We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
43
28
2
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
28
2
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiethe ownerotago central rail trailpizzapacked lunchlong timeon tapvenisonsaladseafoodfew drinksdeck enjoyinggreat coffeelovely foodgreat lunchblue cheesehearty meal
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

This great little country hotel was lovely and clean and our super king bed was amazingly comfy! We booked the room with an ensuite which was great. The restaurant was great and we really enjoyed trying the world famous Waipiata pies - so delicious! The meal was huge so you probably don't need a starter. The breakfast in the morning was just yum - good selection of local jams as well as the usual spread you would expect.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NicoleP2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

This place was a hoot. We stopped off from the Rail Trail to have a pie (of course) for lunch. It was very pleasant sitting in the sun having a meal and drink. We then rode to Hyde where Mark picked us up and chauffeured our group of seven, plus four others, back to Waipiata. Our group had the good luck to be staying in the hotel, where Mark proved to be a great host, the food and drinks were very enjoyable, and it was just a quick stagger back to our rooms. The next morning Mark drove us back to Hyde to continue our ride. Mark's commentaries in both directions were very interesting, the staff at the hotel were good fun and friendly, making the whole experience well worthwhile. On returning to Hyde, Mark made sure that we had all our gear and that we we were able to continue the ride, which we thought was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobk924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

I'm not sure if the Motel complex is the same as the Hotel, but they seem to work in together. Anyway, was a great place to stay, nice new accommodation and the food and beers down at the Hotel were great. Most had the pies and they were pretty good and very filling. Quite a unique fare for this part of the country and well worth having.The host was good, but I thought his cheap shot on demeaning Aucklanders was a bit stupid when you are in the hospitality industry. We expect this when travelling around NZ, but not from a host where you have spent the best part of $750.00 from our group of six. Perhaps I'm being a bit sensitive and I should expect hosts to slag of Aucklanders as well.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brendon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tussock Lodge W, Owner at Waipiata Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Hi Brendon, Thank you for your time in writing a review and also for choosing to stay with us in Waipiata, its greatly appreciated. Were glad that you enjoyed your time with us and our House made "Waipiata Pie Company" Pies, I'm slightly confused about your comment "slagging" of Aucklanders? the only comment made was a tongue and cheek comment comment made on your shuttle ride back from Hyde were I suggested that this was were the Aucklanders get out, not as your comments suggest that this happened all night, and it wasn't at any point demeaning, my apologies if this comment was upsetting to you, it wasn't mean't to be, and maybe you could have mentioned it to me when we got out of the van at the Motels and I could have apologised at that point rather than in this forum.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to our part of the world.

Regards Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

We called in here on the Otago Rail Trail having been told about their pies. We expected something pretty special but we were surprised at how delicious their pies are. The seafood, pumpkin and beef and blue cheese pies were just amazing. The hotel is very interesting and the staff amazing. Don’t go past this place without calling in.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank kiwigav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tussock Lodge W, Owner at Waipiata Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Hi , Thankkiwigav you for your time in writing a review and also for choosing to stay with us in Waipiata, its greatly appreciated. Were glad that you enjoyed your time with us and our House made "Waipiata Pie Company" Pies, The Beef and Creamy Danish Blue Cheese is my personal favourite. We are very lucky to have great staff,

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to our part of the world.

Regards Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

Favorite Saturday lunch spot after work. This week I didn’t have a pie. (They’re made onsite and fabulous variety) The Smoked Salmon Salad is great. Service is unobtrusive, friendly and prompt. Host knowledgeable about the area.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
Thank KelRob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tussock Lodge W, Owner at Waipiata Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Hi KelRob1, Thank you for your time in writing a review and also for choosing to stay with us in Waipiata, its greatly appreciated. Were glad that you enjoyed your time with us and our House made "Waipiata Pie Company" Pies, the Smoked Salmon Salad is very nice

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to our part of the world.

Regards Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews