We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Informative and tons of fun!

One of the best parts of our trip! Fun, informative, very laid back, easy to book and find, etc... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Chris C
,
Peachtree City, United States
Bucket List Item

Excellent. Informative, fun, interesting and definitely a bucket list item. Great Capt. and... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
lmw104
,
Sea Girt, New Jersey
via mobile
Read all 750 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Portland
from US$35.00
More Info
from US$45.00
More Info
from US$39.95
More Info
from US$47.00
More Info
Reviews (750)
Filter reviews
750 results
Traveller rating
689
52
5
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
689
52
5
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lobster next door highlight of our trip captain and crew great trip fun experience visiting portland new england highly recommend this tour traps bait measures apron boat measuring cages pots
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 750 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was one of the coolest things we have ever done. Our family of 4 (4 and 6 y.o) had so much fun and learned a ton!

Kids (and adults!) got to bait the lobster traps and drop them in. Our trip ended up getting about 4 or 5 lobsters. We learned about how to tell the difference between male and female lobsters, and some of the rules and regulations on keeping them.

Captain Tom and the crew were engaging and helpful. We were also able to see tons of seals :)

After- you can buy the lobsters you caught (or additional ones) at boat prices, and then bring them to Portland Lobster Co to be cooked up. So awesome to see the process from start to finish. Fun for all of us

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank W8375HUkelseys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were a group of 8 with an 8 year old and a 10 year old along with 15 and 16 year old girls and everyone loved this experience. It lasted an hour and a half and honestly anything longer is kind of paying to work for the lobster boat. It was informative and cool as heck. I can’t say one bad thing about it. Book this excursion and work it into your visit to Portland Maine.

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank OldLawHog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

DO IT

Book ahead of time and just do it. Great time was had by all. There were 10 on board plus 3 staff.

Rain was forecast but did hold off for us which was nice but we’d made up minds to do it rain or shine.

Nice education on lobstering and lots of opportunity to try your hand at baiting, setting, and releasing traps.

Was sad that we had eaten a big breakfast so didn’t purchase a lobster to go.

Well worth the money, and got some sight seeing in as well. We saw some forts, light houses and islands.

Date of experience: July 2021
1  Thank Heartstotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After decades of coming to Portland, Kennebunk, and other areas along the southern coast of Maine, we booked a mid-day trip with Lucky Catch Cruises on a stunning late-June Thursday. I honestly cannot think of a better way to enjoy being on the water in Casco Bay - listening to Captain Tom and his crew educate us about lobsters, and the coastal fisheries, and the wonderful ecosystem literally a stone's throw from my family's home. Writing this a couple of hours after our trip, my face still hurts from smiling so much, my belly aches from laughing so much, my hands stink of herring (lobster bait!), and my lord am I hungry for a lobster roll. Do not miss out on Lucky Catch - get out with them and make that highlight of your time in Portland!!!

Date of experience: June 2021
Thank ColoradoSweater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We loved everything about this place. The boat , the staff the experience, we still wear all our lucky catch gear

Date of experience: June 2021
Thank Ckl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews