We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Van Buren Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Super 8 Shipshewana(Shipshewana)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Farmstead Inn(Shipshewana)
US$101
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Der Ruhe Blatz Motel(Shipshewana)(Great Value!)
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Howe(Howe)(Great Value!)
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
399 results
Traveller rating
261
106
16
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
261
106
16
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflea marketfront deskking whirlpool suitesausage pattiesamish countryfresh fruitnice pool areahot breakfaststayed for two nightsvery nice hotelwould stay here againfront porchspent one nightbreakfast was includedminute drivegreat place to stayoatmeal
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 399 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2017

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. Last year we stayed and enjoyed the clean rooms and convenience to the events we attended in Shipshewana. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast the next morning. This year it was a bit of a disappointment. Our stay in our room was fine. Room was clean and comfortable. When we went to breakfast the next morning it was very disappointing. Most of the food was not available. The area was not serviced very well. Many of the tables were dirty and it just was not very appealing. We decided to leave and go to a restauraunt.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank indyjack57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanBurenHotel, General Manager at Van Buren Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

We appreciate your review of your most recent stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and that it was clean and comfortable. I apologize that you were disappointed in your breakfast experience this year. We prepare the food as quickly as we can as to replenish the food on a continuous basis, and unfortunately we did not exceed your expectations in this area. We do hope to see you again, and your experience during breakfast will be a more pleasant one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

The Van Buren Hotel was a very clean, friendly place to spend the night...or more if we had had the time. Staff was friendly and the room was very nice. We enjoyed the indoor pool. The location is just out of the downtown area, but close enough that it was only a 5 minute drive to be right in the middle of all the activity. We would definitely stay here again the next time we get up that way.

Room Tip: We were at the end of the second floor at the opposite end from the pool. It was very quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanBurenHotel, General Manager at Van Buren Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Thank you for being our guest here at the Van Buren, we appreciate your review of your most recent stay and we happy that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for mentioning our friendly staff, they love what they do and are willing to provide the utmost in customer service. Please come back and see us again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Shipshewana was a bucket list destination. Having visited "Amish" country in other parts of USA, thought it would be a real treat. This hotel looked affordable and well kept. We were very disappointed with the extremely tired, outdated decor, the uncomfortable worn out beds, and less than friendly staff. There are no redeeming features to this hotel.

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank anngK8544WX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanBurenHotel, General Manager at Van Buren Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

We appreciate your review of your most recent stay with us. We continue to upgrade areas of the hotel, and we thank you for letting us know that you did not care for the beds, I will look into this matter to see if there are any mattress that need to be changed out, we check periodically throughout the year to insure that are guest get a good nights rest. We strive for perfection here at the Van Buren and we are sorry that you were not happy with what we offer here. Thank you for being our guest here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

This hotel is beautiful it has some very nice decoration the front lobby is quite elegant. There is porch room outside with chairs where you can sit and just enjoy. The service is amazing you are greeted at the desk by friendly smiling people, who go out of their way to make you feel welcome. I have never before had the front desk call me to ask me how I liked my room. The breakfast is wonderful there is plenty of hot options as well as cold. The pool is absolutely to die for it's heated and indoors and quite large. The rooms are large and comfortable. I will definitely be staying here the next time we come to Shipshewana.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Janika W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanBurenHotel, General Manager at Van Buren Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you for your kind words about our staff and the Van Buren. We appreciate you being our guest and we are glad that you enjoyed everything about what we have to offer here. We hope to see you again the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Have stayed here 4 times.. never disappointed. It just a tad outside of town but that makes for a quiet evening after all the shopping and the flee market. Great breakfast. Clean pool, nice rooms. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MYKEL61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanBurenHotel, General Manager at Van Buren Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you for providing us with your review of your most recent stay. We appreciate you being one of our many returning guest to the Van Buren. We strive everyday to exceed our guest expectations, and to provide our guest with the utmost in customer service and a wonderful stay. Again we thank you for being our guest and for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews