We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveller rating
69
61
28
14
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
61
28
14
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstaff workingcinnamon rollsroom was cleanmemorial day weekendup to datepool and hot tubwould stay here againlong drivesausagevery nice hotelthe breakfast areafridge and microwavehiewalmartinterstateroadcountry
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 184 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2016

The breakfast was huge and very good. The staff was wonderful. The price we had for all of the amenities was incredible. Would definitely stay here again! It had a nice pool and hot tub that was open all night instead of closing 9 or 10 pm like most.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colby, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2016

Dear Rhonda B-
It's great to hear that you loved the Holiday Inn Express, Colby, KS! Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We know our guests have many choices, and we appreciate you choosing to stay with us and are happy to hear that you will stay again! Thank you!

Penny, GM
Holiday Inn Express
Colby, KS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016

There really is not much to choose from in Colby. This hotel is just off the highway and is dog friendly. I was driving cross country with my dogs, and that does limit you stay.

We received a friendly greeting upon our arrival. The lobby was clean but nothing special, even by HIExpress standards. Some of the newer hotels have some nice, modern lines and this building feels more like a renovated HIExpress.

The room was fine as well. It was clean. Again, this feels renovated and when you look deeper, you can easily see areas that need attention--grout in bathroom, curtain linters, etc.

Nearby, there is some fast food and a couple of restaurants. We ordered to go from QDoba, which is on the other side of the highway, always a nice, healthy option. We ate in our room while watching TV.

For us, this hotel suits a purpose. It was located well for our drive, located close to the highway, and takes dogs. For those reasons, I would stay again. This place is not memorable good and not memorable bad.

Just a note to all do friendly hotels, don't charge for the pets unless they do damage. Either take the animals or do not. This hotel had a dog fee; the hotel was also a bit pricey for what it is. And you need to call to get a dog friendly room.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colby, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

Dear Russ H-
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are glad that you found our hotel convenient, that you received a friendly greeting upon arrival, and that the lobby, as well as your room was clean! Of course, friendliness and cleanliness are of the utmost importance to us as we strive to provide a great stay for all of our guests. We are happy to hear that you and your pets will stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed on a couples vacation. Nice, clean room. A little slow on the warm water for shower and K machine in room was fussy. Good free hot breakfast. Cinnamon rolls are the very best part!!! Close to highway, gasoline, and restaurants. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank gsmama2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colby, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2016

Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express, Colby, KS! We are glad that you have a great stay. I agree with you.....the cinnamon rolls are the best! Please come back and stay with us again when traveling in the Colby, KS area. We appreciate you taking the time to post an online review regarding your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed here on our way home from Colorado. We paid MORE for this room than we paid for a condo in the mountains in Colorado. $200/night room with a $15 bed. We woke up with aching backs. We found dirty clothing in our room. The bathroom is poorly designed - you can hardly get around the door to sit on the toilet. Would not go back unless there are new beds. We have stayed at many Holiday Inn Express hotels and are usually pleased. Not this time.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank dory_fish77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colby, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2016

I would like to apologize that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. We normally receive very high marks from our guests and I am disappointed to hear that you were not pleased with your stay. We do take our guests comments very seriously and will take yours and look for ways to improve our guests' stays in the future. Our rates do change on a daily basis, and also depending on the time of year, so we invite you to check back with us next time you are in the area and let us prove to you that we can provide you with a great stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016

This is where we chose to stay to break our driving trip up from Kansas City to Vail Valley, Colorado. We were all very impressed by how clean the place was. The rooms were very modern and comfortable. The front desk staff was gracious with their restaurant suggestions. We were very happy. The continental breakfast was fresh and provided a lot of choices. This will be on our list to stay again when we head back to Colorado.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Colby, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2016

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express, Colby, KS! We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay and are so happy to hear that you will be a return guest of ours on your return trip back home! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us as well as other travelers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews