We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (574)
Filter reviews
574 results
Traveller rating
515
49
7
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
515
49
7
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews john and jeanette french toast living room eggs cookies sunday river gracious hosts his wife delicious breakfast ground coffee southern hospitality baked goods a lovely stay main street other guests new england could not have been more
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 574 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2017

Our first visit to this lovely, welcoming B&B. Conveniently located on the quiet Main Street close to the Maine Mineral and Gem Museum and several restaurants. Our hosts John and Jeanette helped up feel right at home, our upstairs room was quiet and comfortable, and the breakfasts were delicious. Late afternoon/evening snacks were a surprise treat. We also enjoyed evening time in the pleasant living room reading and relaxing. We stayed two nights--one as a stopover on our way to Vermont, and the second on our return.
Bethel is a nice small town and a pleasant place to walk. We plan to return to Holidae House and explore more of the surrounding area.
Eleanor & Clint, Downeast Maine

Room Tip: Our upstairs front corner room was very quiet, but I think all would be equally quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ebjohnson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_and_Jeanette, Owner at Holidae House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Thank you so much Eleanor Clint! It was a pleasure having you both here and we are so glad you enjoyed your stays with us. We hope to see you again on your next excursion to Vermont. Thanks again and have a Happy New Year!

John & Jeanette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

This is long overdue. Instead of flying to Europe, we decided to drive from our home in North Carolina, up to Maine to visit relatives and had several "bucket list" places to see, including Mt. Washington. While driving west from Augusta, we happened to stop for the evening in Bethel, and when I saw the Holidae House, I walked right in, and called John as instructed on the counter. He came from the back, welcomed me and my wife inside, gave us the tour, and we couldn't wait to check-in. We had never stayed at a B&B, and this was the greatest intro to a B&B stay we could ever imagine. John and Jeanette were like family and made us feel like we were at home with everything we needed. John even helped me carry our luggage from the car up to room #1, got us settled in, and the next morning, the breakfast was made from scratch and the atmosphere with the other guests was warm and friendly. We announced having to check out after our morning stroll, and upon our final departure, Jeanette prepared us a small snack for the road. Couldn't have had a more pleasant stay at a moment's notice. Thank you so much. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank PeteRuthie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

Holidae House is well located on Main Street and the hosts provide a high level of hospitality.

We were in room #5 at the front of the house. Had some initial concerns about having a noisy room, but it was very quiet. The bed was a bit firm for our tastes, but that a good quality mattress.

The breakfast was fine, although not the gourmet meal we were expecting. It was french toast with baked apples on top with a sausage patty. There were several evening snacks including cherry brownies that were delicious.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TravelTalk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

If you enjoy feeling like a really good friend visiting a long lost friend then you have found your place. John welcomed us to his home with open arms and gave us a thorough walk through of the house facilities (lovely home baked goods in the communal lounge were a highlight). He was full of handy information and recommendations for meals and his recommendations were spot on. (Always handy when you are travelling in another country). And most important to me was that John likes people and likes to enjoy a chat and a laugh. Something I sorely miss when staying in hotels. The room was very clean and the bed was lovely and comfortable. I enjoyed being able to have the window open at night. The Holidae House Bed and Breakfast also has another secret weapon, Jeanette's breakfast's. They were amazingly delicious, and different everyday. I wish I lived closed than Australia so I could take advantage of them more often. I highly recommend paying John and Jeanette a visit.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank longwayhomehq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

We stayed in the downstairs Pine room for one night while passing through. The room was quiet and very large with a couple of reading chairs and an additional single bed with a queen bed. We felt the room was "tired" and could use a new mattress and bedding.
The hosts were very nice.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Richbutnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_and_Jeanette, Owner at Holidae House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Hello and thank you for your review. We agree that the paint in the room is tired and are actually updating it as we speak. :-) Unfortunately when we purchased the Inn it was time for a paint job inside and out (nothing lasts forever). We painted the outside first due to weathering concerns, and are currently working through the inside. Fortunately the paint is in good condition, but it does need to be "freshened up". Thank you for the comment on the mattress. We had not received any negative feedback on it before and that's how we know they need to be examined, so we truly appreciate your letting us know. You will also be happy to know we have put a new comforter on the bed as well. :-) If you are ever in Bethel again we hope you will stop by and check out the updates. Thanks again!

John & Jeanette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews