We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Making memories”
Review of Churchill Downs

Churchill Downs
Ranked #15 of 160 things to do in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beautiful racetrack has been the home of the Kentucky Derby since 1875.
Reviewed 8 August 2018

Returned for a visit to Louisville, having lived there in the late 80s and early 90s. Was excited to take my 22 year old son to Churchill Downs for Friday races. His father (RIP) and I went to the Ky Derby and to the Downs many times and it was very special to take our son. It was all I hoped for and he loved it as much as his dad did. Great afternoon of racing!

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Freda0616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"kentucky derby"
in 480 reviews
"box seats"
in 64 reviews
"millionaires row"
in 123 reviews
"finish line"
in 115 reviews
"night racing"
in 40 reviews
"twin spires"
in 56 reviews
"betting windows"
in 64 reviews
"after dark"
in 69 reviews
"bucket list"
in 151 reviews
"paddock area"
in 65 reviews
"mint juleps"
in 74 reviews
"beautiful horses"
in 32 reviews
"general admission"
in 75 reviews
"horse races"
in 53 reviews
"behind the scenes"
in 124 reviews
"walking tour"
in 138 reviews
"the barn"
in 55 reviews
Filter

183 - 187 of 3,197 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

A must see if you’ve never been. So much history and what a beautiful place, we were impressed! Great friendly tour guides!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Carlislechief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

I would highly suggest taking the tour behind the scene. Very knowledgeable tour guide! The grounds are beautiful and very well kept up. Don’t forget to give yourself time to check out our be gift shop.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Albina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

The Derby Museum, on the grounds, will take you on an amazing tour (several are available), and you will learn all sorts of history. We are very glad we made time for this visit!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Charlene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2018

We visited Churchill Downs and took a morning tour. We got to see the common areas of the track and the outside of Millionaires row. If you are lucky as we were, you will get to see some horses doing their morning workouts on the track. A beautiful sight for anyone who has an interest in racing, the peacefulness of the empty stands and the thunder of the hooves coming around the track is quite lovely. We also enjoyed seeing the history and pageantry of the historic Kentucky Derby on display in the museum. The movie offered in the museum was very nice as well.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank luv2playa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Churchill Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing