We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Barns at Timber Creek
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Winfield
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Liberty Inn(Winfield)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Econo Lodge(Winfield)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Town House Motel(Arkansas City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
8
3
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
3
1
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2017

Perhaps the filthiest place I had ever been in. It took me 3 solid days just to get it livable. I should have stayed at the Best Western , but the Barns @ Timber Creek looked so inviting. Wrong! No picture's of the guest house were given out on line. I left that place looking like a GUEST HOUSE!!!!!!! Even spent over $100.00 to make it clean and presentable. And I liked Martin Rude good guy, Methodist Minister. Even baked his Sunday School students brownies for goodness sake. And they had the audacity to charge me $300. pet fee. The place wasn't clean enough for pigs!!!

Room Tip: stay at the Best Western
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cynthia l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

Rustic barn b&b about 5 miles from Winfield. Easy to find. Stayed two nights in the Southwest College room on main floor. Authentic squeaky wooden floors, although maybe doors could have been oiled. Nice group lodge room w breakfast dining area as well as a tv room on floor 2. Delicious breakfasts! Once checked in, didn't see host, just breakfast servers. Another family was staying in the treehouse unit which sounded really fun. Also another barn on property for receptions. Winfield/Crowley County area has a lot of barn quilts to see!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank IWannaGetAway4Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017

There is so much character in this location. The historic stone building, the re-purposed wooden barn, the old quarry that is now a wedding chapel, the antiques and unique items as decor... We need to return to take it all in. The structures are very solidly built. Lots of space in the rooms. Great lofts if you have a family staying. Breakfast was delicious and the room comfy and clean. Thanks for sharing this space.

Room Tip: Ask for the lower level if stairs are an issue.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haystrapps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

We took a one night family escape to Winfield, and decided to have an adventure and stay in the treehouse. At first glance, the property is quite well-maintained, very attractive, and certainly a novelty amongst places to stay in Kansas. In that sense, this place is great.

What is more, the treehouse is indeed unique. It is set up in the trunks of an Osage Orange tree, and it has a common area and a small sleeping loft. Additional people can sleep in the common area on blowup mattresses. Again, so far so good.

Once you look at the details, however things begin to fall apart. For such an amazing treehouse, it was disappointed that the small porch could not have been swept, and instead was covered with leaves and dirt. The flower pot at the base of the stairs had filled with water during the rains, And already had mosquito larvae growing in it, so the water had been there for sometime, which very simply leads to lots of biting mosquitoes a few days later. As a consequence, no one was particularly comfortable sitting outside.

Inside the treehouse, we quickly noted that the space had not been tidied up or dusted recently. Yes, I know it is a rustic setting, but there really is no reason for a room that one rents for $150 a night cannot be fixed up spic and span and comfortable in preparation for receiving guests.

Where things fell apart completely was at breakfast. The breakfast consisted of two different kinds of pastries and bacon. Yes, coffee and tea, and juice that was not particularly high quality, but no eggs no toes, Nothing that one might expect in a simple farm breakfast. Again, not expecting anything fancy, but we all went to a restaurant in downtown Winfield and had a more serious breakfast after the breakfast that we had paid for. Extra persons are $15 a night, apparently reflecting the cost of the breakfast. Quite simply this is ridiculous, as the breakfast was spartan, and quite incomplete.

Finally, the blowup mattress that was supplied to us for the extra person deflated during the course of the night, and our third person spent a fairly miserable night on the floor. When we mentioned this to the management, there was no apology, Simply the statement that they had checked it two weeks before.

There were other details. The pillows are quite uncomfortable, although we knew to bring our own. The management was quite impolite about demanding payment at nine in the morning, even though checkout time is noon.

Overall, then, this place is beautiful and could be great. It is clear that the management has no experience, and perhaps no talent for this business. It is a pity, because the place is quite nice.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Town P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2016

Our church leaders' group spent Friday evening and all day Saturday at The Barns at Timber Creek for a leaders' retreat and planning time and had a great experience. The downstairs common area worked well for our group discussions and each room was very nice. We had Biederman's Bistro and Catering bring food out for our evening meal and our lunch Saturday and that worked very well for us. (We highly recommend them also but that's a separate review!). The owners were very accommodating and helped us know what to bring and what they provided. One tip to remember: bring your own shampoo. Soap is provided but not shampoo.

Room Tip: Each are unique and decorated with a theme. Pick what you like.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews