We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$1,446
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/12/21
Hotels.com
US$1,446
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/12/21
Trip.com
US$744
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/12/21
eDreams
Anantara.comUS$1,243
Destinia.comUS$1,554
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,011)
Filter reviews
3,011 results
Traveller rating
2,442
396
97
44
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,442
396
97
44
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thai restaurant aqua bar kids club water villa overwater suite sunset beach villa fish beach guru our honeymoon sea fire salt special thanks room boy picnic island half board maldives resort water activities sister island
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 3,011 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2021

We had one of our best holidays as a family at Anantara last week. Everything was top-notch - we have only minor gripes (e.g. some basic toiletries could have been provided in the room). We would be happy to go back again!

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank NikhilBala
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Supratik Guha, Guest Services / Front Office at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2021

Dear NikhilBala,

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Giles Selves
Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2021

This was our second time visiting. The first time we were at Veli and this time around we were at Dhigu. Amazing resort, food was amazing. Not too many people so it wasn't over crowded. We went with out 19 month old and it was an amazing experience for all of us. Best staff experience.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank Akbar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Supratik Guha, Guest Services / Front Office at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2021

Dear Akbar K,

Thank you very much for you wonderful feedback and for choosing to return to us.
We are so pleased that we were able to provide a memorable stay for you and your family.

Warm regards,

Giles Selves
Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2021

The island itself is beautiful to explore, you could take a bicycle provided with each room to travel back and forth the island and never be bored.
The bars and restaurants are located near, so getting from one to the other is no hassle
The excursion activities will provide you an amzing experience

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank faizanq13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Supratik Guha, Guest Services / Front Office at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2021

Dear faizanq13,

Thank you very much for your great feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our little paradise in the near future.

Warm regards,

Giles Selves
Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2021

We were super excited. Despite our agent’s suggestion to go to a more luxurious place, I had our heart set on Anantara Dhigu. I was told by many that it’s very children friendly.
Arrival was amazing. We were greeted warmly by the team and was driven around to get ourselves acquainted to the island, which incidentally is not too big. Perfect for walking and biking around.
However, it was quite a disappointing trip. Our very first Anantara stay and we suspect the reason our experience was negative compared to the other amazing reviews is because we stayed for a long time.

1. The Room
We stayed at the water bungalows and wasn’t able to secure one with a pool as it was sold out. We were grateful for that as it was very windy. We were there in August. The weather was unpredictable with little rain but lots of wind.
It’s clear there is a need for renovation. The deck needs a repaint. The toilet seat was not aligned and wobbly. The shower drain wasn’t working well and was flooding. The wardrobe door was always jammed and almost came off the rail. And the door to the bathroom kept opening up, bringing in light in the morning. The worse was the AC. It was super loud and for the first 2 nights, wasn’t working well. We kept wondering whether we were given a “broken” room.

2. The Food
We stayed a long time. I think 12 days in total. The Steak and Seafood place was amazing especially because it’s on the deck. The Thai place was great. The Italian, well, how can any hotel go wrong with Italian food right? Unfortunately, this was the worse Italian food I have ever tasted. It’s because the pasta are made on the island. We were relieved to hear that they have plans to change their dining concept, and will scrap the Italian restaurant, which is a good choice. Maybe because we stayed so long, that it was getting so repetitive. Towards the end of the stay, we ate merely because we had to. One thing I should say is that the food choices for kids was exceptional. The swimming pool café was also good and the servers made us feel welcome all the time. The Asian food there was not very authentic, surprising when there is a Thai restaurant on the next island.
Breakfast was exceptional. Don’t forget to try the local cuisine – the spicy fish and rice was amazing. One of the Sri Lankan server got the chef to make me some Sri Lankan dishes when he found out I love hoppers!
The servers were possibly the best part of the stay. They were super friendly. A special mention to Hatim who was the nicest person we met on the island, and his colleagues Preshan, Dora, Saikal, Wee, Azbek, Raj and Siraj. One point to note, the F&B Manager was the only person “present” and ensuring we all had a good time. He was very active and was popping up in the different restaurants and even made a nice pasta for us when we sent our dishes back.
The Thai and Italian restaurants are located at the next island, Anantara Veli accessible by boat. Children only permitted for dinners, after 6.30pm until 10.30pm.
Note: The App sometimes don’t allow bookings. We couldn’t get into the Steak and Seafood Place for 4 to 5 days. Call the reception instead.

3. The Activities
Lots to do: Biking, free activities (such as salsa, volleyball, badminton), kid’s club (be careful of the mosquitos!!!). The small island next to it is accessible by foot during the low tide. If you are a strong swimmer, you can make it there anytime of the day, but not with kids. Free boats are available. Nothing much to do there, snorkeling isn’t that great mainly due to the wind. Horrible toilets and well, it was shabby and not in a good way.
There aren’t very good reefs around, and snorkeling isn’t that great unless you take a boat out.
The activity centre team are truly amazing. Very helpful. The trips are very expensive but they do try to take good care of you. The level of service may not extend to the actual boat drivers and staff as a couple of them weren’t very nice but generally, they are very helpful. Special thank you to Antoine and Til for making our trip very special.
Joker is truly amazing – so full of positivity.

4. The Service
This is possibly the funniest part of the stay. After 2 days, we finally complained about the room, and they came over to fix it. We weren’t very comfortable given the Pandemic and we imagined a lot of people coming to fix the AC, toilet, shower etc, but we had to deal with it. They fixed it without any inconvenience, but we felt we wasted 2 days and extended out stay for another 2 days.
The Housekeeping was quite strange and unpredictable, especially for a 5 star hotel. The first 2 or 3 days, we didn’t have turn down service. One day we walked in and was surprised to see slippers, mats, the room and bathroom being clean etc. The next day, the guy must have been tired as the floor mats were placed on the bathroom table and left there! Then suddenly, there were floating fishes made of leaves with a bath ready for my little one the following day. We never knew whether to laugh or cry.
Forget about the App. Just call. We used the app and if we asked for a buggy at 7.30, they may come at 7.15 and you feel like you had to rush. The Housekeeping guy was coming to our villa exactly at 9.30am every morning! And we slept late everyday as we were on a holiday. Each time we felt like we had to rush, and because we already complained about the room, we just didn’t want to complaint anymore and just suffered in silence.
Do not extend, even if you want to. Just find another hotel elsewhere, do a PCR and go! They made extension so difficult, trying to charge much more than your initial booking. It wasn’t very nice being treated that way. A couple of us faced this situation.
After all of our struggles, we were surprised to hear they waived our F&B which wasn’t much to be honest as we were on half board. As much as we appreciated the gesture, it would have been nice for someone to come and check on us. We did complaint and spoke to the Manager but no one checked whether all of our issues were resolved. It seems many others faced what we faced. I would have gladly paid, just to know someone cared that we had all of these issues. What broke the camel’s back is that at the last day, we decided to grab a small snack. It must have been usd 16 for a couple of small spring rolls. We almost missed the boat ride to the airport because there was no communication between the restaurant and the reception. The uneaten springs rolls were ironically abandoned at the airport, which makes me laugh until today.

5. Safety
Lifeguard were scarce and well, hardly seen. I believe there was only 1 for the beach. None for the pool. There was a near drowning incident of a couple who hopefully were rescued. Thankfully the servers in the restaurant saw and dived in to save them. Didn’t see any security, which concerned us and other women travellers. I am sure the island was safe but, in the evenings, it did concern us.

General points to note:
1. Definitely not a 5 star. Not from the service nor from the standards of accommodation etc.
2. Overpriced for what you get. There are many other options. For the price, if you are expecting luxury, this is not the place.
3. An urgent need to renovate. The common toilets around the restaurants are quite disgusting and not the usual 5 star standards. There were used diapers uncollected.
4. Very child friendly, from activities to food. Lots of open spaces and relatively safe.
5. Half Board doesn’t cover even soft drinks. Lots of guests seemed disappointed about this but it didn’t bother us.
6. Check your bill. We identified 2 wrong charges. Others did as well.
7. Reservation was possibly the worse ever experienced. Shockingly bad.
8. The reception was friendly but oftentimes unable to confirm anything, and wasn’t empowered to make decisions perhaps.
9. PCR testing badly managed. The lady was late for our appointment and results didn’t come until just before we left. Was up all night checking and rechecking as concerned about false positives. Suggest taking this 2 days before.
10. Manage your departure well. They don’t really help much, and in my case, no one reminded me to print out my pcr test results. They should have just done it for us and send it to our room, to be honest. Instead, the airport guide had to run to get this sorted.

It was a memorable holiday as it was our very first since the Pandemic, but we wish the hotel would have cared more about its guests.

Room tip: Sunset Rooms much better.
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susy_Talia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Supratik Guha, Guest Services / Front Office at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2021

Dear Susy_Talia,

Thank you for your time in providing us your personal feedback.

Please accept our sincere apologies for not being able to meet our usual standards during your recent stay with us. We are sorry to learn that the quality of service provided did not meet your expectations and you left us feeling disappointed.

We had met a number of times during your stay to discuss the issues that were brought up and I am disappointed to learn that your felt that we did not address them befittingly during your time us. We were under the impression that our responsiveness to addressing your issues and service provided by the team lead to you extending your stay with us.

Our Guest and Travel Agent Partners are important to us hence as you had made the booking via a travel agent we had requested that your contact them for any extension and that the resort is there to assist in anyway as required. It was certainly not our intention to make the booking process complicated, for this our sincere apologies.

We were thankful to you for highlighting our areas for improvement and thus as a gesture of goodwill we offered the resort credit.

The swimming difficulty faced by the Guest was a very unfortunate and an isolated event; our lifeguard coverage complies with the Maldivian law but as our lagoon is vast ,swimming is at your own risk, as you know we provide lifejacket for both adults and kids in the Villa for use. Thanks to our well trained team we were in control of the situation, and the Guests were very appreciative of the assistance rendered to them during the unfortunate incident.

Please be assured that all other constructive feedback provided has been shared with the team and action will be taken to ensure that all issues you had mentioned are addressed appropriately.

We are committed to providing memorable experiences and therefore we sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort in the near future and restore confidence in our service.

Best regards,

Supratik Guha
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2021 via mobile

It was a great experience. We stayed during october which had a very pleasant weather.. All the staff were so kind and made my stay even better! I surely recommend you to visit there☺️ We had lived in the over water bills and it was great !

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank AnvitaMunsh_1236
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Supratik Guha, Guest Services / Front Office at Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2021

Dear AnvitaMunsh_1236,

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Giles Selves
Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews