We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop By For A Visit!”
Review of Churchill Downs

Churchill Downs
Ranked #15 of 161 things to do in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beautiful racetrack has been the home of the Kentucky Derby since 1875.
Reviewed 7 August 2018

The Derby Museum, on the grounds, will take you on an amazing tour (several are available), and you will learn all sorts of history. We are very glad we made time for this visit!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Charlene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"kentucky derby"
in 485 reviews
"box seats"
in 65 reviews
"millionaires row"
in 125 reviews
"finish line"
in 117 reviews
"night racing"
in 40 reviews
"betting windows"
in 64 reviews
"after dark"
in 69 reviews
"bucket list"
in 153 reviews
"paddock area"
in 66 reviews
"twin spires"
in 56 reviews
"mint juleps"
in 75 reviews
"beautiful horses"
in 32 reviews
"general admission"
in 76 reviews
"horse races"
in 54 reviews
"behind the scenes"
in 127 reviews
"walking tour"
in 139 reviews
"the barn"
in 55 reviews
Filter

205 - 209 of 3,215 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2018

We visited Churchill Downs and took a morning tour. We got to see the common areas of the track and the outside of Millionaires row. If you are lucky as we were, you will get to see some horses doing their morning workouts on the track. A beautiful sight for anyone who has an interest in racing, the peacefulness of the empty stands and the thunder of the hooves coming around the track is quite lovely. We also enjoyed seeing the history and pageantry of the historic Kentucky Derby on display in the museum. The movie offered in the museum was very nice as well.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank luv2playa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Great atmosphere, live seasonal horse racing, very clean, Ky Derby Musuem inside, lots of tv"s to watch races, mutual clerks are nice and knowledgeable.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Wow! Beautiful horses, visiting the grounds, gift shop in complete awe! I spent more time enthralled in the magnificence of the place that pics couldn't do it justice. Our guide was brilliant, well informed, enthusiastic Derby fan! What a history! A must do!

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank 224Ginny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2018

The Kentucky Derby is Kentucky's "Superbowl". Interesting to see it in person. We did a van tour of the barn and training area. Watched thoroughbreds up close, along with the "calming ponies". The Derby Museum had a lot of information on past winners, how betting is done, etc. Though I think they downplayed what happens to the horses when they can't race anymore and/or aren't valuable enough for breeding....

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Churchill Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing