We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel(Donaldsonville)(Great Value!)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
US$92
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$109
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
91
27
12
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
27
12
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother gueststhe main housecanopy bedsouthern hospitalitybeautifully set tablehoneymoon suitedining tablehistoric propertynew orleansback porchbed was very comfortablestayed two nightsbaton rougelouisianaantebellumfurnishingsgenteel
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2016

Beautiful old mansion; good, hard-working and for the most part well-meaning people; good food; good old Southern hospitality and ambiance. These are the things we came away with and want to remember about our visit. Granted, it took 12 minutes for the water to get hot enough in our room to take a shower, but then there was not enough water pressure to take one. The old house has some issues, but was still charming. The only other down side was accidentally leaving a valuable piece of jewelry in the room and not even getting the courtesy of a response to the messages we left asking Angie and her staff to look for it and call us back.

Room Tip: Lee room is on first floor and large, but ask about water temp and pressure.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Motherroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JR1819, Owner at Madewood Plantation House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2016

This review should be removed immediately, as its claims are false and defamatory.

We have security videos of the person making the claim wearing the jewelry (a man's bracelet) both at checkout and as they approached their vehicle to depart Madewood.

When the gentleman called to report his bracelet missing, he told Angie that he was not certain where he had lost the bracelet and asked her to check their room. Unfortunately, he gave us the wrong room, which we checked and found no bracelet. As the guest had not left a callback number, Angie called the guests who had occupied the room she checked and left a message. We have no record on our phone log of any follow up calls from the reviewer.

In the downstairs bedroom that they did occupy, a notice clearly advises that it may take a few minutes for hot water to reach the tub -- a luxurious Jacuzzi spa, though we would dispute the claim of 12 minutes (actually timed?)

We feel that this review casts doubt on the integity of the Madewood staff, presents a false storyline, and should be removed immediately.

Keith Marshall
Proprietor, Madewood Plantation House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

This place is an perfect Southern experience. The food was excellent. We started the night with wine and cheese, proceeded to the dinning room for dinner and was served a 4 course meal, after this superb meal we where invited in the parlour for a night cap. The room made you feel like you where taken back in time and made you feel like royalty. We where woken up by this great lady knocking on our door to serve us our morning coffee. What a special touch!!!! The breakfast was so good and relaxing. This is the full experience of living on a plantation.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank France S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2016

Great place, fantastic food and wonderful people -- especially Angie! I was part of a bike tour group, and we stayed two nights. The tour with Woman Tours was exceptional, and Madewood was a highlight.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Edith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016

My husband and I have stayed at Madewood twice. This time we took our 17 year old daughter and her friend on our way to NOLA to a wedding and a Tulane tour. We will return again. It is a beautiful home with the most hospitable, helpful staff. Staying at Madewood is unique. It is not a hotel, it is a home. Do not expect a modern hotel. If that is your expectation, then you will be disappointed and will miss the whole point. If you want to see and experience a real plantation home, the Madewood will exceed your expectations. Angie and her staff are amazing! She made both of our stays special. She even had a cake for my husband's birthday! My teenage daughter and her friend are convinced they saw a ghost of a caretaker in the back yard! This is a very special place that I encourage you to experience for yourself. Eating breakfast/dinner and having drinks with the other guests is an enlightening experience. We met people from all over the world and even used Google Translator to converse!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMCary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016

This Henry Howard plantation is one of the great show places of South Louisiana. The grounds, cemetery and views enhance the magnificent architecture.
However, I would strongly suggest that you book in the main building. The 3-bedroom "cabin" with the screened porch looks charming FROM THE OUTSIDE, and the porch is pleasant. BUT the interior leaves much to be desired. It looks like a roadside junk shop. It's in bad need of repair, and should NOT be offered to guests.

Room Tip: STAY IN THE MAIN BUILDING - or visit and spend the night elsewhere.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PassGirl47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gee2u, Front Office Manager at Madewood Plantation House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2017

We are delighted that these guests, descendants of the builder and original owner of Madewood, found the mansion so impressive, and we thank them for the compliments.

But why the unkind words about Freeman Cottage, the modest cabin of the Freeman family, who lived in it for seven generations after being brought from North Carolina to Louisiana as slaves by Thomas Pugh, builder of Madewood? The cottage is not listed or pictured on our website, and is only offered at a reasonable rate to families or groups such as this that need additional accommodations. No one would be able to book this accommodation online; in fact, no one would even know about it were it not for this review.

We have restored pieces of the cottage's cypress and oak original furniture, which is completely different from that of the mansion; and there is no way that it, and other furniture and accessories in the cottage could be considered junk. In fact, it is where the owner and his wife prefer to stay on the property.

Perhaps these guests were so overwhelmed by the beauty of the mansion and its furnishings that they were blind to the simple charm of Freeman Cottage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews