We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desperate Need of TLC”

Sam Houston Jones State Park
Attraction details
Reviewed 13 November 2017

I've visited Sam Houston my entire life. We took field trips during elementary school, my family visited for the day, we frequently launched our boat. I've stayed in the campground and in the cabins. I've spent a lot of time here and I can wholeheartedly say this park needs a good dose of TLC: the roads, trails, campgrounds, bathhouses, playground all need some love. They never really recovered from Hurricane Rita in 2005. The "lake" in the middle of the park is always dry and the fairly new bathhouses could use a good scrub.

Additionally, if you are interested in RV camping the sites are pretty close together with little room for slide outs or longer wheelbases.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"dump station"
in 3 reviews
"watching the boats"
in 2 reviews
"lots of picnic tables"
in 2 reviews
"ride your bike"
in 2 reviews
"camping spots"
in 2 reviews
"laundry facilities"
in 2 reviews
"my entire life"
in 2 reviews
"hurricane rita"
in 2 reviews
"small fee"
in 2 reviews
"nice playground"
in 2 reviews
"a great place to spend"
in 2 reviews
"boat launch"
in 4 reviews
"lazy river"
in 2 reviews
"campers"
in 22 reviews
"deer"
in 37 reviews
"nature"
in 24 reviews
"cabin"
in 41 reviews
Filter

19 - 23 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2017

Brought our grandkids camping and had my granddaughters birthday party. We had a wonderful time. Park was clean and kids had a ball playing games, taking the nature walks, and playing at the park.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank robincourville2266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

We had a nice time at Sam Houston Jones State Park. We took a walk along the river. I also liked the trees in the area. It is a very scenic place to visit and so relaxing to visit.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

We tried to enjoy a fun weekend with one of my dear friends and help him celebrate his 50th birthday. However, the Ranger kept harassing us every 15 to 20 mins saying we were too loud and bothering the other campers. We asked the other campers and they could not even hear us. He then told us we had to turn off all lights, music, etc and if we wanted to keep talking we would have to get inside our campers. I laughed in his face but he continued until we complied. We got up first light and left. Went to another camp ground that allowed us to enjoy the outdoors without any hassles. I filed a complaint with the state to have refund issued because we all paid for the entire weekend They refused to refund our money. Okay for day time, but night (5pm and beyond) pure hell.

Date of experience: October 2016
3  Thank YoBob536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2017

I leave only about 2 miles from the park, but I still enjoy going there to see the ducks and the deer. The deer used to be in a pen, but now they graze freely. People bring their campers and stay there and it is fun to go meet them and visit.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank gcduhon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sam Houston Jones State Park also viewed

 

Been to Sam Houston Jones State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing