We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasant surprise..Congrats on the renovations!!”
Review of Vacationland Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vacationland Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Brewer
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
N.B. Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise..Congrats on the renovations!!”
Reviewed 3 December 2011

My sister and I wanted to stay just 1 night in Brewer and found an excellent walk-in rate at this former Twin City. We were a bit hesitate as the old Twin City was a fairly rundown hotel but after calling we decided to check the place out. WOW!! You will not be disappointed, the renovations are beautiful and the decor has some really neat touches...great job on the reno!!..attention to details is very nice. Included in your overnight stay is a standard waffle breakfast but they do have different toppings for them which makes it special. I will certainly not hesitate on returning.

Room Tip: There is a room section that is not connected directly to the main part of hotel. It is a separate b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jilliangkyui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacationland_Manager, Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Dear Valued Guest:

What a lovely review! Thank you for taking the time to write it. We are glad that we have lived up to your expectations. I shall ensure to share your review with the rest of the team. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon...

Best Regards,

Leeanne Hewey, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    256
    77
    26
    23
See reviews for
208
256
43
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Quispamsis, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Have just returned from a shopping trip to Bangor and wanted to get this review submiited, so that nobody else make the same mistake we did. This hotel is nothing like it reads in some of the previous reviews. It is awful. I was in a non smoking room on the 2nd floor and my room smelt worse than the smoking room my travel companions were in, it reeked . The side door to the parking lot has no lock so anybody could come in to this hotel. The combination of the smell, the lack of security and the overall condition of the room and hotel made me believe that these reviews were fabricated and they were not submitted by customers who actually stayed there. Needless to say I didn't sleep very well. The complimentary breakfast that everyone raved about wasn't anything special, actually lacked the typical items you find in most other hotels. At check out we were told that the rooms we stayed in are usually sold as a cheaper option to people and are offered at a reduced rate. They did offer a $20 refund. Reviews should reflect the entire hotel, not just certain rooms that may be fixed up and promoted as what you can expect.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetotravel62_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacationland_Manager, Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Dear Valued Guest:
We are continually updating our hotel on a daily basis and strive to adhere to our guests every need. Reservations were made over the phone. The room reservation request was for a non-smoking room to be next to a smoking room for yourself and the friends you traveled with. We have a policy to explain that the upstairs rooms near the smoking rooms have not yet been renovated, however, they are clean and comfortable. These rooms do not have all the amenities as in our Annex. As with any hotel, it is much better for the hotel to be able to address an issue for the guest when the front desk staff is notified immediately. We would of moved your non-smoking reservation to another room if you or your guest would of returned or called the front desk immediately. When we were not made aware of your dissatisfaction until the morning at check out, it leaves us with minimal options to correct the situation for you. We did reduce the price of the rooms upon checkout and have offered both you and your traveling companion an opportunity to return. When you return, please do not hesitate to let us know immediately when you are dissatisfied with your accommodation or you may ask to see the room prior to checking into the room. We do appreciate you bringing this to our attention, and sincerely hope that our ongoing efforts to continue to improve each room at our hotel and attempts to resolve this matter for you will restore your faith in Vacationland inn and we will be able to welcome you back in the near future. It was a pleasure to speak to you again the other day on the phone when I called you.

Leeanne Hewey, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Cove, N.B. Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2011

When we go to Bangor, Vacationland Inn in Brewer Maine has become our favorite place to stay The staff are very friendly and helpful The rooms are wonderfully clean. I really am very happy to stay at this Inn. It is close to restaurants and stores that we visit. I was there on one occasion and wanted a fridge and microwave in the room, it was after hours and the night staff actually called the maintenance man from his off duty time to set up a fridge and microwave for me, now how accommodating is that?
The only disappointment that I have is when I call for a reservation and there are no rooms available for the time period that I will be in Bangor, .

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanm86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacationland_Manager, Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Dear Guests:

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this positive review. We are very delighted that you enjoy your stays with us at Vacationland Inn. Your review will be shared with the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Leeanne Hewey, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

A mate and I stayed here on a trip we were doing round the east
Coast. We had stayed at really nice places all the way.....until this one. Our room was at the rear of the property. To get to it we had to cross a barren gravel car park with stuff all lighting. The doors were open. I don't think this place had ever heard of security.
The room was a filthy dive. The bed was crumpled and looked like it hadn't been cleaned. The toilet had not been cleaned. it looked like someone had spewed in the bath and it hadn't been cleaned in time so it was caked on the bath itself. Our view was terrible. Of a garbage heap which we could smell.

I thought breakfast might be this place's redeeming feature but even that was crap. I got burnt waffles.

I am kicking myself for not taking photos. Avoid this place.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pumbaa86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacationland_Manager, Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Dear Valued Guests:

I have emailed you a few times hoping to get your feedback. Please know you can call me directly at any time. It is unfortunate that our front desk staff or management was never made aware of your dissatisfaction with the room. As with all hotels, the earlier any dissatisfaction is reported, this allows us to move you to another room. Know when you return that you may ask to see your room prior to checking in. Again, feel free to contact me directly with your concerns.

Thank you
Kind Regards,
Leeanne, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden Grove, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Clean, quiet, comfortable & a wonderful breakfast!!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the property are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brewer
9.1 km away
Best Western White House Inn
2.5 km away
Residence Inn by Marriott Bangor
4.9 km away
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Quality Inn Bangor Airport
5.1 km away
Ramada Bangor
Ramada Bangor
#12 of 26 in Bangor
1,201 reviews
5.1 km away
Holiday Inn Bangor-Odlin Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vacationland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacationland Inn

Property: Vacationland Inn
Address: 453 Wilson St, Brewer, ME 04412-1414
Region: United States > Maine > Brewer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Brewer
Price range (per night): $106 - $240
Hotel Class:2 star — Vacationland Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five (5) Beautiful Themed Suites with hydro-massage bath! Over 40 Drive up rooms. Vacationland Inn offers a variety of rooms to meet travelers needs (Economy to Themed Suites). A home away from home experience. Complimentary Continental Breakfast with Home-made waffles and Wild Maine Blueberry sauce, strawberry sauce and syrup. Vacationland Inn's Organic Coffee freshly roasted by local roasting company and privately labled just for our guests. Juices, toasting breads, cereals and more. Friendly staff that will always go the extra "Smile" to serve our guest needs. The Adventure begins at Vacationland Inn. Your first or return visit - experience the newly remodeled lobby and breakfast room. See you on your future stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vacationland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vacationland Hotel Brewer
Vacationland Village Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing