We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
FindHotel
ZenHotels.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
50
18
8
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
50
18
8
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2019

Cozy historic hotel in the downtown. Stayed there based upon reviews from this site and were not disappointed. Had a great experience and will definitely stay here again while in town. Enjoyed everything about this place.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 161gregp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 August 2019

Very nicely furnished and well run establishment. It is said to have ghosts but we didn't experience any. The rooms were all different and beautiful. The owners were lovely and treated us like family.

Date of stay: September 2018
2  Thank Marsha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 June 2019

My husband and I stayed 3 nights for our 30th wedding anniversary. The room was nicely decorated to the period and was comfortable. The lobby was awesome. The restaurant was quite romantic. The food and service was great. I had a steak and my husband pork chops. Then on Sunday morning we tried their buffet brunch. Yummy and a large selection. Say, "Hi" to Loreen, the owner, for us. Lots to do in the area. Maquoketa area. Wineries, all-you-can-eat catfish, caves, museums.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ListenToSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 February 2019

Pros:
Beautiful old hotel that is in very good condition
Extremely clean
Very nice elderly lady who unlocked main door and checked us in
Nice jacuzzi but ran out of hot water fast
Quiet room...but we were about only ones there
Got 2 keys...one to our room and one to the main entrance
Cons:
Door was locked when we arrived at 3:00
Had to call a number and froze outside waiting for someone to let us in
Checked in and she said we had whole hotel to ourselves...and the ghosts!
We picked that hotel because it had a bar and we didn’t want to drink and drive. Upon checkin we were told the bar was closed because no bartender but we could go to restraunt...but that didn’t open till 4:30! No refrigerators in the rooms either.
We put our refreshments in the sink and went to get some ice. Could not find a sole to help us! Found ice machine in kitchen and we helped ourselves to ice and told lady later we did that so she knew.
No hair dryer in room (I brought my own)
No coffee makers in the room or in the lobby!!
When checking out, absolutely nobody at desk again.
A very unique hotel for anyone into history and “spooky” places.

Room tip: We had Room #329. King bed and jacuzzi.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gagawester
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

This B&B hotel is very nicely renovated inside and the owner was so friendly and helpful. We had a very comfortable king bed in a suite with a whirlpool tub for 2 plus a separate shower. Dinner in the hotel restaurant was delicious, with homemade dinner rolls and desserts. An unexpected highlight was another guest playing the grand piano in the lobby - we enjoyed singing along and visiting. It made the evening extra special! Don’t let the outside of this gem fool you - I think there are plans to spruce it up in the near future. If you’re looking for something fun and different try Maquoketa and the Decker Hotel!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CindiK336
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews