We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a wonderful 6 year anniversary dinner at Jonathans”

Jonathan's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Jonathan's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 101 Restaurants in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Main Street
Transit: Jonathan's is on the Ogunquit Trolley Route!
Description: Casual, Fine Dining at its best! Serving the local and traveling public for nearly four decades! Focus on local, farm grown products from Jonathan's farm in South Berwick, Maine and using local seafood. We are a full service restaurant for families, couples, friends, parties, weddings, conferences and concerts!
Reviewed 26 July 2015

We arrived A half hour early for our reservation and they sat us at our table right away.a very nice table beside the window with the garden view.The waitress was wonderful,the food was excellent.It was a very nice experience for us.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max P, Manager at Jonathan's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2016

Thanks for choosing Jonathan'a for your special occasion. We hope we get to see you for many anniversaries to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (777)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

302 - 306 of 777 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2015

Jonathans has always been one of our favorite restaurants in the past and grows even more special each year.
Drinks are delicious and perfectly mixed, service is impeccable without being overly ostentatious, and really know the menu when asked a question regarding ingredients.
Delicious warm homemade bread begins your dining experience, then a small sample of homemade soup arrives in a sweet little demitasse sized cup, compliments of the praise-worthy chef. Seriously! Never would I have bet that I'd fall in love with "zucchini/kale soup", but I would have gladly put in a double order if scallops weren't soon arriving on my horizon.
The scallops. Perfect, buttery crumb topping, done to perfection. Sides of mix veggie strips and yummy potatoes on the side could not have been better. To make this even better was the complimentary Amaretto shot in a small snifter and chocolate mousse.
I'm still smiling from the experience. Standing "O" Jonathan's and staff!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank soukey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max P, Manager at Jonathan's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2016

Thanks for the great feedback. Glad you enjoyed all the food so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2015

Jonathan's is a great restaurant, but they shut down early. We went in for a cocktail about a half hour before closing, and although they had lots of staff, they didn't seem like they wanted us to be there. Had a similar experience at the bar last year. Lots of staff but they acted like they wanted us to leave.

1  Thank coughlan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max P, Manager at Jonathan's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2016

Very sorry to hear this, we keep our bar open until the last guest's leave and are very sorry this happened. It was not our intention to make you feel like we didn't want you in, please try us another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2015

I went there on July 10th, the hostess was very friendly and seated us right away. Our waitress Louise came over was very friendly and knowledgeable on the menu as well as the nightly specials. The service was great and our apps came out hot and prompt. I had the ribeye steak that was cooked to my liking and my wife had the twin lobster special and was very pleased. Louise was always back checking on us, Great job Louise! After paying the bill ( which i might add the prices were very reasonable ) we were on our way out when randomly a member of the wait staff named Alex asked how was everything, I said thank you for asking and all was great. Alex good job on approaching us with your interest on how our night went. Now one draw back and I believe the blame goes with management, I had to ask for water and think water should be a given when the customer is seated, other than that KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max P, Manager at Jonathan's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2016

Thank you for the detailed review, we're glad you enjoyed the service and food. Also thank you for the feedback on our water service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2015

We were treated well! The restaurant is clean and has interesting decor. The manager was kind and greeted us. The food was very reasonable and delicious. We did not feel rushed and while the price of entries was reasonable, we felt it was fine dining due to the ambiance and service and food presentation!

Thank 722cheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max P, Manager at Jonathan's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2016

Thank you for the feedback, glad to hear you enjoyed the service, food, decor & ambiance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jonathan's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Jonathan's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing