We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!”
Review of Wildwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wildwood Inn
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 30 March 2017

Old theme hotel that has definitely seen its better days. Room was dirty, half the lights did not work and we had to get someone to replace light bulbs. The breakfast was marginal at best, the breakfast room was small and very crowded.

Room Tip: I am not sure there are any good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank bobjames12897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildwood I, Manager at Wildwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Thank you for your review of the Wildwood Inn. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and will work hard to address the issues that you encountered. We are aware that we have an older property and have began renovations at this time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed in one of the poolside rooms and it was a joke. The walls were even dirty and dingy. The beds are lumpy and uncomfortable . The waterfall they mention is a simulated flower pot hanging over the pool with water coming out like a shower head. I tried to shoot a game of pool with my daughter and the maintenance man had to keep working on the pool table because it kept malfunctioning . The best thing about the place was the maintenance man, he was super nice! They charged us $100 and the room wasn't worth more than $45. The only reason we didn't go to another hotel is because my mother had reserved the room for the family and we did not want to hurt her feelings. We won't stay there again.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildwood I, Manager at Wildwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and will look to address the issues that you encountered. I do believe however there has been a misunderstanding regarding the waterfall. The simulated flower pot as you stated is a rain basket that falls into the indoor pool. There is an actual waterfall that falls into our hot tub. Also, the pool tables and games are leased from a company and they have been informed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

My husband and I went here this past weekend and it was so run down and dirty that we left 45 minutes later!! The hallways had stains everywhere, the carpet in our room was disgusting, the walls were stained, the bathroom was dirty and the door didn't even have a door knob! Our bed was stained and parts of the wood was broke, the lampshades were gross and tore up. The hot tub was also dirty. Tho place uses to be nice, years ago. Kind of sad really. But I will say the staff was very friendly and had no problem returning our money so that was nice of them to do. Thank you for that. Sorry to leave such a bad review but I hope it will help this place to make some changes. To the company I would say, it's worth it to upgrade your hotel. Your pool area and themed rooms are something nobody has around here, But you are losing A WHOLE LOT of business by not doing simple updates!

Stayed: March 2017
6  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildwood I, Manager at Wildwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017

Thank you for taking time to review the Wildwood Inn. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We are currently remodeling the hotel and while it will take some time, we feel it will be worth it. We hope after the renovations, maybe you can give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Accustomed to staying in hotels such as the hamptons or the Hilton, we decided to give Wildwood Inn a try. We used to go there a lot YEARS ago. Upon entry, everything looked like it had maybe been renovated (lobby and pool area look AMAZING). All of that comes to an end as soon as you enter the hallways and the separate buildings for the hotel rooms. They are dark and dank and it looks like something out of a horror movie. I paid $100 for a room on a Saturday night versus the $129 I would have paid at the Hilton or at the Hampton's. I wish I had paid the extra 20 or 30 bucks for one of the other hotel chains. This place is ABSOLUTELY filthy. Our air conditioning did not work in the first room and when we called down to see if something could be done we were told that there were no more rooms available, got her deepest apologies and was told that the maintenance crew was no longer on site but could take a look at it first thing in the morning. Needless to say, at check out time there was no maintenance man. The room was stuffy and dirty. It had huge stains in the floor, even with socks on you could feel the YEARS or dirt grime and filth on the floor. Given it was late when we got there, there was no way we could have requested a refund and try elsewhere. We just had to stick it out. If you are going to pay 90 or 100 bucks for a room it may as well be the Hilton or something.. its clean there and they DO have an indoor pool as well. DO NOT STAY AT WILDWOOD, its made for trash!!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Marisha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildwood I, Manager at Wildwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Thank you for taking time to review the Wildwood Inn. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay however this review is way over dramatic and yes, you are correct, we are not a Hilton or Hampton Inn. While we are an older property, the things you have said are highly exaggerated. We have just recently had the Health Department come and inspect the entire property and we passed with a score of 88 out of 100. And that report is available for the public to see.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Do not trust the pictures that you see.... We stayed here with our 4 year old and 2 month old. It was so nasty. When we first pulled up, the front office looked clean and the staff was very friendly. As soon as we walked in, things changed. We stayed poolside so my little boy could be close to the pool. The door you come through to get inside had water standing right inside of it, so while you are trying to carry everything in, your shoes are getting soaked (really soaked, not just a little wet)....we walked into the room and there was this huge sticky stain on the floor. It wad probably 3 feet long and was super sticky. The walls were dirty, the floors were dirty (had chocolate or something in them), and the baseboards were nasty. We went into the bathroom and there was long black hairs and pubic hairs in the tub!!!! The toilet looked clean, but as soon as you flushed it, up came the water to the brim. We brushed everything off because it was my little boys birthday, so we wanted him to have fun in the pool. We go to the pool and its like the same size as a regular hotels pool. The main attraction (the pool) could fit like 20 people in it. The pool is made for teenagers. Only a small space that is 3 ft and then it quickly goes to 7 feet. This means that ALL the kids are piled together on one side of the pool.... We went back to the room to change my little girl, when I pulled back the covers, more long black hairs. We went out and bought sheets and pillow cases and wouldnt let our oldest get in the floor at all.... I was scared for my kids to touch anything because the place was so nasty. My husband went in to take a shower, the tub was full of water and sud. The drain was backed up or something and all the stuff from the drain was now coming back into the tub!!!! Lights out time is a 11. I knew that coming in, but when I asked how loud the poolside rooms were, they said "you cant hear much in them" WRONG! They were great at getting the pool closed at 11 so at least the constant sounds of the air hockey table and screaming calmed down at 11 BUT THEN the hotel decides to make their house keppers clean up at like 12! So as your trying to sleep, trash bags are being popped, trash cans are falling on the ground, and kids are still screaming in the dome and trust me you can hear EVERYTHING! Then around 2 o'clock we get prank callers! They called five times in a row (not good when you have a toddler and a baby) This is not the hotels fault, but it just added to the horrible experience. When we woke up we were so ready to leave that we didnt try their breakfast so I cant say if it was good or not. I told the lady at the front desk about not being able to take showers because of the drain and she did give us a 10% discount, however, we will not be back to this nasty place.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
9  Thank rowetravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildwoodinn-KY, Manager at Wildwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Thank you for taking time to review the Wildwood Inn. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We would like to address your issues however. Honestly the first question and most curious, if things were this bad, why in the world would you stay or at the very least let the front desk staff know and see if maybe they could move you to another room or maybe an upgrade. We were almost sold out and had no complaints from anyone. Our pool is almost 30,000 gallons and goes from 3 feet to 5 feet to 7 feet on the deep end. As for the late clean up and the noise, one phone call to the desk could have stopped that if it was an issue. Very sorry you had a bad stay, but a little communication might have resolved your issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
2.4 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#18 of 28 in Florence
546 reviews
1.5 km away
Best Western Inn Florence
Best Western Inn Florence
#3 of 28 in Florence
709 reviews
2.2 km away
Days Inn Florence
Days Inn Florence
#12 of 28 in Florence
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Hilton Cincinnati Airport
Hilton Cincinnati Airport
#8 of 28 in Florence
670 reviews
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Florence
Holiday Inn Florence
#17 of 28 in Florence
133 reviews
2.5 km away
Hyatt Place Cincinnati Airport/Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildwood Inn

Address: 7809 US Highway 42, Florence, KY 41042-1803 (Formerly Howard Johnson Florence/Cincinnati Area)
Region: United States > Kentucky > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: S$92 - S$171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wildwood Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of a kind hotel with unique Theme Suite. Stay in the Tree house, Ice Cave, or even a Pirate ship. The only limitation is your imagination. From mild to wild we have something for everyone. Romantic getaway or a family adventure you will love Wildwood Inn. We guarantee it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wildwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildwood Inn Tropical Dome Hotel Florence
Wildwood Hotel Tropical Dome
Florence Inn Ky Wildwood
Wildwood Inn Florence Kentucky
Inn Ky Wildwood
Inn Kentucky Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing