We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (344)
Filter reviews
344 results
Traveller rating
237
74
24
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
237
74
24
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop deck david's restaurant admiral suite david's kpt voss water foot bridge parking spot main building boat house glass of prosecco raw bar whoopie pie small balcony gift bag awesome location keurig coffee maker nice breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 344 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2018

My fiance, Jackie, and I stayed at The Boathouse during the first leg of our Maine vacation in late July 208. called the hotel ahead of time and spoke with Tom and informed him of my plan to propose to Jackie the morning of our check-in at Acadia National Park. While nothing was promised, he mentioned he would try his best to upgrade our room to a harbor view room with balcony and arranged for champagne and chocolate covered strawberries upon arrival. It was such a wonderful surprise to learn at check-in that we received the complimentary room upgrade. Tom and the rest of the staff really took care of us during our stay. The Boathouse really is the best place to stay in Kennebunkport - centrally located, the one-site restaurant had great cocktails and food (and the metal straws did not go unnoticed!), friendly and accommodating staff and complimentary 2-hour kayak rentals just for staying at the hotel. if you "like" their page on Facebook and post it to your wall you also get 2 free cocktails during your stay at their on-site restaurant. While their rooms seem pricey, you really do get what you pay for and it's worth every penny. There really aren't too many other places in K'port that are better located or have higher customer service. Whether we had a reason to celebrate or not, staying at the Boathouse was the highlight of our trip. We are counting down the days to return to our beloved K'port!

Room tip: Book a balcony room. Watching the fog rolled in at night was magical and made for great pictures.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Hello Jackie C,

Congratulations again on your engagement. We are very happy to see you enjoyed your time with us so much. We try to make every guest's stay at our hotel as memorable as possible. This is the first year we have had the partnership with the Kennebunkport Marina and it has been a huge hit with our guests. We hope that we get the opportunity to see you again sometime in the future!

Warm regards,

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

We went to Kennybunkport for the first time and stayed at The Boathouse.
Sadly, we were sent to the Annex. First there is a different parking lot which is unattended with people constantly driving and walking through it. The parking spaces aren’t reserved and really don’t fit SUVs. We don’t have one but some jerk parked so close I couldn’t get into my car. The staff has no idea who owns which car. Then you unpack your own car because there is no valet. You’re given 2 Keys because the door you go into is always locked, figure out the key. You get in the door and are faced with a flight of steps, not a small one like 3 but a large one like 15. You get to the room walk in and it’s small. There is no decorations to speak of with terrible lighting. The walls are paneled which I haven’t seen since the 1960’s. I can only presume staying in the main building is better with nicer rooms, a nice parking lot with attendants and the restaurant.
The staff here is great from the valets to the wait staff.
The restaurant was very nice. We went once for drinks and snacks another for dinner.
The bartenders make good drinks. Lobster roll and burgers were terrific.
For dinner, the clam chowder is excellent. Steak tartare is hard to find and they do a good job.
Fried clams and oysters were delicious.
I wouldn’t stay here again unless I was guaranteed a room in the main building. You should demand it also.
We will eat there again.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank paul1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Greetings Paul1009,

Thank you for taking the time to us about your stay. We are very glad to see you enjoyed our new Boathouse Restaurant so much. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your time with the hotel as much as you and I would have liked. The rooms in our wharfside building are a 30 second walk from the main building and was completely updated in 2013 when our main building was built. They are given a beach cottage feel with our rooms in the main building having a more modern and nautical design. I invite you contact me directly next time you book and I will personally make sure that the room you book is in our main building. We would appreciate the opportunity to have you as our guest again next time you are up this way. You can contact me directly at the hotel at 207-967-8223.

Warm regards,

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

We had dinner at the Boathouse Restaurant (which is part of the Boathouse Hotel) which was excellent! The chowder was very thick, flavorful and loaded with clams. We also had the tuna poke bowl which was great and had distinct Asian flavors. As a dessert, we had the blueberry pie with blueberry ice cream. The pie was clearly homemade with a buttery and flakey crust. The blueberry filling was made using fresh blueberries. The waiting staff was friendly and professional. I would give this restaurant a 10/10, it was a great dining experience and well worth the money. We will be back!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank World T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Greetings World T,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your dining experience at the Boathouse Restaurant. The chowder and Tuna Poke bowl have been some of our favorite dishes so far this season and the homemade blueberry pie is a great way to cap off the evening. We look forward to having you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel. The location was the best! The room decor was very nice with a nautical theme and the hotel was so convenient to all the shops and restaurants! The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I would definitely stay there again!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank kasue923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Thank you kasue923 for your kind words. Its really great to hear you enjoyed your time with us so much. We are lucky to have such a great location in town and along the Kennebunk River. We will be sure to share your thoughts with our staff as we work very hard to make sure everyone has an amazing experience with us. We look forward to you staying with us again!

Warm regards,

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

We needed a place to stay one night in Kennebunk. This hotel was highly recommended on trip advisor. I'm giving it a huge thumbs up. Great location. Fabulous restaurant. Guaranteed parking. Stayed in captains suite which is a corner room giving views of sunrise and sunset with two balconies. Perfectly situated in the middle of the port. Easy walking distance to everything. Staff was great and welcoming.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Linn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Manager at The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Greetings Linn H,

We are very happy to see you enjoyed your time with us. The Captain Suite does give some amazing views both down and across the river. We hope that we see you again next time you are in the area.

Warm regards,

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews