We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$187
US$166
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$195
US$178
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Book now, pay at stay
US$206
US$199
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$120
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$216
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Des Lux Hotel(Des Moines)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$199
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$250
US$184
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveller rating
59
81
79
51
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
81
79
51
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmercy hospitalstay at holiday innsconvention centerwedding receptionwells fargo arenapleasant stayonsite restaurantbed and pillowsfree shuttlean older propertylobby arearoom was largedowntownexpresswayihgconcertballroom
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 296 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

The smell, that is. From the lobby to the elevators to the hallways - each has its unique stench. Room thankfully is ok unless my sense of smell was numbed by then. The bats flying around the garage was a nice added touch.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank GDFreethinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

The wife and I were in town to attend the Impractical Jokers event at the Wells Fargo Center. Nice that this was walking distance to the event.

Due to my status with IHG we were able to get a very nice upgraded room. The service at check-in was excellent, the restaurant and server were very good as well.

The hotel is a bit dated although with everything else being so good it was easy to overlook that issue.

Very good stay. Would not think twice about staying here again.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

The food in the restaurant was great!!
The room was what I thought.
No complaints. I may try some other holiday inns but this maybe the one I make home in Des Moines.

I was on the second floor, the lighting was a bit low but still not bad. Brighter light is the only day from me

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Went to the Eagles concert....The hotel may need some updating in the rooms but overall the rooms were very clean. But the price was right for a concert being held in town. Free parking, and a short walk to Wells Fargo. The shuttle service is great the gentleman we had for a driver was A++++. He gave a ride to the Brewery downtown for supper and then a phone call to the hotel and he was there in 5 minutes to give a ride to the concert. So friendly and the shuttle service was SO great. The shuttle service give free rides within a 2 mile radius besides the airport. The hotel staff was very kind, would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MIDWESTJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed at this Holiday Inn in March. They have a policy where the air conditioning only can be ran in the summer (there's a sign in the rooms above the thermostat, thought it was to get people to not overuse the air conditioning). Our room was 77 degrees when we got in for the night. Tried to turn on the air conditioning, regardless of what the sign said, considering it is March and 50 degrees outside...Would not turn on. Called the front desk and all they could offer is a fan. Woke up to a very warm 80 degrees room. NOT a pleasant stay. Do not stay here unless you prefer to sleep in a very warm, stuffy room!!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank hatetopackme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Hello hatetopackme,

Thank you for taking time to leave us a candid review about Holiday Inn Des Moines DTWN - Mercy Area, IA. I recognize your stay was not 100% satisfactory. IHG values your experience with our hotels. I have sent you a private message so we can gather some additional information regarding your experience. Please allow us another chance to make things right.

Thank you,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews