We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$132
View deal
Booking.comUS$132
Hotels.comUS$132
TravelocityUS$132
PricelineUS$132
Agoda.comUS$132
HurbUS$136
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
53
31
10
7
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
53
31
10
7
14
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Very hospitable staff. Kim went above and beyond to get us a room that met our needs. Good breakfast, and free hot coffee was available all night if you wanted it. It was cleen but had that hotel smell. Only there for one night, passing thru LA.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Peggy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 March 2017

We have been gone awhile and still remembered. The property is always kept up to a standard that you would want in your home. High standards.
They are always willing to work hard to accommodate you on the premises or when you are looking for a room.
For the past year we have been coming to Sulfur often and do not stay anywhere else.
We call and as soon as Roxanne(50 times), Kathy and Kim hears my voice they know our names and what we are looking for. They go beyond to get us what we are looking for.
When we get here, wake up the next morning and go out our door it is wonderful to see Victoria, Colleen, Savannah, Yvonne,Utta, Latoya, Billy and all the rest of the staff. They make you feel as if you are the only person staying there. They will go out of their way for you.
Housekeeping is amazing. They respect your privacy and your needs. Be good to them and treat the rooms as your home. Don't leave unnecessary messes. Your wouldn't treat your home nasty. This is home away from home.
I can go on forever about this hotel (feels like home) but come here and see for yourself. You will not be disappointed.
I named this AT LAST because i can only write every three months on TripAdvisor. I was eager to let everyone know what a wonderful place this is.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kayj562
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

Comfort and courtesy are what we experienced last night as we stopped in Sulphur on our trip from Alabama to Texas. This Holiday Inn Express provided everything we expected from this chain in the best way possible. The front desk personnel helped us get the room we needed at the best rate. The room was clean and comfortable. Pillows were actually just right---a rarity! Breakfast was hot and fresh, and the attendant was a delight. We will stop there again

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ralphm212
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet P, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Sulphur Lake Charles, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay -- and we will look forward to your next visit to our hotel when you are in the area.

Have a blessed day!

Janet Paxton, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016

My husband and I always stay at this Holiday Inn location because Rodrick, he always welcomes me with a smile. I visit Louisiana often as I love that area for vacation .we are always super excited to have him check us in, Great Staff!! from Rodrick Cropp at the front desk to Amy at the bar! Rodrick is a keeper.

Melissa Le, Austin Texas

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank _mtle001
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet P, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Sulphur Lake Charles, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2016

WE are so glad that you enjoyed your stay -- I will be sure and share your comments with the staff -- we strive each and every day to show the true meaning of Southern Hospitality.

Have a great day and come back and see us again real soon!

Janet Paxton, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

This hotel should be avoided at all cost especially with better offerings on the same street. The A/C was broke in the hotel all weekend and the entire place smelled like mildew, the maid staff would walk down the halls coating everything with Febreze which just created an even more disgusting odor than the mildew. Was staying here since it was the 'official hotel' of a convention I was attending, which had to cancel their attendee appreciation party due to the hotel A/C being broken. A broken air conditioner in Southern Louisiana is unacceptable, even if it is the weekend get it fixed!
Add to this the construction taking place on both ends of the building complete with jackhammers beating away at god knows what before 7 am every day including Saturday and Sunday. So much for that relaxing sleep.

The breakfast buffet for $12.50 was no bargain and even less appealing with the throngs of softball tournament participants and their hung-over parents.

The Candlewood Suites across the street offers room rates that are half the price and include a continental breakfast, also within a quarter mile of this motel hell is a La Quinta, Windgate, and Baymont any of which look like they would have been better places to stay.

Room tip: Stay somewhere else, a dumpster behind a crackhouse would offer a better night's sleep.
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chip138
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet P, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Sulphur Lake Charles, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2016

First of all I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations. However, the AC that was broken was in the meeting room -- and yes that function did move to a better location for the attendees due to AC going out. -- In return -- there were absolutely no charges for the food that had been ordered or anything else for that matter due to the AC situation which unfortunately, it is just like at home -- when something breaks you are at the mercy of the repair people and the parts available at the time. -- Which for a big commercial unit such as this one -- the parts are a 2 week lead time -- trust me I would have been much happier as well -- had it been a quick fix to keep everyone happy.

WE are a full service hotel, compared to the other hotels surrounding us and we do offer a good to order breakfast as well as a buffet when we have teams in to ensure that we can offer the quick and efficient service that everyone is needing.

Thanks again for sharing -- however, I do hope that you will come back and give us another try once as we are currently on the final swing of construction and will be all new very very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews