We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Newagen Seaside Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newagen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2017

The Inn is beautiful. Cozy, warm, inviting, all the above. The views are amazing. The resort activities are amazing. our only issue was the level of service. Dining at the Inn- for those prices- one would expect more. Tables took forever to be served, and even sitting at the bar to order a quick lunch was excruciating (had to switch my drink order as the bartender went to a binder to figure out how to make a simple cocktail.) I know staffing can be an issue, but it just seems for a place like this they need to do a better job of training and having managers onsite.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank atwagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2017

Newagen Seaside Inn is a great place to relax on a hammock to soak up the warm summer sun or hang around the fire pit and cuddle in the cool nights. For family activities, giant chess set, game room, swimming, rowing, hiking, tennis and biking. They said there is a beach within a short walking distance but it is too rocky to be a true beach. The location is at least 30 minute drive from Hwy 1. If you are taking day trips around Maine, be ready to take some extra time to drive from the Inn. We stayed on the first floor of Little Inn. Little Inn looks very new and it is very roomy. Minor issue, the walls are paper thin, I can hear the person upstairs walking across the room. Fortunately, there were no small kids jumping up and down. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast was great. We ate blueberry pancake, two eggs, fried potato, and three pieces of bacon or sausage everyday. There are the typical continental breakfast such as danish, beagles, waffles, and cereal. My biggest enjoyment was the lobster bake. I never been to a lobster bake and it is hard to find one. We fortunately found Newagen Seaside Inn and had a great lobster bake. Don't forget to reserve it if you are staying on a Tuesday night. Overall, the place was a great place to stay.

Room Tip: At Little Inn, pick end rooms if possible, you can hear people walking up stairs which are located i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank moviHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinne L, Owner at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We would love to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

This Inn is a nice mix of the old and new. We stayed in the Little Inn which was
very comfortable. The room was clean and nicely decorated. It would be nice if the grounds were better lit at night to enjoy a stroll around. The foreign exchange
students work very hard in the dining room. They seemed a little over whelmed at
times which effects the quality of service. The food itself was delicious but ordering
and getting it was just ok.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matrn87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinne L, Owner at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Thanks for the feedback. I agree that we need to do a better job with lighting. It's a challenge to find something that doesn't give the lawnmower a run for its money!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

We have been staying at and eating at the Newagen Seaside Inn for more than 25 years. It's been run by two different owners in that time. I have to admit that, about a decade ago, it was showing serious signs of needing major refurbishment. Since then, the current owner has invested big time and the Inn today is the best ever. It's simply lovely - great rooms, welcoming and comfortable public spaces, even terrific wi-fi. How modern can you get?? The location, on a point surrounded by the Atlantic on three sides, can't be beat. This is quintessential Maine. I would only caution that this paradise has at least one flaw. The service in the restaurant is highly variable. The food is good, but the service can be indifferent - and even glacially slow, as in a wait of 45-60 min for an entree to arrive. Some staff are tops. A few others seem to need education in how to do the job, even if they are only doing it for the summer. So much is GOOD about this place. I salute all the owner has done already, but also urge him to tune up the restaurant service a bit so the Inn will be even better.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SanFranciscoGuy634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinne L, Owner at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Thank you for your lovely compliments. Starting from scratch each season with a brand new restaurant staff of mostly foreign students is our ultimate challenge. We will continue to improve our training programs and strive for consistently excellent service. We hope you will keep coming back for another 25 years!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

We were at Newagen Seaside Resorts with our friends. We had an awesome time from the time we got there to the time we left. We had a lovely room. The staff was wonderful. From the desk staff, grounds staff, Doug, to the wait staff,and cleaning service. All were very helpful and pleasant. I highly recommend this resort as it is a little away from Booth Bay Harbor, but close enough to enjoy all that the town offers. The views are breathtaking.

Room Tip: Depends if you want a room, suite or cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shortyj29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinne L, Owner at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thank you so much! We are so happy the staff was able to make you feel at home - come back for more breathtaking views soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newagen
6.7 km away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
376 reviews
7.5 km away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
385 reviews
8.7 km away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
470 reviews
7.5 km away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
516 reviews
5.6 km away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newagen Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newagen Seaside Inn

Address: 60 Newagen Colony, Newagen, Southport, ME 04576-3349
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Southport > Newagen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newagen
Price Range: $214 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newagen Seaside Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frommer's Travel Guide said, "It's hard to convey the magnificence of the ocean views, maybe the best of any Inn's in Maine." The open sea, rocky cliffs and thick forest create an enchanting setting for the historic Newagen Seaside Inn, poised on the tip of Southport Island in the heart of Maine's famed Boothbay Harbor region. Make some memories at the newly restored, yet always historic, Newagen Seaside Inn, at the edge of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Newagen Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newagen Seaside Hotel Newagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing