We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum for oysters ... and a perfect view ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Black Point Inn Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

We stopped in last minute for a late afternoon of oysters and cocktails. Great food, great beachy atmosphere, a perfect end to a perfect summer day! Highly recommend going here for a meal. Good to go off hours if you don't want to wait, it gets busy here.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Susesuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandacePorta, General Manager at Black Point Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Hello Susesuse!
Thank you so much for your kind review! We couldn't agree more that cocktails and oysters in our restaurant is the perfect end to a summer day. We're so pleased that you were able to take the time to enjoy a visit. Hopefully we'll see you again this season. The fall is quite cozy as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

Breath taking view and personable staff. Food is average. The hotel is full of old Maine charm. If you are looking for an authentic "Maine experience " the Black Point Inn will not disappoint. Take a walk along the beach after your meal. It's beautiful.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank LRE4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandacePorta, General Manager at Black Point Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Hello LRE4Life,
Thank you for you review. We're so glad you enjoyed the staff and view during your most recent visit. We agree, the Inn certainly has "old Maine charm", as its' history of almost 140 years is very present in the every day here. Please do come see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

Intimate cocktail hour overlooking sand beaches in tastefully decorated room. White wicker decor suited the space by the sea. The celebration then moved to a private dining room where a plated dinner, diner's choice was expertly served. Exceptional service, friendly atmosphere and delicious food and drinks. The inn is a 'real find', easily accessible from nearby Portland.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank mcemallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandacePorta, General Manager at Black Point Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Hello MceMallon,
Thank you so much for your review! We loved being a part of such an important day for you. Hosting wedding receptions is an honor for us. We're so pleased that everything was as perfect as you were hoping. Congratulations on your marriage! We hope we'll see you around the Inn again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

We were in the area for a weekend and stopped into Black Point Inn several times for food and refreshment. Each time, we were greeted warmly, seated quickly and served promptly. The food was terrific--had to delay our trip home so that we could return for more lobster rolls. The portions were ample and the prices were fair. Job well done!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank TravelPro05408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPI-Guest-Services, Front Office Manager at Black Point Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Thank you TravelPro05408 for the kind words! We're so glad you were able to stop in multiple times during your visit to the area and really enjoy the Inn. We will pass your praise onto the chef, kitchen, and restaurant teams to keep up the good work. Hopefully you'll make it back for another lobster roll before too long!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

My wife and I were treated with outstanding hospitality and charm. The Black Point Inn
is located south of the bustle of US1 and its grounds are immaculate.
We were attending an awards banquet and the management and staff handled the 100 person event with ease.
Our room had a beautiful view and we ended our stay with a terrific breakfast on the covered porch. Thank you and the Black Point Inn is a great option for anyone traveling up or down the Maine coast.

Room Tip: get an ocean or beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPI-Guest-Services, Front Office Manager at Black Point Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Lee S, thank you so much for the wonderful review! We were glad to have you for the awards dinner as well as a guest of the Inn! Hopefully we will see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
4.2 km away
Higgins Beach Inn
Higgins Beach Inn
#4 of 13 in Scarborough
43 reviews
10.2 km away
Candlewood Suites Portland - Scarborough
10.7 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 km away
Inn At Diamond Cove
Inn At Diamond Cove
#12 of 21 in Portland
117 reviews
14.4 km away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,533 reviews
10.7 km away
Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Point Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Point Inn Resort

Address: 510 Black Point Rd, Scarborough, ME 04074-8624
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: $383 - $680 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Point Inn Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1878 and surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean on three sides, with 18 holes of links golf, hiking and running trails (including an Oceanside Cliff Walk past the studio of renowned Prouts Neck painter Winslow Homer), literally miles of sandy beaches, tennis, a swimming pool and beach club, Black Point Inn is legendary for its location, guest facilities, and unpretentious downeast hospitality. Prepare to be captivated by the unhurried pace, gracious charm, and attentive service of Maine's most beautiful and historic oceanfront Inn and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Black Point Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Point Hotel Scarborough
Black Point Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing