We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Van Buren Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Farmstead Inn(Shipshewana)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (403)
Filter reviews
403 results
Traveller rating
263
108
16
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
263
108
16
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflea marketfront deskking whirlpool suitesausage pattiesamish countryfresh fruitnice pool areahot breakfaststayed for two nightsvery nice hotelwould stay here againfront porchspent one nightgreat place to staybreakfast was includedminute driveoatmeal
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 403 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

This hotel is usually quiet and a nice place to stay for a price better than comparable hotels in town. Unfortunately the pool was closed for repairs during our recent stay and the juice machine didn't work the first morning at breakfast. Staff is friendly and rooms are nice.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Brent F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanBurenHotel, General Manager at Van Buren Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you for providing us with your review of your most recent stay. I want to apologize for the pool being closed, we had an unforeseen repair to the pool area. The juice machine is operational, so I am not sure why it was down when you were here, i will look into it. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2017 via mobile

A non smoking and no pet motel.. I love this place. .. nice pool very clean room and outstanding customer service. What a pleasure to come here.. this is my first time staying here but I will definitely be staying here again. Cozy room wonderful beds.. and the pillows oh boy I want one. The freezer cookies at the counter are amazing soft chewy chocolate chip

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank Amishtaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanBurenHotel, General Manager at Van Buren Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you for being our guest for the first time and we do hope that since you have found us, that we will be your "Home away from Home" the next time you are in the area. We appreciate your review and we hope you enjoyed everything that we have to offer and that we exceeded your expectations. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the Van Buren by default after trying elsewhere. The beds were great! Literally got the best night's sleep in a little no time (better than our Sleep Number at home). We had requested "away from elevators & ice machines", but front desk put us behind the elevator. It was not a problem, but should not have happened following a specific request. Breakfast was included and was excellent! Compared to Blue Gate, Van Buren was actually better, except for the breakfast (exceptional at Blue Gate). We will return.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Wagonmaster62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanBurenHotel, General Manager at Van Buren Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Thank you for being our guest and getting the "Best Sleep Ever" We appreciate your review and your comments about our breakfast. We pride ourselves in providing a quiet, comfortable and clean place for our guest, because they deserve it. We hope to see you the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

Very nice Hotel. Rooms were clean, Breakfast was good. Service was excellent.
Only complaint would be front desk was short staffed. At check in time, on Friday, the weekend of the Christmas parade, there was only one person at the front desk. She was handling phone calls, check-ins, and all other needs. Should have been 2-3 people at this time of day. She was very polite and courteous with everybody, just too much work for one person. Long line formed in lobby, long wait for check in.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jj5821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanBurenHotel, General Manager at Van Buren Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Thank you for staying with us, we do appreciate it very much. I want to apologize for us being short of staff upon your check in. We regret that this happened on such a busy evening. We hope you were able to enjoy your time with us when you did get to your room, and we would love to see you again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Your staff is wonderful. I have stayed at this hotel twice in the last month. My 10 year old niece requested a trip to Shipshewana for her birthday. I chose your Hotel. From the time that we walked in the door Jodi made us feel right at home. She interacted with the kids and was most polite and helpful. She Is the Sole reason I returned for another stay last weekend when I went to see Point of Grace at the Blue Gate theater. When I arrived on 11/4/17 Jodi again was at the desk and again exceptional service. It was pouring down rain and very windy she came out unloaded our car for us and took our luggage down to our room for us. She is a great asset to you r company and should be commended for her exceptional customer service. I would be returning again this weekend but you are sold out for the Lighting of Shipshewana.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krista F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanBurenHotel, General Manager at Van Buren Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

We thank you for being a return guest of ours, we appreciate it very much. Thank you for your kind words, especially about Jodi, we love hearing from our guest and what our guest experience while staying with us. We appreciate the kind review, and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews