville museums, restaurants, and 4th Street Live. The hotel is only 10 miles from Louisville International Airport (SDF). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Sheraton Louisville Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing