We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveller rating
266
57
12
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
266
57
12
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheated floorsgift bagart galleryglass of champagnegranola barsshops and restaurantswonderful hotelmy husband and ilarge showerperfect locationwithin walking distancemiddle of townbottled waterroom keydirectly across the streetslidersfantastic stay
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 343 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2018

With only one night in Kennebunk, The Grand Hotel worked perfectly for us in exploring the area. The room was very spacious, comfortable and clean, with the bathroom having a heated floor being a plus. The staff all were very friendly and pleasant. One perk for us was that the hotel has beach cruisers for use, which were a great method to get to the beach and around town.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JLAW797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly W, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear JLAW797,
Thank you for your review. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us. Guests love all of the amenities that we offer; the beach cruisers being at the top of the list. It is so fun to explore the area on a bike! Our rooms do offer our guests a comfortable and clean space to relax after a fun day and those heated tile floors feel so nice on these cool Maine mornings! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

This place is quaint, upscale and hospitable! Will stay here again! They had wine and snacks in afternoon, light breakfast in morning. The room was beautifully decorated with a view of town toward river. Loved our stay!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Marilyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly W, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Dear Marilyn N,
Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us! Guests do love the complimentary welcome prosecco that we offer each afternoon as well as the light bites each morning. The design team did a perfect job marrying form and function in our guest rooms. We can't wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018

Having stayed in this property a couple of times when it was fairly new (almost 20 years ago), it's a bit disappointing to see what they used to provide, vs. what they now provide. It's fairly obvious that the ownership of the "Kennebunkport Resort Collection" (KRC Hotels) continues to try to monetize their investment at the expense of providing legitimate value to their customers. Each year, there is little less than the year before, yet the rates go higher and higher. For example: At one time, they had a nice cafe and bakery on the property; now, they have converted that space into two more guest rooms. Also, while you can "opt out" of daily house keeping service, for which you will receive a credit, you can spend that credit ONLY at one of the other KRC properties during the time of your stay. Understanding that profit margins on hotel rooms are exponentially high, it's difficult not to feel somewhat "abused" by this ongoing practice by the KRC ownership. Making matters worse is their near monopoly of ownership of all hotels in the area...if you want to stay in the area convenient to shops and restaurants, you are virtually forced to do business with this group.

About the room...

During our stay, just to do something different from previous visits, we opted to stay in room 202 which overlooks Western Avenue (kind of the main street going through town) and provides a good place for people watching. It has a nice deck with 2 tall Adirondack-type chairs and a table. The room itself was reasonably comfortable. However, a couple of negatives are worth noting: 1) a few bugs wandered around from time-to-time, 2) for reasons that surpass understanding, 2 remote controls are required to use the TV; one to turn it on and the second to the change the volume and channels. Then, to get to the channel guide, back to the first. I can only guess that the ownership is either too lazy or cheap to overcome this problem. (They even have a sign in the room apologizing for this inconvenience!) 3) In this room, the TV is wall mounted 90 degrees to the bed on a swing-mount that pivots away from the wall to help somewhat so you don't have crane your neck too badly if your lying on the bed watching. Why it isn't mounted on the wall just opposite the foot of the bed, remains a bit of a mystery. 4) During the summer months, "Ryan's Irish Pub", which is caddy-corner across the street, provides live, outdoor music to their customers. If you enjoy such GREAT because, if you're in any of those "front" rooms, you're going to hear it loud and clear from 7-11pm. Their amp is "aimed" right at the hotel. If that's not to your tastes, book elsewhere. 5) this room, had some interesting, incumbent noises, a "clicking" sound in the ceiling that may have been pipes expanding/contracting and, a low, sort of grumble sound that may have been part of the hotels main HVAC. The room has it's own A/C which was very effective and reasonably quiet. The bathroom, while not huge, was fully functional and had a great (though again, not large) shower.

Staff and "amenities"

The staff was always exceedingly courteous and pleasant at every turn. Younwill be welcomed with a glass of "bubbles"...NOT actual Champagne but, nonetheless, a nice gesture. Your stay entitles you to: free kayak rental at the Kennebunkport Marina (about .8 of a mile away), free use of the hotels bicycles, beach passes, morning coffee and coffee cake (usually very good), ice (they will fill an ice chest/cooler for you upon request) and free small snacks, daily bottled water, i.e., Goldfish crackers, pretzels from the "Butlers Pantry" in the hall near your room. A local, small grocery store (H.B. Provisions) is directly across the street for any other items you may wish; beer, wine, alcohol, snacks, cheeses, crackers, sundries, sandwiches, pizza, etc.

Overall

While this isn't a bad property, the tech issue with the TV remotes is idiotic and should be dealt with. Any noise issues incumbent to the property are likely the result of the fact that the property was built quickly and noise isolation wasn't necessarily a huge consideration at the time. It appears in subtle ways, to be beginning to shows signs of "use" and "less than the finest Maine craftsmanship".
Would I stay here again? Possibly, but DEFINITELY NOT in the same room. Would I recommend this hotel to friends/family? Possibly; it would depend on their tastes, budget and whether or, not they were travelling with small children. (A better choice for the latter would be The Colony Hotel)
One last note: this hotel really does NOT offer much by the way of water views. (If you really strain, you can see the nearby river.) However, with very little effort you can get to the river and ocean.

Room Tip: Quietest rooms will be away from the "main street"; Southeast side of property
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Q3788OZchristopherb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly W, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Dear Q3788OZchristopherb,
Thank you for your review. The Grand Hotel opened in 2012, so perhaps you stayed elsewhere 20 years ago? We really miss the bakery and cafe too! This was not a Kennebunkport Resort Collection property and they decided to move their location. We were sad to see them go as well. We decided to make different use of the space and provide our guests with two additional suites. The suites have been well received and provide guests with larger accommodations and the space to accommodate additional people, which our other rooms are unable to do, as they only have one bed.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the luxurious bathroom. Our guests really enjoy the heated tile floors and Waterworks bath fixtures. I do apologize for the two remotes in your room. I promise this issue has been looked into numerous times. We are unable to program one remote to this TV for some reason. Believe me, I have had numerous Maintenance Team Members try, to no avail. I assure you, it isn't because we are lazy. I do realize this is inconvenient and we are looking for alternatives to the current set-up. Our in town location is convenient for guests to be able to be within walking distance to all Kennebunkport has to offer, unfortunately, this can come with noise as well. We do not have any control over the entertainment schedule at the restaurant across the street.

Thank you for the kind words regarding our staff. They are always willing to go above and beyond for our guests to make their stay extra special. I am happy that you were able to enjoy the kayaks we are now offering, the morning "lite bites" as well as the Butler's pantry.

Thank you again for taking the time to leave this review. We can only get better by knowing the areas of improvement. We do hope you would consider staying with us in the future.

Warm Regards,
Holly White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

The Grand Hotel is small and very nice, with friendly and helpful staff. Our rooms were great, not big, but adequate, and the beds were very comfortable. The climate control worked well, and the bathrooms were very nice. Surprisingly, there was no restaurant or bar, so there was very little interaction or socializing among guests. The check-in area and lobby is an art gallery, which displayed various artists' works, but it was all rather sterile. The only food service was rather good coffee cake, yogurt, and hard-boiled eggs in the gallery in the morning. Coffee, yes, but nothing else. I suggest a continental breakfast would be a big plus, like croissants, bagels, OJ, and the like.

Stayed: August 2018
Thank RobFisher2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly W, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear RobFisher2002,
Thank you for your review. I will be sure to pass your kind words on to our staff. I am delighted you enjoyed your accommodations. The comfy bed and the cold air conditioner make for a relaxing and peaceful visit. While we don't have a restaurant, we do have a fantastic lobby filled with rotating art work, comfy couches and coffee service. If your future travels bring you back to Kennebunkport, I do hope you would consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

In May a friend and I stayed at The Grand Hotel for 3 nights. The room was surprising spacious and the bathroom had heated floors which was an unexpected nice surprise. The only reason for not giving it 5 stars is because if you arrive after 7pm there is no on on site to check you in or answer any questions. Parking is limited in front of the hotel. There is overflow parking that is not clearly marked up the hill. I assume had we checked in during normal hours we would have been given more information. I can not believe that they do not have guests arriving late on a regular basis. They also offer beer and wine for your room in the evening..again though there is no one on site after 7pm so unless you order it earlier in the day I'm not sure how that is convenient for anyone. Overall a very good experience and I would stay here again for sure.

Stayed: May 2018
Thank Vickisellshomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly W, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear Vickisellshomes,
Thank you for your review. Our guests really enjoy the heated tile floors! Sorry for the confusion with the parking. We do have additional parking along side the hotel and also in the rear. The overflow lot also provides 2 more spaces should guests need those as well. The beer and wine is a new addition this year! We will definitely be looking into how to better provide this service to our guests that wish to have a drink after 7pm. We hope we can welcome you back to the Grand in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews