We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hampton Inn & Suites Murray(Murray)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$119
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western University Inn(Murray)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Murray)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$79
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SpringHill Suites Murray(Murray)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Murray Plaza Lodge(Murray)(Great Value!)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$115
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Early American Motel(Aurora)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
61
40
18
6
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
40
18
6
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsin towncinnamon rollsroom was cleansausageyogurtflat screen tvrestaurants and shopsstaff was friendly helpfulhotel experiencenice hotelindoor poolthe breakfast areafriendliest hotelsofa sleeperhot chocolatemurray stateomelet
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 137 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

The Holiday Inn Express in Murray is currently under renovations. Aside from the glimpse of tools, buckets, and other debris this does not seem to create any issues. The room layout for the King Suite is spacious and open.

The hotel is near several restaurants and shops that allow for walking to nearby establishments.

What appears to be an increasingly common issue with this brand, the sheets and pillows had hair in a variety of lengths. Although I was able to obtain clean bedding from the front desk to remake my bed, I would prefer to not spend time with this chore when traveling.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

stayed there for MSU orientation close to campus very friendly staff and nice rooms a little renovation dust to deal with right now but not a big deal ------ breakfast is modest but very nice and a lovely lady cooks the omelets fresh! also have fresh pancake dispenser Would recommend without hesitation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

First off we were told that check-in was at 3 p.m. We arrived about 10 till 3 and finally around 3:20 we were assigned a room on the 2nd floor and allowed to go up. We got on the elevator with construction workers and upon seeing that we pressed 2nd floor they immediately began apologizing and said that they can't believe that the hotel would rent the rooms on the 2nd floor and we would see why. When the elevator doors opened I couldn't believe my eyes. There were construction workers up and down the hall and carts and construction items all around. There was no carpet on the floor, the walls were primed and not painted and construction dust was EVERYWHERE. We could not locate our room so a maintenance/construction worker assisted us and re-attached the number sign outside our door. The carts and the majority of the construction equipment was removed for the weekend, but we were left in the mess. At the stairs there was a lit up EXIT sign at one end of the hall, but the tile and the sign was not in place at the other end of the hall. The signs that said "exit Stairs" was NOT positioned next to the exit doors, but were lying in dust and dirt, along with dirty cups and partially drank water bottles on the radiators at the ends of the halls. There were boxes, a chair and other debris left in front of the actual door. One of the doors to the stairs had a sign posted that said Emergency Exit, but another sign stating DANGER Construction Zone was posted underneath of it. At one end of the hall the window was actually boarded up. Most of the room numbers were written in masking tape on the door (I have pictures and would be happy to send them to you if you provide an e-mail address). Additionally the smoke detectors in the middle of the hall was COVERED with plastic. Inside of the room the beds were made and appeared to be clean. However, they had hung curtains that were tattered and torn, with holes all in them and they had dirt and foot prints all over them where they had been picked up off the floor rehung. There were holes in the headboards, with wires hanging, were lamps were obviously supposed to be hung. In the bathroom there was construction dust all over the floor and in the corners of the room. The door had been partially wiped off and they had obviously hurriedly re-attached the toilet paper holder in that the dust was still on the floor and the top of the tile work. The holder was not attached properly so the toilet paper kept falling in the floor (to add insult to injury the 2nd night we were there they failed to provide more toilet paper and I had to send my husband down to get some more. We wore flip flops into the bathroom because of the dust after seeing when you walked in there it left dust footprints on the carpet. It's pretty sad that housekeeping and maintenance staff felt the need to repeatedly apologized during our stay because the conditions were so bad. After seeing our room we returned to front desk and talked to a young lady named Elissa and told her that we were extremely disappointed with our accommodations and asked to be moved to another floor. She responded by saying that they are in a state of renovation and all of the rooms were rented out and we could not be moved. I told her we were extremely unsatisfied and she stated that since we had booked through a third party (Expedia) she could not refund our money or reduce the price of the room. She stated that the only thing she could do was offer us a free upgrade on our next visit(assuming after the terrible experience we had that we would ever be willing to stay there again). I was not satisfied with her response and asked to speak to a manager to which she replied that she was the manager. Seeing that we were not going to get any satisfaction from the staff we returned to our room and stayed in it as briefly as possible. I also took a photo of the sign that was entitled Hospitality Promise that was posted in our bathroom. The sign stated Making your stay a complete success is our goal. Just let a manager on Duty or front desk staff know if any part of your stay isn't satisfactory. We promise to make it right or you won't pay for that part of your stay. Please note that your hotel FAILED MISSERABLY with their mission statement. Our daughter is looking to attend Murray and we were looking for a nice hotel to stay in while visiting her. We have stayed at Holiday Inn facilities in numerous locations and thought that we couldn't go wrong. I understand wanting to renovate and progress, but I feel that I as a paying guest was made to sacrifice my comfort and had no notice of the mess that was there. Additionally, because of the lack of marking on the fire stairs and the fact that the actual smoke detectors were covered with plastic, your facility also sacrificed the safety of my family and those of the other quests.

Room Tip: Do Not book while under construction
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

Only stayed one night, but would gladly gone back for the breakfast. Standard HI fare, *BUT* all of the options were available - sausage, bacon, scrambeled eggs, omlets, PLUS everything else! Most HI locations only put out a few options every AM, but it was great to be able to sample them all.

The room was clean and new, but the side chair was totally uncomfortable (small thing to pick about, but sitting in it for a few hours just killed my back).

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Murray, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

We are glad you had the opportunity to have breakfast. We certainly would like your day to start off with a large variety of breakfast choices. Thank you for sharing your stay with us. Be sure to come back very soon.

Sincerely,
T.G.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites for 2 nights while gathering with family to watch college baseball. Elissa greeted us upon arrival and was absolutely de-lightful! So friendly, welcoming, attentive...she seemed really glad & wanting to help in any way. Always smiling and looking you in the eyes, not distracted by a ringing phone or the many other tasks I'm sure she needed/wanted to be doing. She recommended some excellent dining options while we were in Murray and personally took care of a housekeeping need we had late on our second evening. And another employee who made a huge impact on us was Wanda, who prepared & oversaw the breakfast each morning...what a SWEET woman who loves hostessing! She was not just "putting in hours" at a job; she has a humble and sincere passion for serving others well. You could tell it brought her JOY to take care of everyone in the dining room and to make sure they had plenty to eat. To ask her a question was not an imposition; she welcomed it and went above and beyond to see that every guest had a pleasant and fulfilling dining experience. Every hotel needs a Wanda and an Elissa!

OK, the rooms. While the bathrooms & mini kitchen area were a bit outdated, the whole suite in general was very clean and well-kept. I typically do my own room inspection before the family settles their belongings into the room, and Murray HIE passed all tests! The beds and bedding were comfortable...the PILLOWS were amazingly soft & plush! The deluxe double queen suite was perfect for our family of 5. The "suite" end with the sofa sleeper (by the door to room) seemed to be hard to cool down compared to the end where the beds were, but not sure if that was something fixable as we didn't mention it to anyone during our stay to see if it could be adjusted. The 4th floor was under construction while we were there, but it didn't seem to impact or bother us, as we were on the 2nd floor...but we are curious now to stay on & see the new 4th floor on our next visit!
Some of our family stayed at the Hampton Inn while in Murray, and it seemed very nice, too; a little more updated, chic/sleek upon entry compared to HIE...but apparently the "upgraded" environment comes with a significant price increase. For the value, HIE was perfect! We would definitely stay there again!!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank TravelSavvy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Murray, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share with everyone your valued experience. Wanda and Elissa are certainly a couple of our shining stars here at the Holiday Inn Express in Murray. We always want everyone who chose to stay with us knowing we care and enjoy having their company. Hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
T.G.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews