We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absoloutly Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Madewood Plantation House
Reviewed 31 July 2016

We only stayed one night for my birthday during March of 2016, however we wish it could have been 3+ nights! We we're driving from Shreveport, and before that Dallas/Ft Worth, to make it to Madewood. While we we're stuck in traffic south of Baton Rouge, we we're unsure if we would make it in time for the dinner, so we called the house and Angie gave us alternate driving directions and assured us we would make it on time (sure enough we did). Once we arrived, we were greeted by a fantastic employee who helped up take our luggage to our room. Once we got dressed for dinner, we met for wine and cheese in the parlor. We had the pleasure of meeting the owners of the plantation in the parlor! They were amazing to talk to. We expressed interest in meeting a 7th generation employee of the plantation, but unfortunately he wasn't there the only day we were in town. However, the owners told us we could find him at church less than a mile up the road! This to me demonstrates that the owners truly know and care about each employee. Near the end of our conversation, the second family staying the night at the house that night arrived. Coincidentally, they we're also from the Dallas / Fort Worth area, and through some connection, we had mutual friends! Once we made our way to dinner, the setting was BEAUTIFUL. The food was AMAZING and we devoured every bite. Truly some of the best food I've had in my lifetime, only made better by the scenery. Near the end of dinner, Angie, the wonderful housekeeper, surprised us with a red-velvet birthday cake for my birthday! We did not even mention it to her, I guess the owners told her and she took it upon herself to do this for us! It was one of those moments we will cherish forever. The next morning, the breakfast was TO DIE FOR! An authentic southern plantation breakfast. Fresh squeezed orange juice, buttery biscuits, and perfectly cooked grits. The room was amazingly authentic, and we would have been disappointed if it was too modern. We wanted to be taken back to the grandeur of the old south and this plantation did it for us! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2016

Beautiful old mansion; good, hard-working and for the most part well-meaning people; good food; good old Southern hospitality and ambiance. These are the things we came away with and want to remember about our visit. Granted, it took 12 minutes for the water to get hot enough in our room to take a shower, but then there was not enough water pressure to take one. The old house has some issues, but was still charming. The only other down side was accidentally leaving a valuable piece of jewelry in the room and not even getting the courtesy of a response to the messages we left asking Angie and her staff to look for it and call us back.

Room Tip: Lee room is on first floor and large, but ask about water temp and pressure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Motherroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JR1819, Owner at Madewood Plantation House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2016

This review should be removed immediately, as its claims are false and defamatory.

We have security videos of the person making the claim wearing the jewelry (a man's bracelet) both at checkout and as they approached their vehicle to depart Madewood.

When the gentleman called to report his bracelet missing, he told Angie that he was not certain where he had lost the bracelet and asked her to check their room. Unfortunately, he gave us the wrong room, which we checked and found no bracelet. As the guest had not left a callback number, Angie called the guests who had occupied the room she checked and left a message. We have no record on our phone log of any follow up calls from the reviewer.

In the downstairs bedroom that they did occupy, a notice clearly advises that it may take a few minutes for hot water to reach the tub -- a luxurious Jacuzzi spa, though we would dispute the claim of 12 minutes (actually timed?)

We feel that this review casts doubt on the integity of the Madewood staff, presents a false storyline, and should be removed immediately.

Keith Marshall
Proprietor, Madewood Plantation House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

This place is an perfect Southern experience. The food was excellent. We started the night with wine and cheese, proceeded to the dinning room for dinner and was served a 4 course meal, after this superb meal we where invited in the parlour for a night cap. The room made you feel like you where taken back in time and made you feel like royalty. We where woken up by this great lady knocking on our door to serve us our morning coffee. What a special touch!!!! The breakfast was so good and relaxing. This is the full experience of living on a plantation.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank France S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2016

Great place, fantastic food and wonderful people -- especially Angie! I was part of a bike tour group, and we stayed two nights. The tour with Woman Tours was exceptional, and Madewood was a highlight.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Edith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016

My husband and I have stayed at Madewood twice. This time we took our 17 year old daughter and her friend on our way to NOLA to a wedding and a Tulane tour. We will return again. It is a beautiful home with the most hospitable, helpful staff. Staying at Madewood is unique. It is not a hotel, it is a home. Do not expect a modern hotel. If that is your expectation, then you will be disappointed and will miss the whole point. If you want to see and experience a real plantation home, the Madewood will exceed your expectations. Angie and her staff are amazing! She made both of our stays special. She even had a cake for my husband's birthday! My teenage daughter and her friend are convinced they saw a ghost of a caretaker in the back yard! This is a very special place that I encourage you to experience for yourself. Eating breakfast/dinner and having drinks with the other guests is an enlightening experience. We met people from all over the world and even used Google Translator to converse!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMCary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napoleonville
33.3 km away
Nottoway Plantation Resort
Nottoway Plantation Resort
#1 of 1 in White Castle
1,217 reviews
24.5 km away
The Inn at Houmas House
22.2 km away
The Dansereau House
The Dansereau House
#1 of 2 in Thibodaux
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madewood Plantation House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madewood Plantation House

Address: 4250 Highway 308, Napoleonville, LA 70390-8737
Region: United States > Louisiana > Napoleonville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Napoleonville
Price Range: $346 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madewood Plantation House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Madewood Plantation House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madewood Plantation House Hotel Napoleonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing