We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant friendly pub”

The Riverside Pub & Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Farndon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$25
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Our philosophy is fresh, simple food, made with seasonal ingredients, served in an informal, friendly way in a warm, welcoming and relaxed atmosphere.
Reviewed 30 July 2017

Whilst staying in a b&b nearby we visited this pub for an evening meal.
They were quite busy but still made the effort to squeeze us in and find us a table.
The staff there are very polite and friendly and went out of there way to make sure everything was ok for us.
Also the food was very good, tasty and reasonably priced.
The only regret was the weather, as it was raining quite heavy and as the name gives away it is situated near a lovely river which would have been nice to have walked along.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank arkwrightNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctiveInns, Owner at The Riverside Pub & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Really pleased you enjoyed yourself!
Many thanks,
James Bull, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2017

Took family visiting from Essex for Sunday lunch and we all enjoyed our food. 2 of us had the roast beef and 2 of us the roast pork. Both meats were tender. The crackling was lovely. The roast potatoes were proper roasties and there was a nice selection of veg. We had desserts and again enjoyed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jacqui T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctiveInns, Owner at The Riverside Pub & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Thank you for your kind comments! You can be sure we will keep up our efforts and hope to welcome you back again in the very near future.
Kind regards,
James Bull, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

We went here today for Sunday lunch etc and it was lovely. Really lovely food (I had the roast beef), a soda and table water for £20.00. The service was a little slow (but it was quite busy) but well worth the wait!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Evie D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctiveInns, Owner at The Riverside Pub & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Thank you for your kind comments, much appreciated. I am pleased you enjoyed our food and we hope to see you again soon!
Kind regards,
James Bull, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

Nice restaurant, but the actual meals are now much smaller portions, with much higher prices | What a shame..

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TBPickering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctiveInns, Owner at The Riverside Pub & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback.

Whilst it is always pleasant to hear positive comments it is equally important to hear about areas of our service or amenities that need to be improved. Constructive criticism is of huge value and allows us to review our operations and further excel in our provision of service.

The points you have raised have been duly noted as we look to improve and develop Distinctive Inns moving forward.

Yours truly,



James Bull
Director
admin@distinctiveinns.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

We visited for the first time last night, I had found them on Twitter and we are always keen to try somewhere new. It was busier than we thought, however we found out that the annual garden party was going on next door and they were unusually busy.
We were lucky to get a table as we had not booked and we were lead to our table by their very friendly staff. Drinks came quickly, we both had a glass of wine and found there was plenty of choice. We both went for the Beef Borgnine for main course which was superbly cooked and presented and of course was very tasty. Banoffee pie was to follow which again was very tasty. We finished of with a cup of coffee.
A very enjoyable night and certainly somewhere where we will be returning.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctiveInns, Owner at The Riverside Pub & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, I am very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your visit. I will pass on your comments to the team who will be extremely happy to receive your review.
Many thanks,
James Bull, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Riverside Pub & Kitchen also viewed

Farndon, Newark-on-Trent
Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
 
Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire
Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
 

Been to The Riverside Pub & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing