We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchitoches
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Violet Hill Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 23 Natchitoches B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2017

I am not prone to gush about things but the stay here was simply outstanding. My wife and I stayed here for our anniversary. It proved to be exactly what we would have expected a visit to a bed and breakfast to be like.

The rooms and amenities are all excellent. The location could hardly be better; WiFi, complimentary beverages, big porch with plenty of chairs and swing, and right on the Cane River Lake. It is an excellent place to stay, relax, and visit with other guest. All this and a short walk from several good restaurants and watering holes.

Pulling all this together is the Innkeeper, Laverne. She was a pleasure to visit with and is an excellent chef. If you get the chance request the rolled omelette with rosemary potatoes. My wife and I would go back just to have her cooking.

All in all Natchitoches and Violet Hill and very well worth the trip.

Room Tip: The John Reavls room has its own door to the porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kburnmsfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela P, Manager at Violet Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Thank you so much for the wonderful compliments! We will continue to do our best to make amazing memories for our guests! Call any time you would like to return and I would be happy to assist you with your reservation needs!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2017

Stayed two nights in Stem Wheeler and Arthur Coble. Both were very comfortable. Used the charming back porch to relax with wine on the banks of the Cane River Lake. Walkable to the town of Natchitoches for dining and shops. Love the breakfast and the TLC from Innkeeper Laverne Payton

Room Tip: Stem Wheeler has a king bed. AC control in each room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Art N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

We enjoyed our stay, the breakfast was grand, and the bed was especially comfy. We live near Natchitoches, but if we're attending a night event, this B&B is a wonderful place to stay. I would recommend letting the innkeeper know if you have any dietary restrictions for breakfast.

Room Tip: Two rooms face the river, so you should ask for one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RufusLouisiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

Loved the fact that it was on the Cane River so having a glass of wine on their deck was great. The rooms are nice. The exterior of the house needs painting, but other than that, it was a nice place to stay. Laverne makes the best breakfasts!!!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perky JC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017

Suite was large and comfortable. Very well kept. Food was outstanding. Laverne is one of the best folks to have with your breakfast. Helpful, friendly and a great cook. Will definitely go there again.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank posajanice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchitoches hotels
0.3 km away
Chateau Saint Denis
Chateau Saint Denis
#5 of 15 in Natchitoches
84 reviews
8.0 km away
Hampton Inn Natchitoches
Hampton Inn Natchitoches
#1 of 15 in Natchitoches
401 reviews
7.2 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Natchitoches
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Comfort Suites Natchitoches
Comfort Suites Natchitoches
#2 of 15 in Natchitoches
131 reviews
7.7 km away
Best Western Natchitoches Inn
Best Western Natchitoches Inn
#3 of 15 in Natchitoches
174 reviews
0.1 km away
Sweet Cane Inn
Sweet Cane Inn
#8 of 23 in Natchitoches
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Violet Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Violet Hill Bed and Breakfast

Address: 917 Washington St, Natchitoches, LA 71457-4729
Region: United States > Louisiana > Natchitoches
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Natchitoches
Price Range: $197 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy peaceful surroundings on the banks of Cane River Lake in the historic district of beautiful downtown Natchitoches, Louisiana. Painstakingly and lovingly renovated, Violet Hill Bed and Breakfast provides an elegant and relaxing atmosphere, inside and out. Whether it's in the luxurious living area, in one of the porch swings on the veranda, or on the gazebo dock downhill on the riverfront, you're sure to enjoy your stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing