We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Maine picture postcard view in an old school hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Newagen Seaside Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newagen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2017

My husband and I stayed for one night in mid-August. We had a deluxe room which came with an outdoor deck. The view of the harbor and ocean was spectacular. We were on the second floor near the restaurant, so that was a little noisy as we got toward evening. Our room was basic, but the bed was comfortable. Our bathroom was TINY and there was no tub. In addition, there was not television which did not bother me and my husband but other visitors might be off put by this. This place is loaded with outdoor activities which is a big draw. The Inn has an outdoor heated pool, a gym, kayaks, bikes and lawn games available for use by guests. They also have hammocks and Adirondack chairs if just sitting and relaxing is your aim. It is about twenty minutes outside of Boothbay, so if you want to be close to the action this place is not for you. The restaurant onsite was pretty good, and a full breakfast is included in your stay. I had the blueberry pancakes and was given a generous portion. Cottages are available for families, but those fill up quick, so plan accordingly.

Room Tip: The little inn provides a little more privacy. First floor rooms are accessible, but the age of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinne L, Owner at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Thanks for your comments, Tracey! You are right that one of the downsides of a historic property is small bathrooms. We hope that the complete renovation has made up for the size. Please come back for a longer stay next time so that you can take advantage of all the activities!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2017

Cousins from five states, three generations got together here in June for a very relaxed family reunion. Couldn't have worked out better. Lots of activities for adults and children. Beautiful setting. Close to Boothbay Harbor and its shops, boats and restaurants. Also near CoastL Maine Botanical Gardens.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaffc775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinne L, Owner at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

We loved being the home base for your reunion - thanks for visiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

This is the 4th. time we have visited, just a wonderful place. Great for families, close to Booth Bay and all it has to offer.
The resort has done some nice additions, to numerous to mention. Grounds are beautiful, dock in rear a good spot to watch sunrise.

Room Tip: Rear of resort, view of ocean, great sunrise. Mid-week stay
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank dnumoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinne L, Owner at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Thank you for your continued business and for letting us help you celebrate so many wonderful things - we look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

The main facility is attractive and well-located; however, our room was the absolute rock bottom of the barrel. Our "sea view" room overlooked the roof of the patio dining, the curtain lining was torn and waterstained, the closet had a big hole cut in the wall, the plaster was falling off the wall, the ceiling was waterstained, the bathroom was so small that it competed with airline bathrooms with no room to function normally. The room had no clock, no radio, no tv, no ceiling light. It was right above the bar so we had loud music until the bar shut down. What a disappointing stay at a facility that should have left us feeling good about returning--which we certainly have no plans to do based on this experience!

Room Tip: Avoid the main building; call for information.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinne L, Owner at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Thank you for your feedback, Linda. We take it all to heart. You are correct that you are able to see a small portion of the roof from your room. That portion, however, does not impede the view of the ocean in any way. That room's view is a spectacular expanse of the back lawn and the cove. We are a historic property and, with that charm, often comes small bathrooms. Because there is no way for us to physically enlarge the bathrooms, we hope we have made up for that by completely renovating and modernizing them. Your confirmation letter clearly states that the rooms in the Main Inn have no TVs so I hope that didn't catch you off guard. Being on the tip of an island means that radio reception is iffy at best, and while most of our guests use their cell phone for an alarm, we do have alarm clocks available at the desk for guests that request them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

We had a wonderful three night visit to this beautifully remodeled historic seaside inn! I highly recommend a visit. The staff took terrific care of us during our stay.
It will be on my list for a potential place to revisit in years to come.
I truly enjoyed gazing at the lovely cove outside of the curved windows during our breakfast mealtime. We enjoyed several outings recommend by some of the staff members.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gloriak742017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinne L, Owner at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Thank you for allowing us to help you celebrate such a momentous occasion! We look forward to having you join us for many more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newagen
6.7 km away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
376 reviews
7.5 km away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
385 reviews
8.7 km away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
470 reviews
7.5 km away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
516 reviews
5.6 km away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newagen Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newagen Seaside Inn

Address: 60 Newagen Colony, Newagen, Southport, ME 04576-3349
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Southport > Newagen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newagen
Price Range: $214 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newagen Seaside Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frommer's Travel Guide said, "It's hard to convey the magnificence of the ocean views, maybe the best of any Inn's in Maine." The open sea, rocky cliffs and thick forest create an enchanting setting for the historic Newagen Seaside Inn, poised on the tip of Southport Island in the heart of Maine's famed Boothbay Harbor region. Make some memories at the newly restored, yet always historic, Newagen Seaside Inn, at the edge of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Newagen Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newagen Seaside Hotel Newagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing