We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must pop in to the store and collections”

Maine Historical Society
Ranked #42 of 163 things to do in Portland
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A growing museum, incomparable library and statewide educational resource, we are located in the heart of Portland’s downtown cultural district. Founded in 1822, the Maine Historical Society (MHS) is the third oldest state historical society in the United States! Our one–acre campus is situated in downtown Portland, across from Monument Square. MHS's campus is comprised of the Wadsworth–Longfellow House and Longfellow Garden, the Maine Historical Society Museum and Store, and the MHS Research Library. We also manage Maine's digital museum: Maine Memory Network. Winter Opening Hours (Oct-May) Gallery + Store: Tues-Sat 10am-5pm Longfellow House: Closed until May 1, 2018 Longfellow Garden: Closed until May 1, 2018 Brown Library: Wed-Sat 10am-4pm Administrative Offices: Mon-Fri 9am-5pm
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Very clever folks are working here. The exhibits are brilliant and well presented and enjoyed. The book shop is fascinating and worthy your browsing. The historic Longfellow House just next door. Job well done everyone involved

Thank CS1Portland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaineHistoricalSoc, Public Relations Manager at Maine Historical Society, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Thank you so much for your review! Glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and we are thrilled that you browsed our museum store and saw some great items. We appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"longfellow house"
in 18 reviews
"gift shop"
in 7 reviews
"an amazing tour guide"
in 2 reviews
"subject matter"
in 2 reviews
"house tour"
in 2 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 3 reviews
"walking tour"
in 2 reviews
"few hours"
in 2 reviews
"maine"
in 36 reviews
"history"
in 23 reviews
"museum"
in 17 reviews
"henry"
in 3 reviews
"industry"
in 2 reviews
"artists"
in 3 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

Great Place To Visit, The Longfellow House Next Door Is Awesome. The Presentations They Put On Are Great and Very Informative, They Also Do Historical Walks Around Portland.

Thank Justlikehavingfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Unfortunately, this has people working within the building, so you don't really feel comfortable to spend a lot of time here. However, it is located next to the wadsworth-longfellow house so it is worth a peak inside. It is a beautiful building and wonderfully preserved.

Thank Cyndi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaineHistoricalSoc, Public Relations Manager at Maine Historical Society, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Hi Cyndi -Thanks so much for your review, we appreciate it!

I'm curious - which building are you referring to not feeling comfortable spending time in? The museum building or the Longfellow House? We want to ensure our guests have an excellent experience in all buildings on our campus, so any feedback will assist us in that goal. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

We took a 90 minute walking tour on Friday afternoon. The guide - a professor at a local university - was both a friendly guide and a well-informed and experienced presenter. We enjoyed Professor Voyer's well-organized and informative talk. He answered all our questions and was an engaging and entertaining speaker. I would definitely recommend doing the tour if you visit Portland.

Thank RCP012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2017

We enjoyed the window teaser of an exhibit on trade posters and spent some time in their shop as well as in the Longfellow house. Trade posters are clever and fun and the shop is small, but with a very well chosen selection of stock. Lots of books, postcards and mugs, etc.

Thank Bi-coaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maine Historical Society also viewed

 

Been to Maine Historical Society? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing