We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
25
11
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
25
11
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews slept like babies master suite mississippi river next morning new orleans levee wedding guests luxury
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2021 via mobile

Unique opportunity to stay and dine in a home built in 1790 during the Spanish colonial period. Due to the home's 230 years old age, and the preservation of its unique materials and layout, those expecting 5-star luxury may be disappointed. History and architectural buffs, along with those who enjoy good food and good times, will be absolutely thrilled with Ormond. The location is excellent, with Ormond being in a central location as a base for visiting the area's attractions. We went with a group of friends to Ormond, booked several rooms, and had a private room at the restaurant for dinner. The food was wonderful, and the super-friendly staff made us feel like family. We had a great time enjoying ourselves in the home after dinner. One of the rooms we booked, the Ormond Room, has a large long table that is perfect for a bar, and the room opens out onto the home's second floor veranda. The staff was quick to supply ice and a wine key. My husband and I stayed in the Green Room and slept like babies. We knew we would probably want to sleep in, so we did not get the breakfast package and rather picked up breakfast to-go from a nearby cafe and brought it back to Ormond for our group to enjoy (Ormond is within a mile of a supermarket and dining options). The grounds are beautiful; don't miss the opportunity to walk up the Mississippi River levee for a stroll along the paved exercise path atop the levee for sweeping views of the home as well as of the river and boat traffic. Thank you to the staff at Ormond who made our stay so enjoyable and fun. We will definitely be back!

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank S6198NFbrianw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2019

Ormond Plantation House is not as spectacular as Oak Alley or Houmas House but what it lacks in charm is more than made up for in the friendliness of its staff. Rooms in the house are very large with ensuite baths, etc. A long second floor balcony runs along the front of the house and is accessible from all rooms. The property is known for it's wedding resources and judging by the photos in the reception area they are spectacular. Best fall is their restaurant which attracts locals for it's mighty fine meals. The chef, wait staff and all were very accommodating including sharing his recipe for a meaty double size pork chop which won the prize for the evening's meal. The chef was also there the next morning for breakfast which he actually served! Don't hesitate to book an evening here if you venture from New Orleans.

Room tip: Make sure to eat in the restaurant.
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bbshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2019

If you watched the epic 1939 movie Gone With The Wind--and who hasn't?--you might have gotten the idea that all plantation houses in the Old South resembled Tara and Twelve Oaks. Not so. Welcome to Ormond. Located at 13786 River Road in Destrehan in St. Charles Parish, Louisiana, near the more celebrated plantation houses of Destrehan and San Francisco, Ormond is a French Colonial-style, Creole-inspired plantation house that was built in the late 18th century using bricks between cypress studs. This type of construction, called briquettes entre poteaux or brick between posts, was used on the front and rear walls with a type of adobe filling on the side walls. Rounded cement and brick columns supported the front veranda or gallery with wood columns on the second floor supporting the roof. Ormond was built in 1789 by sugar baron Pierre Trepagnier, who disappeared under mysterious circumstances in 1798. That is only one of several interesting stories and legends attributed to the plantation that are graphically explained during a guided tour of the property. Today, Ormond is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and is operated as a bed-and-breakfast, open for public tours and hosts weddings, luncheons and other private events.

Date of stay: February 2019
Thank Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormondplantation, Guest Relations Manager at Ormond Plantation Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2019

Merci Beaucoup! WOW! Thank you for this excellent review and extremely kind words.
Ormond Plantation is a family owned and operated business and it is our intent to celebrate our ownership with the world. Through our Restaurant, Bed and Breakfast, Weddings and Special Occasions, and by offering Tours, we are able to host a variety of events inviting the public to our historic grounds. Being listed on the National Register of Historic Places broadens our reach and opens our doors to additional visitors. Thank you again for this wonderful review and we hope you choose to visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

Excellent service in a lovely plantation setting. Waitress was more than accommodating. Food was quite good (crawfish etoufee, crabcakes) Just a short drive from NOLA. You should go.
They have a Sunday brunch as well.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 156cherylb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormondplantation, Guest Relations Manager at Ormond Plantation Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2019

Thank you for your kind words. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your meal and dining experience at Ormond Plantation. We hope you will return for dinner or an enjoyable Sunday Brunch. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

If you are reading this review the best advice we can give is BOOK THIS Plantation ASAP! We have stayed here 5 years in a row while visiting New Orleans Jazz Fest and Amazing is the best description. History and FANTASTIC staff make this a memorable stay. The rooms are historic to the time period, spacious and clean. Food (Breakfast included) is beyond expectations (don't miss the Friday evening dinner with Chef Richard!). BTW-the Ormond is an Accessible site (way to go Ormond). Thank you all at the Ormond Plantation for your professionalism and welcoming atmosphere! WE LOOK FORWARD TO OUR ANNUAL VISIT!!!

Room tip: All rooms are wonderful and all have private baths.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBtravel36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormondplantation, Guest Relations Manager at Ormond Plantation Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Words can't express how happy we are to receive this review! We look forward to your stay with us yearly and can't wait for y'all to grace us with your presence again next April/May. You have become a part of the Ormond family! As with all of our wonderful guests, we truly hope everyone's stay is an enjoyable and memorable one. Being one of the only registered historic landmarks where you can actually visit, tour, dine in and spend the night in, we welcome all visitors to our lovely, oak lawned property. And being so near to New Orleans, we hope you all spend time relaxing and taking in all our Southern Hospitality has to offer. Looking forward to the 2019 stay and musical sharings of the world at Jazz Fest, we remain your place away from home! Thank you for your kind words and our best regards to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews