We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place for a weekend getaway.”
Review of Harraseeket Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harraseeket Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A nice place for a weekend getaway.”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I have a certain fondness for the Harraseeket Inn. It is about 2 hours from home and makes for a great quick weekend getaway. The past couple of stays my husband and I got a room with a fireplace. What a treat! The rooms are nicely appointed. Nothing too fancy. I love the smell of the place when you walk in. They have fires going in the lobby and common rooms. Such a treat on a cold winters day. The afternoon tea is excellent. Very relaxing. Dinner is the Maine dining room was exceptional. The server remembered us from our stay 3 years ago. They make you feel like family. The Harraseeket will always be one of my favorite places.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twinkletoes12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    685
    171
    58
    18
    15
See reviews for
217
486
25
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valhalla, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We loved our stay at the Harraseeket during the New Year's Weekend. Everything was fantastic--- the inn, the breakfast, the tavern, the afternoon tea, the Suite, and especially the service. Everyone at the inn was very accomodating. Thanks for a wonderful stay in Freeport.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane232348762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

The answer in our opinion is a resounding yes!! We have been going there from our home on the outskirts of London England for the week after Thanksgiving for the last 14 years. Why? The Inn is one of the friendliest and most comfortable establishment of its type that we have encountered in our extensive travels. Plus the shopping in Freeport is great. The Maine dining room - their flagship restaurant is excellent and good value for money - which is why we have dinner there every night of our stay. Again the staff are attentive and very friendly - we get greeted like old friends when we first appear for breakfast or dinner.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronhel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Thank you for such a wonderful review to start our New Year! We hope one day you get a chance to visit for Christmas. The town looks so beautiful and the sales right after the holidays are just amazing. Best wishes for 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, ME
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

The brunch I had here with my husband a few months ago will forever be one of the best dining experiences of my life. My in-laws recommended it very highly, but even so it surpassed all our expectations. The dining room is lovely and very upscale looking, I was concerned that the service might be a bit "stuffy", but I was so wrong. Super friendly attentive hostess and waitstaff as well as food station attendants. The offerings for this brunch were out of this world. For $25/person you get an all you can eat buffet featuring whole lobsters (split in half to make it easier to get at the meat), prime rib, chicken breasts, pork loin, super fancy egg dishes, french toast, pancakes, crepes, fruit and veggie platters, salads, soups, and to top it all off three tables worth of the most decadent desserts you can imagine. Everything I ate was fresh and delicious and obviously prepared with the utmost in care and culinary expertise. I plan to return in a few weeks to celebrate my mother's birthday. I recommend this brunch experience to everyone I talk to. You have to experience it for yourself.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angeliza2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 25 December 2011
Thank you! We're thrilled with your review of our Lobster Sunday Brunch, which has been voted Best Brunch in Maine by DownEast Magazine for the past two years. Chef Elizabeth DeFranco is real treasure, and we're lucky to have her!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarmouth,Maine
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Just had dinner at the Broad Arrow Tavern. Wonderful room but not so good food. the Clam Chowder was wonderful but the pizza had raw crust and not melted cheese. The buffalo burger tasted good but was about the size of a quarter on an oversized bun with an old tomatoe slice and wilted lettuce next to the undercooked limp fries. The service was excellent on a very busy night.

Room Tip: have a drink there and venture out to one of the many good food places nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveofYarmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 25 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, Dave. I'm glad your service was excellent on a busy night but sorry you thought the buffalo burger was too small. We pre-portion seven ounces of buffalo for each burger. This usually produces a burger that's big enough to be a challenge for most of us to tackle, and size is very important with buffalo burgers because buffalo is a very lean (and healthy) meat and the burgers need to be BIG to remain juicy, especially when cooked on a wood-fired grill. Our apologies that this wasn't big enough for you. We hope you'll give us another try in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
3.2 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
314 reviews
3.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.0 km away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 20 in Portland
1,387 reviews
2.1 km away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
6.6 km away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harraseeket Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harraseeket Inn

Property: Harraseeket Inn
Address: 162 Main St, Freeport, ME 04032
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
#1 Family Hotel in Freeport
#1 Green Hotel in Freeport
#3 Business Hotel in Freeport
Price range (per night): $379 - $473
Hotel Class:3 star — Harraseeket Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn in Freeport,Maine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Harraseeket Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harraseeket Hotel Freeport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing