We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Dove Cottage(Compton Bassett)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (378)
Filter reviews
378 results
Traveller rating
313
39
14
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
313
39
14
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubsunday lunchfabulous foodspoilt for choicevenisonlocal produceblack puddingpatio areafull english breakfastlittle touchesgeesemenuaccommodationpigsalesfieldroast
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 378 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

My wife and I decided to stay a night at the White horse for our Anniversary. Fabulous welcome on arrival. Staff very friendly and attentive. Food is fantastic and excellent quality. We had a 3 course meal in the evening and a wonderful breakfast the next day. Fabulous, can’t fault it.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank rcook5699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHorseCB, Manager at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

hi rcook5699,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are all really glad you enjoyed your 30th Anniversary with us and look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Best wishes

The White Horse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

Needed a place for Sunday lunch between Bristol and London. Never been to the White Horse Inn before but sold by the TripAdvisor reviews. Fantastic choice - would not fault anything. Tranquil location, traditional building, attentive friendly staff, fabulous food - particularly the roasts ! Stayed for a leisurely and relaxed few hours....if only there was somewhere this good closer to home. Definite recommendation...✔️

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHorseCB, Manager at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2018

Hi Richard L,

Thank you so much for the lovely review. It's great to know that you and your party enjoyed your visit, especially after travelling all that way.

Hope to see you all again soon.

Best wishes

The White Horse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017 via mobile

I really enoyed my stay at The White Horse Inn
The staff were very friendly
The room was nice and had this little patio in front of the window/door with table and two chairs with nice view
The breakfast was awesome with smoked salmon and scramble eggs
I highly recommend this place to stay

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
Thank Þórey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHorseCB, Manager at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Hi Porey G,

Thank you so much for the lovely review and pictures. Really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you had a great Christmas and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

The White Horse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

This was such a lovely place to stay whilst visiting Avebury and the surrounding area. My friend and I stayed for just two nights, but wished we could have stayed for longer. The breakfasts offered a good selection and were cooked to order. The staff were so attentive, the atmosphere and the area exquisite. We could not have wished for better. Our ground floor room had french windows leading to a patio area overlooking farmland with sheep and geese strolling by; so lovely!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Astroeileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHorseCB, Manager at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Hi Astroeileen,

Thank you so much for the great review. It's good to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we wish you could have stayed longer too.

Next time you are in the area we would love to see you again.

Best wishes

The White Horse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

My friends and I recently stayed two nights at this friendly village inn. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The rooms were not too large but clean and fresh, and adequate for our needs. The staff were friendly and attentive. The food was lovely, fresh and beautifully cooked. Thank you hopefully we will return

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJQ65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHorseCB, Manager at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Hi JJQ65,

Many thanks for the lovely review. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes

The White Horse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews