We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fun and food at the Hibachi Grill for the whole family.”
Review of Kon Asian Bistro

Kon Asian Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Kon Asian Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #141 of 634 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Whether you’re planning a fun family meal, a romantic date night, or after-work drinks with friends and coworkers, Kon Asian Bistro is the place to be. Since we opened our doors in 2009, we’ve been known for serving a wide-ranging menu of authentic Asian cuisines, from Japanese sushi to traditional Chinese dishes and more. Enjoy dinner and a show as our skilled hibachi chefs whip up an elegant meal right at your table, or visit our lively bar during happy hour and unwind with us.
Reviewed 19 June 2018

We went there for Father's Day with my wife, son and family. We had an early reservation and were seated immediately. We all ordered from the Hibachi Menu and everything was made up right in front of us just the way we had ordered it. The kids had fun with the chef and he entertained them very well while preparing our meals. The meals were prepared perfectly and to everyone's satisfaction.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Amberjack03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C, Owner at Kon Asian Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

This is so wonderful to see, Amber! From the great service to the meals that everybody loved, I truly appreciated reading these kind words. Thanks so much for sharing your story -- we can't wait to have you all back again real soon!

Sincerely,
Chris Chan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

We went for Mother’s Day. The food was excellent.Loved watching the way they chop and cook on the open large skillets

Thank grandma1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C, Owner at Kon Asian Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

I'm so happy to know that you had such a lovely time here! Thanks for sharing your story -- we can't wait to see you again. -Chris Chan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Visited with a group of 7 for a birthday. I have never been to a Hibachi place before.
It was super noisy, and the seating precludes any conversation except for the people seated on your sides.
Hey...it is what it is. Great service, no complaints there. The food was average at best......over-priced stir-fry.
The "Chef" seemed to go through the perfunctory motions of whatever they are supposed to do. All in all...no negatives anywhere, just nothing special.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stephen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C, Owner at Kon Asian Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

It's nice to know that you had a good time with us, Stephen, although i'm sorry if you weren't wowed a bit more overall. We definitely want to make sure that every part of your experience is top-notch, and that definitely goes for the food. Our staff loves creating dishes that can truly stand out among anything else you've ever had, and I hope we get the chance to welcome you back again sometime to show you just that.

Sincerely,
Chris Chan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

We had an excellent dinner. We were well pleased. Service was prompt and capable.
It is always wonderful to find consistency.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank momoboys_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C, Owner at Kon Asian Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Thanks for sharing your story -- we can't wait to have you back again soon for more great times!

All the best,
Chris Chan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

Busy place, glad we made reservations. The table height around the grill was a little high, are was clean and bright. Drink delivery was a little slow, but bar was packed also.
The chef at our table was fun, and it was lively, but quick. Enjoyed the birthday recognition with singing, ice cream and a fire stick.
Good food, nice night!

Thank Alina-VinnieTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C, Owner at Kon Asian Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

I'm so glad that you had such an amazing time here, Alina and Vinnie! It's a true honor that we could be part of the birthday celebrations, and I'll be sure to let the rest of our staff know what a great job they did. Thanks for everything -- we can't wait to see you all again!

Sincerely,
Chris Chan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kon Asian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing