We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
2
8
10
16
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
8
10
16
31
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

This is in a good location for the airport and is easy to get too. Plenty of parking.

The staff were excellent and very helpful. The room however was in a sorry state of repair. The door to the room didn't quite fit, I doubt it would sustain any attempt to break in.

The bathroom door had a kicked hole in it, probably someone trying to close it. But it was all in vain as the door is far too warped to fit the frame.

The beds were lumpy but cleanish. The floor was kinda trippy underfoot, slippers advised.

It was cheap, don't expect too much, staff were as I said excellent.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6Team, Brand Experience Team at Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear Stephen, Thank you for posting your review and for recognizing our excellent staff.

We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. Please know the maintenance conditions you experienced are an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize.

We invite you to contact our Guest Relations Department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

The room we first went in you could hardly breath. The manager was helpful, moved us to another room. That room is livable, would not stay here with my children. The first room had mold on the vents. The vents were also in very bad shape.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank DogsandDragons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6Team, Brand Experience Team Member at Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the issues you describe. We invite you to contact our Guest Relations Department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

I was desperate for a room, most places were sold out I really had one last effort, they had a room, but the person behind me wasn't so lucky. With that said I am thankful that it was clean, however, its just not a great place, it almost looks more like an old apartment complex, the carpets had cigarette burns everywhere, the TV was old and there was no clock. The shower had no pressure and the sink drained very slow. So, I have said this before if you are in need of a place to stay on the cheap for a night this is definitely your place. I wouldn't dare stay more than one night, but the price was right, which is why they wouldn't even honor my AAA. One thing was the front desk girl was nice and very patient as folks were looking for rooms.

Room Tip: All outside entries
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 713iker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6Team, Brand Experience Team at Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear Ike, Thank you for sharing your review.

We strive to deliver a great guest experience, but it sounds as though we did not perform to our usual standards in this case. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and are sorry for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. We are sorry to hear about the inconvenience you experienced with the water pressure during your stay. Please know the conditions you describe are atypical to Motel 6 standards for quality and we apologize for the dissatisfaction you experienced.

We encourage you to contact our Guest Relations department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

The Motel 6 near the DesMoines airport is quite adequate for an over-night stay. There are no amenities - not even a radio/clock or paper pad and pen in the room. However, the place is well-maintained and clean and the beds were perfectly sleepable. it's a quiet location and not inconvenient to reach. Staff was friendly. Other accomodations in the immediate area were at least $30.00 more expensive. Locations near I-35 were actually more expensive than that. So - for a reasonable rate, we had a clean and comfortable enough place to sleep even though we had to plan ahead for what we wanted to have for use for the next stay.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lowell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6Team, Brand Experience Team at Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear Lowell, We appreciate you recognizing our excellent team members and our convenient location. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, please come again soon. If you haven't already done so, please call our Guest Relations Department to share your experience: 1-855-787-9864. We hope to see you again soon. Safe Travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017

Despite prominently displayed non-smoking stickers all over the place, our room reeked of stale cigarette smoke. At one point we had the door propped open, the window open, and the bathroom fan on. You could still smell it.
We ended up leaving at 2 AM because sleep was not gonna happen (breathing could barely happen). This was after checking in at midnight.
And the kicker? When I turned in my key card & explained the situation, the night clerk simply said "OK." No, "I'm sorry," no, "Here let me give you your money back as you only stayed a couple of hours." Nothing.
In retrospect a refund was probably waaaayyyy to much to ask, but an apology would have been nice. Please do not stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews