We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mountain Village Lodge(Bethel)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 01/08
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Victoria Inn(Bethel)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$125
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bethel Inn Resort(Bethel)(Great Value!)
US$188
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn at the Rostay(Bethel)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$128/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Chapman Inn(Bethel)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Norseman Inn(Bethel)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$109
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (562)
Filter reviews
562 results
Traveller rating
504
48
7
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
504
48
7
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjohn and jeanettefrench toastliving roomcookiesgracious hostssunday riverdelicious breakfasthis wifeground coffeebaked goodssouthern hospitalityold friendsother guestsmain streetnew englandcould not have been moreboard games
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 562 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2017

We arrived in Bethel after a long day's drive through Maine and were warmly greeted by John upon arrival. He wasted no time in making us feel really welcome and at home and showed a genuine interest in us and where we were from.

Although Holidae House is situated on the main street and is conveniently located for all amenities and restaurants, it nevertheless feels quiet and relaxed. Our room was situated on the ground floor and was large, clean and spacious. Home made cookies were made available on arrival, which was a nice touch.

The following morning we were introduced to John's wife Jeanette and her lovely breakfast, served with coffee freshly ground to order.

It's easy to see why this little place is always so busy, given the fabulous welcome we received. We did try to book for a second night prior to arriving but they were fully booked.

If we're ever in this part of the world again, we'd definitely stay for a second time!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

You are greeted by the friendly John who will show you the ins and outs of the home and give you lead a discussion on their life and local activities. Jeannette is the cook who served up a delicious fluffy quiche for breakfast. Well appointed antique driven accessories with an interesting collection of antique cameras. Always homemade snack in the kitchen, raspberry brownies when we were there with an assortment of teas. Bed was very comfortable with thick fluffy towels. I highly recommend this B&B that is reasonably priced. The breakfast conversation was interesting for this seems to be a popular B&B with guests from Europe.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank boldgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

My husband and I stayed for one delightful night at the Holidae House and wish we could have stayed longer. The hosts were warm and welcoming, filling us in on everything we needed to know to make our stay more enjoyable. We loved that they had a little night cap table in the living room complete with aperitif glasses and a small assortment of adult beverages. Our room and bed were very comfortable and spacious, as well as nicely appointed and very clean. Off street parking was available. We even commandeered the front porch for a few hours during Happy Hour and no one seemed to mind at all. If you're looking for a warm and cozy experience in lovely downtown Bethel, this is your place!

Room Tip: Look at photos of the rooms online to help you decide which one to pick.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

I spent 3 nights here in mid-August with other family members - we had 5 of the 8 rooms. This is a lovely Victorian house with exceptional hosts. John is very friendly and ready to answer any question about the area, and Jeanette is cheerful and a wonderful breakfast maker! Each morning is a different surprise breakfast with juice and fresh ground/brewed coffee. There is a plate of yummy treats available throughout the day.

The rooms are lovely and have their own bathrooms - some have complete bathrooms and others have a basin in the room with a separate toilet and shower. There is a nice parlor and front porch for mingling with other guests, and small breakfast room. Everything is well cared for - including the guests. The home is centrally located in Bethel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nowakklmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_and_Jeanette, Owner at Holidae House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thank you! We truly love having family groups stay with us. Everyone is so happy to be together and it always shows. We really have a good time meeting and talking with the family, especially when the local members join them for breakfast! :-) It was so much fun having you all here and we sincerely hope you will visit again soon.

John & Jeanette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

My husband, 2 daughters, and I were lucky to have been able to stay in the most recently renovated room, The Wandering Moose. With its Queen bed, very comfortable pull out couch (nice foam Mattress NOT old spring type) and spacious layout with sitting area and eat-in kitchenette, it was the perfect spot for our little family as we said goodbye to our new GOULD ACADEMY attendee!! They even offered us a 10% discount because my daughter was a student at Gould . The host and hostess have been hard at work bringing the old Victorian charm back to this wonderful Inn, room by room. I know they have more plans to come so you should plan your next visit with a stay at the Holidae House!! In typical B&B fashion, the owners are always there and available for anything you might need and rest assured, you will have a beautifully home cooked breakfast in the morning by hostess Jeanette! Thanks for having us. Our girls enjoyed talking with you both over breakfast, Julie, Bill, Georgia and Sophia Brox
PS The queen mattress is nice and firm but if its too firm for your taste, I believe Jeanette said she has a feather topper that you can request?

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_and_Jeanette, Owner at Holidae House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thank you so much Julie but we were truly the lucky ones to have you stay with us! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. As for your daughters, they are truly special young ladies and we enjoyed talking with both of them very much. We hope to see your new Gould Attendee around town so we can say hello. And as we told her, she is always welcome to stop in for one of Jeanette's snacks. :-) We really hope to see you folks again on future Gould visits! Oh, and you are correct, we do have a topper.

John & Jeanette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews