We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely b&b with great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 16 Bethel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Our group of 8 friends stayed here overnight enroute to Bar Harbor. John and Janette could not have been more accommodating. They purchased the inn 2 years ago and are doing a wonderful job fixing up the inn from the prior owners. Our room - no 2 - was very spacious and comfortable with a big bathroom. Janette made a wonderful chia pudding for me in the am since I am plant based and it was delicious (in fact one of the other gals in our group who is allergic to eggs decided on the chia pudding too and loved it). The rest of the entree for our group was delicious (according to my husband and other friends).

The innkeepers provided a variety of liquors to enjoy after dinner in the common living room - a very nice touch!

You won't go wrong staying here at the Holidae House - John and his wife are the nicest people and go above and beyond to make your stay an enjoyable one!

Room Tip: Rm 2 was just at the top of the steps and very spacious with a big bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mifan011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2017

We arrived in Bethel after a long day's drive through Maine and were warmly greeted by John upon arrival. He wasted no time in making us feel really welcome and at home and showed a genuine interest in us and where we were from.

Although Holidae House is situated on the main street and is conveniently located for all amenities and restaurants, it nevertheless feels quiet and relaxed. Our room was situated on the ground floor and was large, clean and spacious. Home made cookies were made available on arrival, which was a nice touch.

The following morning we were introduced to John's wife Jeanette and her lovely breakfast, served with coffee freshly ground to order.

It's easy to see why this little place is always so busy, given the fabulous welcome we received. We did try to book for a second night prior to arriving but they were fully booked.

If we're ever in this part of the world again, we'd definitely stay for a second time!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

You are greeted by the friendly John who will show you the ins and outs of the home and give you lead a discussion on their life and local activities. Jeannette is the cook who served up a delicious fluffy quiche for breakfast. Well appointed antique driven accessories with an interesting collection of antique cameras. Always homemade snack in the kitchen, raspberry brownies when we were there with an assortment of teas. Bed was very comfortable with thick fluffy towels. I highly recommend this B&B that is reasonably priced. The breakfast conversation was interesting for this seems to be a popular B&B with guests from Europe.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank boldgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

My husband and I stayed for one delightful night at the Holidae House and wish we could have stayed longer. The hosts were warm and welcoming, filling us in on everything we needed to know to make our stay more enjoyable. We loved that they had a little night cap table in the living room complete with aperitif glasses and a small assortment of adult beverages. Our room and bed were very comfortable and spacious, as well as nicely appointed and very clean. Off street parking was available. We even commandeered the front porch for a few hours during Happy Hour and no one seemed to mind at all. If you're looking for a warm and cozy experience in lovely downtown Bethel, this is your place!

Room Tip: Look at photos of the rooms online to help you decide which one to pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

I spent 3 nights here in mid-August with other family members - we had 5 of the 8 rooms. This is a lovely Victorian house with exceptional hosts. John is very friendly and ready to answer any question about the area, and Jeanette is cheerful and a wonderful breakfast maker! Each morning is a different surprise breakfast with juice and fresh ground/brewed coffee. There is a plate of yummy treats available throughout the day.

The rooms are lovely and have their own bathrooms - some have complete bathrooms and others have a basin in the room with a separate toilet and shower. There is a nice parlor and front porch for mingling with other guests, and small breakfast room. Everything is well cared for - including the guests. The home is centrally located in Bethel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nowakklmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_and_Jeanette, Owner at Holidae House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thank you! We truly love having family groups stay with us. Everyone is so happy to be together and it always shows. We really have a good time meeting and talking with the family, especially when the local members join them for breakfast! :-) It was so much fun having you all here and we sincerely hope you will visit again soon.

John & Jeanette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethel
0.5 km away
The Bethel Inn Resort
1.6 km away
The Jolly Drayman at The Briar Lea Inn
0.2 km away
The Victoria Inn
The Victoria Inn
#9 of 16 in Bethel
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#4 of 16 in Bethel
173 reviews
0.4 km away
Chapman Inn
Chapman Inn
#8 of 16 in Bethel
190 reviews
31.9 km away
Top Notch Inn
Top Notch Inn
#1 of 7 in Gorham
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holidae House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holidae House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 85 Main St, PO Box 475, Bethel, ME 04217-4016 (Formerly Holidae House B&B)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range: $193 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holidae House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your soft landing awaits with a restorative stay at the Holidae House Bed & Breakfast located in the center of quaint downtown Bethel, Maine. Fluffy and oh-so-comfortable, the white towels, comforters, sheets and draperies are of posh hotel quality and the embodiment of luxury in contemporary bath, body and bedding amenities. Sublime sleep is achieved complements of comfortable temperature controlled rooms for healthy, happy slumbers. For the ultimate in at-home coziness, the Holidae House B&B is sure to bring you many sweet dreams, timeless memories and a yearning desire to return for more. Comfy mattresses, elegant bed-dressings, beautiful silver tea trays, oriental rugs and carpets invite guests to relax in the well-appointed rooms. Each room has its own private bath, some with showers only and others with full bath tub and shower. Enjoy a delicious, home cooked gourmet breakfast during your stay with us. Start your day off with Jeanette's creations including Cream Cheese Stuffed French Toast with blueberries, strawberries and raspberries, Made From Scratch Blueberry Pancakes, Apple Cinnamon French Toast and others. We use free range organic eggs and maple syrup, both sourced locally. We also pick our own blueberries and apples and use them as long as the supply lasts. Jeanette's fresh baked breads are used in many of our breakfasts. For coffee lovers we grind beans each morning to provide you with the freshest coffee possible, and we even have decaf beans! For tea lovers we offer over 20 Twinings Teas, including black, herbal and green teas. We also have hot chocolate and spiced apple cider packets. A selection of juices is offered including orange, grapefruit and grape. Fresh fruit is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Holidae House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing