We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable day out”
Review of Maid of the Forth

Maid of the Forth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Forth Bridges and Inchcolm Island Sightseeing Boat trips. Departs from Hawes Pier, South Queensferry, Edinburgh daily Easter to October
Reviewed 29 June 2018

Really good trip lovely scenery and information as we sailed. Inchcolm island was lovely to explore despite the seagulls attacking!! All helped by the sunny day of course.

Thank acemri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maid S, Public Relations Manager at Maid of the Forth, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent trip with us, we are glad to see you enjoyed your day. We do advise care is taken, as you've witnessed the nesting gulls can be protective. As long as you take care when on the Island, there is still lots to see and enjoy. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (636)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"inchcolm island"
in 179 reviews
"great trip"
in 49 reviews
"boat trip"
in 74 reviews
"jazz cruise"
in 11 reviews
"three bridges"
in 47 reviews
"recommend this trip"
in 24 reviews
"lovely cruise"
in 6 reviews
"booking office"
in 6 reviews
"baguette"
in 6 reviews
"hour cruise"
in 10 reviews
"informative commentary"
in 21 reviews
"top deck"
in 13 reviews
"boat staff"
in 6 reviews
"saw seals"
in 24 reviews
"return journey"
in 12 reviews
"small bar"
in 11 reviews
"trip today"
in 6 reviews
Filter

53 - 57 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2018

This is a small tour boat that we took to Incholm Island to visit the Abbey. We had a great time on the boat. The crew was wonderful. Both Andy and Chris went out of their way to make the trip interesting for myself. They even managed to do so without giving me free drinks. Might be time for a raise for these boys. Captain Scot was interesting to talk with on the way over to the island. The recorded tour was very informative both on the way over and on the way back. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone. My wife and I had a great day, due in no small part to the crew of the Maid of the Forth. I can only imagine how much fun would be had with these guys on an evening BBQ cruise.

Thank beachbums_ceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maid S, Public Relations Manager at Maid of the Forth, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review your trip with us, we are glad to see that you enjoyed sailing onboard the Maid of the Forth. I have passed your kind comments to our crew and they were glad to have helped to make your trip so enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Wonderful experience, even with the seagulls in full attack mode!
Very much enjoyed the trips there and back, very informative and interesting.
We stopped off to visit the island and glad we did so. Explored a such as possible and the keepers warned us about the nesting seagulls and advised us to explore further at our own risk - we were provided with sticks for protection (not to hit them with may I add!)
Great for all ages

Thank Hevrahhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maid S, Public Relations Manager at Maid of the Forth, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent trip with us. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your trip, even with the nesting gulls, but there are still lots of beautiful sights and places to explore. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

This was a nice little ride out to the island. As we passed notable sites, the captain told us all about them. He let us know what time he would be back to pick us up and was on time. Very informative!

Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maid S, Public Relations Manager at Maid of the Forth, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent trip onboard the Maid of the Forth. We are glad to see that not only did you find the trip enjoyable but also that you found out lots of information as well. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

Took a group of college students on the Maid of Forth. The trip was excellent. The boat was well equipped and very comfortable, and the 3 hour tour was perfect.

Thank McDonari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maid S, Public Relations Manager at Maid of the Forth, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Thank you for your review of your trip, we are glad to hear that both yourself and your students enjoyed your recent trip with us. Hopefully we will welcome you onboard in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maid of the Forth also viewed

South Queensferry, Edinburgh
South Queensferry, Edinburgh
 
South Queensferry, Edinburgh
South Queensferry, Edinburgh
 

Been to Maid of the Forth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing