We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Wiscasset Woods Lodge(Wiscasset)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$226
US$204
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
US$129
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Daniel(Brunswick)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$206
US$179
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelers Inn(Brunswick)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveller rating
4
3
1
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
3
1
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 11 of 11 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My wife and I have gone to this sauna about 5 times and enjoyed it for what we thought it was, just a sauna at which we could relax unmolested. Our most recent experience was that of going into the public pool area to cool down after a spell in the sauna and being visually assaulted by a man providing cunnilingus to his lady friend at poolside. When we complained it was stopped however the person running the sauna seemed surprised that this was the first we had seen of explicit sexual behaviour there. He further admitted that this was not an uncommon practice and in fact that there was a "private room" at the back of the sauna that was frequented by the clientelle. We were both creeped out and decided to leave immediately, we won't return. Later we found out about the concern of video cameras and were further repulsed. My biggest issue is that this is a place with ulterior motives that are not advertised, and leaves people such as my wife and I feeling taken advantage of, or made a fool of, or visually harrassed,..I'm not sure how to really put it.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
62  Thank KIRK S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I understand what "clothing optional" means. But somehow the pornographic magazines all over the Inn really bothered me. Being naked in the sauna, the pool, the sunning area? Of course! It was lovely! I participated and enjoyed it. But when we saw several Playboy magazines around the house and some gay porn in our room, it really bothered me. Where the men checking me out? I was so uncomfortable after that.

The place is really run down. Their idea of a continental breakfast is not the same as mine. I would have gone back just for the sauna, pool and sunning yard, but not after I saw all the porn.

They have what I assumed were security cameras all over but now I'm wondering if they were watching us for some disgusting reason.

I will never go back..

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
46  Thank AnnChristine_125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Just spent the night at Richmond Sauna with two friends, and it was a blast! The sauna facilities are spacious - they have private and communal saunas, a nice big hot tub, and a big heated indoor pool in a very kitschy room (think plants and fake grass). There's also a large outdoor area for sunning.

Our hosts couldn't have been nicer - very welcoming and accomodating, from the tour when we arrived, to the coffee and continental breakfast in the morning. We stayed in the "efficiency apartment" because there were three of us - our accomodations included a large pull-out futon in the living room, a kitchenette w microwave and fridge, a seperate bedroom with a large comfy bed, prviate bathroom, and A/C (great for summer heat). We even had our own private entrance!

The other guests were super nice, and the whole vibe was very relaxed and comfortable. Richmond Sauna IS clothing optional - VERY clothing optional. You will see a lot of nudity, but its a very comfortable place, and if you're okay with some nudie bits you will guaranteed have a very liberating, relaxing and rejuvinating experience! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank SmartyPantsTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Great place tucked away in Maine. Awesome saunas, lots of fun people, very few clothes. Hosts are great, B&B is very interesting, kind of an old Captains house. Rooms are private but the saunas and pool/hot tub are VERY public! Great clothing optional spot!

Room Tip: ask for the 2 room suite
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
95  Thank ncountrygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews