We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Size Sandwiches on Homemade Bread”

Colonel's Restaurant and Bakery
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 5 August 2017

While wandering around downtown Northeast Harbor my mom and I were looking for a good place to have some lunch. We found this little treasure and enjoyed it thoroughly! The staff was very pleasant and helped each other out and the food was really good too. We both had a glass of sangria which was quite tasty and refreshing on a hot summer day and blt's on their fresh baked anadama bread which is one of our faves but not easy to find in most restaurants. We asked for demi salads instead of fries to give it a little bit of healthiness and were accommodated very easily. The only issue there was we were not informed upfront that we would pay extra for the salads (we didn't see that until we got our bill). Overall this was a great dining experience!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

My hubby and I both had the lobster melt special. You had a choice of bread and it came with a delicious cream base fish chowder. The melt had lots of lobster and cheese and was definitely worth the ride out to Northeast Harbor!

Thank uscfan1325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

had the special for the night crab melt Hardly any crab or cheese but the bakery bread was good Nothing on the plate not even a pickle. others had hamburgers they got frozen hamburger patties like McDonalds They did get a pickle and a slice of tomato and lettuce. Blueberry pie was too starchy with cornstarch and served with a dab of ice-cream and a big blob of reddi whip We wanted pie al a mode not whipped cream. Im told the bakery is this place's bet feature. Best thing was we could walk there from the hotel

2  Thank sandy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kelree1821, Manager at Colonel's Restaurant and Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

I am concerned about your review. We do not serve "redi-whip" only Shains of Maine ice cream. I'm at a loss as you seem to like to compare restaurants to McDonalds in other reviews you have written. If your meal was not up to par, you should let your Server know immediately. Please visit us again and perhaps we can remedy the situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

We stay in Bar Harbor, but always come to Northeast area for hiking and stop at Colonel's for a lunch break. The food is fresh and delicious. We had nachos and they were very flavorful, plenty of chili and cheese, fresh tomatoes and lettuce. The seafood pizza is very good, the crust is outstanding, nice and light. Service is always good and quick.

Thank kimberly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kelree1821, Manager at Colonel's Restaurant and Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Happy to hear you visit us over here in Northeast Harbor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

The Colonel's is a great restaurant for families. We had five hungry people. The restaurant seated us on the deck. The waitstaff was very friendly and attentive. My fish chowder was delicious and I really enjoyed my salmon too. It was nice to find a casual restaurant with quality food, a large menu with a lot of choices, and reasonable prices.

We actually visited twice in one day, as I bought a loaf of white bread from their bakery in the morning, and we returned for dinner that night.

Thank Rrbnss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kelree1821, Manager at Colonel's Restaurant and Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Thank you for stopping by..twice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Colonel's Restaurant and Bakery also viewed

Northeast Harbor, Mount Desert
Northeast Harbor, Mount Desert
 
Northeast Harbor, Mount Desert
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Northeast Harbor, Mount Desert
 

Been to Colonel's Restaurant and Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing