We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Destrehan Plantation
from US$125.00
More Info
from US$102.00
More Info
from US$145.00
More Info
from US$155.00
More Info
Reviews (512)
Filter reviews
512 results
Traveller rating
307
145
45
13
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
307
145
45
13
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thomas jefferson our tour guide gift shop historical society jefferson room the main house period costume new orleans river road explore the grounds slave quarters great tour louisiana purchase spanish moss live oak trees louisiana history oak alley
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 512 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

Visited Dec 28. Great tour given by Jane. Lots of good information and history. Enjoyed it very much. Best gift shop of all the Plantations visited, ten in total!

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank 75NorthernGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

Interesting tour of an old southern slave plantation. they did a nice job restoring the plantation, which had been left in disarray for years, apparently. very sobering to tour the old slave quarters. my only complaint was that the tour guide was a little odd and snooty, but it didn't take away from the experience.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Yankeebaseball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

This plantation is about a half-hour drive from New Orleans. Our tour guide, James, was very good. His voice was clear and the information he conveyed was detailed without being overwhelming. He was open to questions and explained rules (no photography of the delicate Jefferson documents) firmly yet with humor. The house itself and the grounds are beautiful, and after the tour visitors are free to explore and enter some of the outbuildings.The educational center holds a strong exhibit on the 1811 revolt, an important piece of history; one of the tribunals was held on the Destrehan Plantation gallery. The plantation was also used as a Freeman’s Bureau whose purpose was to teach newly freed people trades to help them live independently, a fact emphasized by the many craft demonstrations: indigo dyeing,herbal remedies, carpentry, the history of the tignon, and more. I rarely comment on gift shops, but this one was worth going to, with well-made and attractive gifts for children through history buffs. The negative reviews seem to focus on one poor tour guide. People who show up late for tours have their reasons, but in a popular place (tourists, field trips) schedules have to be kept to.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank RachelRaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

My wife and completed this tour. It was awesome as the tour guides were very knowledgeable about the plantation. They went over the treaty of Louisiana was purchased and how the plantation change from manufacturing indigo dye to becoming a sugar manufacture.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank jeffwU2958ED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

Destrehan was one of the multiple plantations that we've visited in my time being in Louisiana. We went to Destrehan Plantation on December 29, 2017, and it was perfect. We enjoyed this plantation house very much.
-
For the people with a baby stroller. This plantation house can accommodate all people with baby strollers. There is an elevator located on the plantation and can be easily accessed. Tour guides will wait for you.
-
For the kids: This plantation house also includes a little scavenger hunt. When you go to purchase your tickets, the cashier will ask (if you have a child) if your child would like to participate in the scavenger hunt.
-
A little bit about the plantation: This is the largest plantation in the Mississippi river valley. The plantation had many owners as wells as slaves. The plantations went from producing then selling indigo to a sugar cane plantation. You will hear the rest in the tour.
-
Included with your tour is a little ten minute video. You can view this either before or after your tour. I would recommend doing it before so you can learn just a little bit about the plantation.
-
Thanks for reading.

Date of experience: December 2017
3  Thank Kadin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews