We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super food!”
Review of El Rayo Taqueria

El Rayo Taqueria
Ranked #43 of 95 Restaurants in Scarborough
Price range: US$11 - US$30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Mexican food made with fresh ingredients and locally sourced whenever possible. Our recipes come from several regions in Mexico including Yucatan, Oaxaca, and Sonora. Almost everything on our menu is made entirely from scratch.
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

Great margaritas and food! Would highly recommend . Kid friendly , good service !
Lots on their menu to choose from. You have to get their guacamole !

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank 851charissag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

We stopped here for dinner. Clean, fun and casual. Has bar with tv's outside and inside dining. Servers happy and helpful. Food was good. Frisbees for kids. In strip mall so plenty of parking.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Judith484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

We had a appointment in Scarborough at 2 PM, so we made the time to stop in at El Rayo. I had been to the one in Portland, and liked it, so I really wanted to try this one. I was not disappointed. My wife, who would not choose Mexican food as a first or second choice, went along to be nice. What sets El Rayo off from other run of the mill Mexican restaurants? Well, for one, they serve chilaquiles... a fairly common staple in many Mexican homes. Like a corn chip casserole, it's comfort food. And they served it with Swiss card and shredded pork. Yum! Muy Sabroso!

Since I know my wife's adverse reaction to spicy food, I recommended the fried scallop burrito. She was very positively impressed. The scallops were small, but tasty, and the rice was sauced with lime and cilantro. VERY good!

Yes, the freshness is apparent, and I love the tacky, colorful decor.

Their brunch specials look awesome, but we didn't order any.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank philbD4221DU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Not a bad place. Food was tasty and the wait staff was very attentive. I would recommend El Rayo for a quick bite to eat.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

El Rayo provides a colorful mix of flavors surrounded by blandness. This renovated Cumbys has great fish tacos, pork quesadillas and a wide variety of tequila concoctions.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank vtbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Rayo Taqueria also viewed

 

Been to El Rayo Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing