We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Clarion Hotel(Portland)
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$337
US$319
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$339
US$303
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$209
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Plaza by Wyndham Portland(Portland)(Great Value!)
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$305
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Pomegranate Inn(Portland)
US$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,211)
Filter reviews
1,211 results
Traveller rating
399
516
199
63
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
399
516
199
63
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbay viewold portcivic centerunderground parkingwithin walking distancefree shuttleshuttle serviceart museumkeurig coffee makerfront desk staffcasco baywharf areaindoor poolhotel restauranthotel shuttlefew blockscongress street
Filter
Updating list...
779 - 784 of 1,211 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2012

My wife and I were in Portland and stayed here for 2 days. Here is a list of the positives and negatives.
The good - This hotel is definitely the cheapest of the hotels within walking distance of the commercial area. The hotel is set a few blocks from the main commercial area but the area is safe to walk around. We walked back from Commercial Street after midnight each night and I felt safe. The hotel is clean and the rooms are modern. The hotel offers free internet and parking. The room has a nice sized flat screen with free HBO, showtime and on-demand movies. My room had a refrigerator, microwave and a small sitting area. The hotel has a place to eat breakfast and a bar / lounge. The hotel has an indoor pool and fitness area although we didn't use either. The hotel offers a shuttle service but we didn't use it.
The bad - There really isn't any "bad" so I'm listing nit-picky things that I noticed. I'm 6 ft 4 in and the bathroom seems to be set up for someone under 6 foot. If you have anything but a compact car, it will not fit in the parking lot. I think if I drove my truck to this hotel I would have paid to park it in the lot across the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a king bed, you will get a larger room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeoGiantPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

...as long as you don't drive a huge land barge, that is, because the free parking spaces in the hotel garage are on the tight side of narrow, even for our Honda Fit. If the garage is almost full, maneuvering into a space with cars on either side can be a case of threading the needle.
Otherwise, no complaints whatsoever. The hotel is in a perfect location, has an efficient, friendly staff and nice amenities. For coffee hounds, that includes a Keurig coffeemaker and a supply of K-cups in each room.
Oh yeah, and a big flat screen teevee, if that's of interest, comfortable bed with soft pillows and a decent hairdryer that's not bolted to the wall. There's a fitness center, too, for whoever has the energy after exploring Portland.
It was our second stay here with the expectation of returning in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank courage_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Room was clean, staff was friendly and helpful. Staff did seem reluctant to 'allow' us to utilize the shuttle - not sure if this was due to the wedding that day or what. Desk clerk was familiar with the area and was able to provide accurate directions to attractions. If you don't mind walking a little, this hotel can save you some money and you can walk anyplace in the downtown in less than 15 minutes.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilbffp101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We have stayed at this Holiday on numerous occasions - last trip in August was sadly probably our last trip there. Rooms seem to have shrunk, mattresses are so soft you feel as if you are going to sink in them - bathrooms small and sink layout lacks room for toiletris as the coffee maker is permanently attached. While the lobby areas are spacious and clean the rooms are clean but tiny - and that was for a water view with king bed, upgrade. Parking spaces have been narrowed and make it difficult for two people to get in and out of their cars. Bar drink prices are over priced and don't seem to have a full shot in them.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamabear5697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

We would like to assure the guest that we have not changed the size of our rooms or our parking spaces in our garage. There are larger rooms on the corners of the building with seating areas. Perhaps that is the room type the guest had been used to. We're terribly sorry to hear of the disappointment, and would be more than pleased to have the opportunity to discuss it personally if the respondent would call the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed here for one night in August and found the location to be ideal. Our room offered a beautiful view of the bay. Everything of interest was within walking distance. The Portland Museum of Art was a block from the hotel as was Ribolitta's, the restaurant we visited. Breakfast at the hotel was disappointing. Free parking was a huge plus!

Be aware that the hotel is not waterfront but a few blocks into the city.

Room Tip: Bay view is worth the extra price!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hawkeye1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews