We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good experience at the Riverview Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cumberland Falls State Resort - Dupont Lodge
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Corbin
Reviewed 28 September 2010

I had a group of 42 at the Riverview Restaurant on 26 Sep 2010 for a buffet lunch. Unlike some of the previous reviewers all of our guys thought the food to be well prepared and appetizing and the service to be exceptional. Wait staff were very pleasant and affable with us. Not always an easy task when dealing with a herd of hungry seniors (I'm one myself). Overlook of the river makes for a great setting. Given our experience I wouldn't hesitate to bring another group here.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
1  Thank BAP65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

343 - 347 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2010

Spent Labor Day weekend 2010 at Cumberland Falls. We stayed in the lodge. The lodge looked exactly like we hoped it would. A big stone and cedar building with lots of gables in a beautiful forest setting. It has a huge fireplace, and a patio with a magnificent view overlooking the river and surrounding hills. A great place for a wine and cheese party at sunset. The staff at the desk was very friendly and helpful during our check-in and throughout our stay. The halls and stairways are somewhat narrow as noted in other reviews, but so what ? The rooms were comfortable and clean. We were on the top floor and not bothered by any hallway noise. We ate dinner one night in the dining room and again ,contrary to some other reviews, we found the staff in the dining room friendly, courteous, and attentive. The food was good. Especially the catfish(it really was !!!) , and the Kentucky Hot Plate. The falls themselves are awesome. We spent 1 day whitewater rafting in the park and being able to paddle right up to the base of the falls is not to be missed. The river had several class III rapids. I would have liked a little bigger water but my 83 year old mother was with us and found this to be thrilling enough. My 20 something kids also found the rafting experience to be a lot of fun...a great day. Near by in Parker's Lake is Natural Arch with a great overlook and a 1 mile loop trail to the base of the arch, and also the very first original Col Sanders KFC cafe in Corbin. (How can you not visit such a piece of Americana ???) Looking for a great place to spend a long weekend in the out of doors in a magnificent setting ? This is it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reeset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

The Dupont Lodge was very nice. It is also very old. The only downside to it was the narrow halls and a musty smell; I guess the smell came from the age of the place. The room was very clean though. I got used to the smell once I was in the room for awhile.
The restaurant had decent food and was reasonably priced; a lot of resorts take advantage but the restaurant in this lodge didn't.
The falls are beautiful and there are plenty of hiking trails. Bring a flashlight if you want to see the moonbow because it is dark and there is poor lighting if you want to do much walking around while you're waiting to see the moonbow. We were fortunate enough to see it. The trail (#9) to the Eagle Falls was very strenuous but very pretty scenery and we liked that you could actually go right up to those falls and get in the water if you wanted. There is also a nice pool at the lodge if you want to swim. Unless you like to hike for miles and do a lot of pool swimming or go canoeing you can pretty much do everything in one day if you start early (hike the shorter hikes and see the falls). We stayed one night, hiked the day we got there and the day we left and saw everything we wanted to see. Nice place.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shezgotleggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

On a whim we stopped here while travelling through KY. What a great place! Looks like a lodge hidden away in the Catskill Mountains, but in beautiful Cumberland Falls, KY! Our room was a 'small' one but did the job. Check out the Sunday special they offer that includes free breakfast. They had everything we needed and more (rcrib, big bathroom, two big beds, cold air :) The resort has tons of things to do and even a little weekly 'to-do" calendar that tells of all the neat family activities they offer. Super fun, super clean, super place! Great road trip! Kids did a little craft activity on the property, plus the restaurant was great and had great prices! Wish we were there longer!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Campbellsoupkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We originally had booked one of the standard hotel rooms in the lodge. They were just a little smaller than a standard hotel room. After we viewed the room, we decided to forego the expense and stay in one of the cottages and I am so glad we did. We stayed in one of the larger cottages. It had 4 private balconies. Two on the 1st level and two on the lower level. We are just a family of three, but we loved the space and personal privacy. Because the hotel rooms are small, the cottages would be the best choice for any family. We did a rafting trip and went horsebacking riding. The pool is across the street, but it's not free. The restuarant was not as bad as the reviews I have read. If you don't like the buffet you can order from the menu which is cheaper anyway. We enjoyed our short stay at this lodge.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosebud075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corbin
25.5 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Corbin
25.4 km away
Hampton Inn Corbin
Hampton Inn Corbin
#2 of 12 in Corbin
526 reviews
20.9 km away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Corbin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 km away
Hampton Inn Williamsburg
Hampton Inn Williamsburg
#1 of 4 in Williamsburg
459 reviews
20.3 km away
Best Western Corbin Inn
20.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Corbin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberland Falls State Resort - Dupont Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland Falls State Resort - Dupont Lodge

Address: 7351 Hwy. 90, Corbin, KY 40701-8814
Region: United States > Kentucky > Corbin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Corbin
Price Range: $86 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cumberland Falls State Resort - Dupont Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Also Known As:
Cumberland Falls State Resort - Dupont Hotel Corbin
Dupont Lodge Cumberland Falls
Cumberland Falls State Hotel Dupont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing