We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Adventure”
Review of Oxalis Adventures

Oxalis Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Oxalis Adventure Tours is organizing trekking tours below:- Trekking to Hang En (Swalow cave) the same system with Hang Son Doong (Son Doong cave) the world's biggest cave.- Phong Nha-Ke Bang National Park Tour- Trekking to Tu Lan cave system, Hang Ken cave, Hung Ton cave system- Kayaking tour to 1500m inside Phong Nha Cave- And other special adventure tours. Oxalis is socialized in caving adventure, trekking, and jungle camping, Oxalis is working with Howard Limbert - the BCRA expedition team leader who found Son Doong cave to do caving education, training and cave exploration. Quang Binh is the best place for caving in Vietnam and in the region, best Vietnam Caves, and World largest cave Hang Son Doong
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Tu Lan Cave Explorer 3 day/2 night tour was definitely the highlight of our Vietnam vacation! The tour was well organized with some challenging trekking and swimming mixed with leisurely exploration and lounging around 2 beautiful campsites. Our tour guide Canh was awesome! He expertly guided us around poison ivy and low branches while keeping morale high with jokes and lots of local knowledge. The porters, safety assistants and cook took great care of us as well, and the food on the trip was amazing! Even though we were in the thick of the jungle we were definitely “glamping”.
The landscape was pristine. Since this park has been open to tourists only on guided tours and just for a few years, it is still very rugged. We used local foot trails to hike through the jungle and walked, crawled, squeezed and swam through the caves. No signs, lights or wide paths anywhere!
We also really appreciated learning more from our guide about Oxalis as a company and the community investment they are making. A portion of all tour fees goes to investments back into the local villages and communities where the trek starts (for example building floating houses that can withstand the yearly floods in the area) and a majority of the staff on tour are from local minority groups.
If you’re thinking about joining this tour – do it! Just be sure to bring lightweight quick-drying cloths and performance wood wicking socks because you will get wet :)

1  Thank osawillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OxalisAdvTours, Manager at Oxalis Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Osawillis,

A big congratulation from Oxalis Team to you in your recent exploration - Wild Tu Lan Cave Explorer 3D2N with us.

You have just accomplished truly strenuous days of jungle trekking, caving, camping at the most stunning campsites of this World Cave Kingdom.
We’d like to express our sincere thanks to you for complimenting our service, staffs, meals, campsites & everything in the tour. Canh and the chef & porter team are so delighted getting news from us that you have praised their good works in serving you all the way of the journey. Your enjoyment of the tour at its best is truly a big motivation for all members of Oxalis team here in Phong Nha to continue bringing more of best & safest adventures to wander enthusiastic all over the world.

May we meet again in another thrilling journey to explore more of this marvelous world of jungles & caves in Phong Nha. Thank you once again for lovely comments and useful tips for our future customers. We truly expect to see you gain soon.

All the best,
Oxalis Adventure Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,031)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tu lan cave"
in 136 reviews
"hang en cave"
in 112 reviews
"son doong"
in 87 reviews
"bao"
in 26 reviews
"porter team"
in 21 reviews
"phong nha"
in 97 reviews
"packing list"
in 10 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 41 reviews
"local community"
in 13 reviews
"food was amazing"
in 16 reviews
"base camp"
in 15 reviews
"professional company"
in 12 reviews
"day tour"
in 56 reviews
"one night"
in 26 reviews
"dry bags"
in 9 reviews
"every meal"
in 14 reviews
"river crossing"
in 11 reviews
Filter

35 - 39 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just do it! You will nor have any complains. Thuis company is top professional. Best trip in Vietnam. Thank you!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank iefh2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OxalisAdvTours, Manager at Oxalis Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Iefh2016,

Oxalis Team is honored to know that you have just join us on our adventure tour. We’d like to thank you for your kind evaluation of our service on TripAdvisor.
Hopefully, you will come back to make it again another incredible adventure with us in very near future. There are still more of hidden charms here waiting for you to discover. Oxalis team will be here providing you with the best service and safest adventures.

Best wishes,
Oxalis Adventure Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We took part in the 2 day 1 night Hang En adventure trek and it was worth every penny. From the initial booking to the trek itself everything was very professional and well organised. We had not planned on doing this tour but am very glad we did. The experience of trekking through the jungle with spectacular views throughout and camping and caving in what is probably the third largest cave in the world was like nothing we have ever experienced. The camp was incredible with very comfortable clean tents and exceptional food! We expected very basic food during the trek but what we got for every meal was a feast and some of the best food we had eaten during our time in Vietnam. I still don't know how they managed to cook such delicious food inside a cave deep in the jungle! The tour leaders Ken and Hung and all other porters, chefs and safety team members were amazing and could not do enough for you and gave lots of information as we trekked. The company employs people from the jungle villages to help on the trek and gives a part of the fee to their charity that supports these minority villages like the one you eat lunch at on the first day.
The first day of the trek is gentle apart from the initial downhill muddy trail but the second day adds a bit of a challenge by caving through Hang En (which was incredible and not claustrophobic!) and a steep muddy hill (i think around 1.5km) to reach the end where you are rewarded with a cold beer and the entertainment of seeing if any leeches had attached themselves to you during the hill climb!
Over all this was one on the best experiences of our lives and would recommend it to anyone who wants to take part in a once in a lifetime experience.

1  Thank Christopher J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OxalisAdvTours, Manager at Oxalis Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Christopher J,

I would like to thank you for such detailed and motivating compliments on Oxalis team’s efforts of serving you in your recent Hang En 2D1N adventure with us. Moreover, Oxalis Team had such an amazing moment knowing that you had a great time joining us.

One in all, your incredible conquest of Hang En, the world’s third-largest cave is what make us more delighted and motivated to keep on our good works here in Phong Nha. Personally, Hung & Ken would like to express their sincere thanks to have your compliments on their efforts of supporting you during the whole trip.

Thanks to your kindest words, We hope to see you again real soon,

Best regards,
Oxalis Adventure Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My boyfriend and I recently did the Tu Lan 1 day experience tour, we were picked up around 7am and got back to our hostel at 6pm. This has by far been the best thing we have done so far in Vietnam. It was breathtakingly beautiful and so nice to see some more natural areas of the country. We got to visit 2 caves which included swimming through one to get to the other side. A traditional BBQ lunch was also included. Ken, our tour guide, spoke very good English, he was very friendly and made the trip very enjoyable with his knowledge of the area. I am not particularly very good at trekking or climbing but I found the difficulty of this manageable, and any time you need assistance the safety assistants give you a hand. My only regret is that we didn’t have longer in Phong Nha to do a longer hike!

1  Thank Lindsay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OxalisAdvTours, Manager at Oxalis Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Lindsay P,

How delighted it is to know that your Tu Lan 1Day Experience tour with Oxalis has been your best trip in Vietnam so far. No words can describe our feelings knowing that you have not only enjoyed the tour at its best but also left such a lovely comments of our service.
Ken, personally, will be very proud to know that you have initiated his efforts of supporting & serving during the whole trip.

Please if you wish, you could come back any times in our warmest greeting and best service to make it again more thrilling & longer adventures into other stunning parts of this world heritage site. Oxalis Team are here waiting to see you around Phong Nha real soon.

Our sincerest thanks to you,
Oxalis Adventure Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

They run the Hang En cave trek and are generally responsible for everything on the trail and Hang En caves. The office is very well maintained, with a fantastic view of the river and village at the back of the office. They provide dry bag to keep stuff for the porter, a place to keep personal item that is not required for the trip and canvas boots that is so useful for the journey. The staffs at the office, guides and porter are all very friendly and passionate about their work, have very good knowledge of the environment and care for them. Very cheerful bunch of people that make the journey so much more fun. they took very good care of us.

Thank TekTeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OxalisAdvTours, Manager at Oxalis Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Tekteh,

Nice day from Vietnam! Oxalis Team would like to show off our sincere thanks to you for your kind comments on our service, staffs, equipment, landscapes & everything involving your recent Hang En 2D1N adventure with us. A big congratulation on your incredible conquest of the world’s third largest cave which is in the dream list of all adventurers over the world.

We’re thrilled to know you have realized our endless efforts of running a sustainable business. A wide range of actions need to be taken carefully by staffs & adventurers from limiting the number of visitors per day, minimizing waste products, employing composting toilets, etc. to reduce human impacts on caves & jungles.

Once again, thank you very much for giving us such a huge encouragement to keep on our good works here in Phong Nha. We definitely love to welcome you back in a very close future to explore more of this marvelous World Cave Kingdom in the safest way with Oxalis.

Regards,
Oxalis Adventure Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oxalis Adventures also viewed

Phong Nha-Ke Bang National Park, Quang Binh Province
Phong Nha-Ke Bang National Park, Quang Binh Province
 
Phong Nha-Ke Bang National Park, Quang Binh Province
Phong Nha-Ke Bang National Park, Quang Binh Province
 

Been to Oxalis Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing