We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Loved this tour

We learned so much about lexington and Henry Clay.. Don't miss this one. The tour guides are very... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Arkuss
,
Chicago, Illinois
Great tour, wonderful (and important) historical context, one minor complaint

We did the "Traces: Slavery at Ashland" tour, and it was excellent. I think this is very important... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
sbarber
,
Grand Rapids, MI
Read all 489 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Lexington
from US$39.00
More Info
from US$41.03
More Info
from US$101.54
More Info
Reviews (489)
Filter reviews
489 results
Traveller rating
304
141
30
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
304
141
30
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews his son house tour walled garden grounds are beautiful history buff great history couple of hours rebuilt docent senator politics artifacts importance library
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 489 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2021

We actually just drove by this one and there was a lot of activity so we passed it by - but the grounds were very pretty and many people were enjoying them. Nice neighborhood.

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2021

Tour was average. Learned a lot but a lot was left to be learned as well. The tour guide was very informal but it was too much at times. Wish we were able to explore the grounds more but the rain left that impossible. Wish we were also able to explore the house more as well. Would like to return for the other signature tour when it is available again.

Date of experience: February 2021
1  Thank samanthao520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2020 via mobile

Hanging out in Lexington during Covid doesn't leave too many cultural options. The Keeneland race track was closed.
Huge hangover from bourbon tasting the day before.
Need a morning activity to while time away before the lunch bars open?
....try Ashland.....home of Henry Clay.
...America political heavyweight from the early 1800's.
....akin to Hermitage in Nashville
The tour is cozy and enlightening.
The home is well maintained with original period furnishings.
....a true American historical gem
Definitely worth a visit.
Enjoy

Date of experience: November 2020
4  Thank sneezenwheez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2020

The tour was fantastic. The docent was excellent and really made the tour interesting. The rooms in the house were fascinating. Even though we visited in the Fall the grounds were lovely. We were so glad we took the tour. The estate is a true treasure for the city of Lexington.

Date of experience: October 2020
1  Thank pac2020man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2020

I have lived in Lexington for many years and was not really interested in touring this home. However, when I learned about the Traces of Slavery tour, I definitely wanted to pay homage to the enslaved people who helped make the Clay family wealthy. I took a group of college students on the tour. We were all enthralled by the history and the stories of enslaved people, as well as deeply saddened. Thank you to the folks at Ashland for giving voice to the enslaved.

Date of experience: October 2020
1  Thank Teacherkim84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews