We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unethical customer service and theft”

Sucrerie du Domaine
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Chertsey
Restaurant details
Reviewed 15 March 2020

The way Sucrerie Du Domaine handled Covid-19 pandemic was absolutely unprofessional and truly unjust. Please read below the lack of respect they have for their clients:

My family and I made a reservation for March 15th at 2pm. Due to Covid-19, on the Thursday night, they announced school closures, and everywhere was beginning to close down. My family and I did not want to chance it as the government suggested to stay out of large crowds.

After writing them an email with my concerns to get a refund or credit, they simply answered that their facility holds 80 people which doesn’t interfere with the government’s 250 person mark and that they can’t refund us. Sucrerie Du Domaine sends the message in simple terms: money matters MORE than their clients’ and staffs’ health.

In the end, Sucrerie Du Domaine cancelled our reservation WITHOUT my group’s consent and WITHOUT a refund. This happened on Saturday March 14th that took us by surprise as no one asked for a cancellation. They did not have any right to cancel without our permission.

On March 15th, the government announced that all public areas including sugar shacks are closed.

I am writing to you to let you know that this sugar shack never once was understanding and had zero ability to accommodate the needs of their clients during a pandemic. Businesses dealing with food and large crowds should be especially sensitive when a highly contagious virus threatens their customers and staff members.

Think twice about supporting a business who does not value customers well being and who is comfortable with stealing money.

Date of visit: March 2020
    • Value
    • Service
Thank RubinaS1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickN2564, Propriétaire at Sucrerie du Domaine, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2020

Hello dear customer, following the new government requirements, here is the procedure in place for reservations for sugar meals.

In the first place, all customers who have booked our will be refund 100%

As you know, it was the government that closed our shacks and therefore set up programs about the loss of income incurred by this taxation on their part.

So we wait for goverment aprobation program to doing anything until further notice from them because right now they are prioritizing crisis management and then they will inform us about the methods to be used for refund .

In summary, you will be reimbursed 100% however we are like you pending government procedures for the execution of these refund

If you dont receive our email explane that not apropriate réaction .


thank you for your understanding

Looking forward

TeamSDD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2019 via mobile

Just because I’m from Ontario doesn’t mean that I don’t know my sugar shacks! I grew up in Montreal and return every Easter for the sugar. This one was one of the best that I’ve been to. It was small and charming in a modern way. Service was very good and the food quality was fantastic- from the ham to the maple bacon to the most outstanding eggs that I’ve ever had (now I need to figure out how to recreate these at home). The side of poutine was a little disappointing but the pudding with foie gras was really tasty. My only complaint is the coffee- really watery and the tire serving was very skimpy- they are not very generous with the serving and I hate having to line up in the cold for it (very small serving area)which are really minor complaints in the whole experience. I went with a couple of adults and four kids that were 11 and 12. The kids are not picky eaters but if yours are, this may not be a great option.

Date of visit: April 2019
2  Thank TorontotravelAndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

This is quite the place , all seasons , fall menue day time creative high end snacks , pm dinners ( with reservations ) meat lovers dream , very high quality , accepts groups ... and BYOB !!

Spring yes it's a great sugar shack offering their own specialties !!

The owner opérateurs are super friendly , open and generous with their time & smiles .... they really make you feel like your part of the family ... i noticed they were the same with all their guests ...

The surroundings and buildings are exquisite , built the rugged style and love by the owners . Very clean and inviting.

Kobe style cuts for meats , large portions , pork , chicken local grown ... they also prepare their own condiments ... this place is a real definition of a hidden gem ...

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank MarPelletier
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 April 2020
Google Translation

Date of visit: April 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickN2564, Propriétaire at Sucrerie du Domaine, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2020
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2020
Google Translation

Date of visit: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Sucrerie du Domaine also viewed

Esterel, Sainte-Marguerite-du-Lac-Masson
Esterel, Sainte-Marguerite-du-Lac-Masson
 
Sainte-Marguerite-du-Lac-Masson, Quebec
Entrelacs, Quebec
 

Been to Sucrerie du Domaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.