We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard work rewarded”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Captain A. V. Nickels Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Searsport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2012

This is one of the best restored B&B's and restuarant combinations I have ever visited and I have visited and stayed in a lot of them around our country. Every detail has been attended to and great thought put into the furniture and finishes. It shows well from the street and has a wonderful view of the water from the bar. We did not get to stay here because we were already registered elsewhere, but chose it as our choice for our anniversary diner with friends.The owners,Mike and Brenda, were there in person and every detail from the wine to the food was presented with a flair.We had the three course menu.All four of the choices-Pan seared Scallops-Salmon with blueberrylime chutney-Duc with a Cherry-Syrah reduction-and Champagne chicken were excellent in portion size taste and presentation. The wine list was fairly priced and they have a full bar.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nickelsinnkeeper, Owner at Captain A. V. Nickels Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Dear Customers and Friends, we have relished your comments and feedback for our Captain A.V. Nickels Inn in 2012. You have reflected that our hearts are very much in what we and the restoration of this beautiful old home. So, I wanted to let you all know that we have just been recognized in this week's copy of Yankee Magazine as the Editors Choice for Best Restored Sea Captain's Home. I'm sure your reviews have helped to make that happen. We appreciate your patronage and support and hope to see you all again this season. Mike and Brenda Liston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 80 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2012

We have not stayed at this B&B since the new owners completed their renovations a couple of years ago but we have enjoyed their restaurant several times and have stopped in for tapas and cocktails. It is a beautiful old sea captain's house in a beautiful location. We enjoyed our New Year's Eve dinner there last year - great food and service - perfect for a low-key celebration with my 80 year old mom. I just wish they had some sort of live music that night (jazz or classical maybe?) We returned several times during the summer and were not disappointed. The tapas menu is really good and the portions are sized for sharing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Visitor_from_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We were just passing through, but made this our stop due to a recommendation of a friend, who had also been passing through this past summer. That night, instead of dining in their formal dining room, we opted for the bar where tapas style bar food was served. The bar area, so quaint/charming was chock full of locals. We just kept ordering and it was all so wonderful, not your traditional tapas bar food, but very original.

But, the next morning was the very, very best -- their breakfast. I have had breakfasts almost all over the world, but this was the very best. I will not do it justice as I explain it, but their bacon is no ordinary bacon. I've never had bacon that tasted this extra-ordinarily good. As best as I could determine from them (the owners), they make their own rub and then slowly cook the bacon. Wow! No way really to describe. In addition to a delicious baked egg dish, they then served something like a french toast souffle with maple syrup. Hard to describe, but oh my gosh, so delicious.

They really should compile their recipes in a book; but then, it would not be a secret.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jm5445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

One of the best B&B I've ever had the pleasure to stay in. The personal attention that the owners pay to each guest sets them apart from any other proprietors. The breakfast included in the stay is worth staying there alone!

Room Tip: I don't think it matters as each room represents a different port of call. They have their own p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

When Brenda and Mike found out we were celebrating a special occasion (my husband’s birthday) by dining at the Captain A.V. Nickels, they offered up their private dining option. When Mike seated us in a cozy, yet elegantly-appointed private room tucked just off the kitchen, we knew we were in for a wonderful evening. Nothing had been left to chance, from the beautifully laid table full of china, silver and crystal, to the roses and soft music, it was the perfect spot for a romantic dinner just for two. The excellent food only added to the beautiful setting. Served by a charming young waiter, we dined on salads dressed with Brenda’s own personal salad dressing. These were followed spectacularly by duck in a decadent cherry sauce and a massive stuffed pork chop with a fabulous sherry cream reduction. Both dishes were appropriately accompanied with fresh vegetables lightly dressed with just salt,pepper and lemon juice. To the delight of these foodies, the chef visited with us three times during the evening providing us with his thoughts on ordering and preparation. For our special occasion, a small cappuccino cake with candle was served up, but the true dessert highlight was the most delicious mocha ice cream ever. It is a homemade concoction from son and Tapas bartender, Mark. We were lucky enough to get the last of this batch.

The Capt. A. V. Nickels is a beautifully restored B & B with excellent dining, but their true treasure might be their owners attention to putting it all together. This experience is one we are glad we didn’t miss.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Searsport
6.0 km away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
5.4 km away
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
5.4 km away
Seascape Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Belfast Harbor Inn
Belfast Harbor Inn
#5 of 8 in Belfast
227 reviews
0.1 km away
Homeport Inn
Homeport Inn
#2 of 4 in Searsport
82 reviews
40.2 km away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain A. V. Nickels Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain A. V. Nickels Inn

Address: 127 E Main St, Searsport, ME 04974
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Searsport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Searsport
Price Range: $293 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain A. V. Nickels Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Captain A.V. Nickels Inn offers luxury accommodations in an historic setting. The Inn, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, was built in 1874 by Captain Nickels as a gift to his bride and remains almost the way he built it...just updated for todays conveniences. It is a breathtaking building sitting on 3 meandering acres directly on the island-studded Penobscot Bay about halfway between the beautiful towns of Camden and Bar Harbor. The Inn is often cited as one of the most photographed inns on the Maine coast and "creates a memory" for each guest who is treated to a level of luxury and attention to detail usually only seen in exclusive small hotels or inns in Europe. All rooms are furnished with European and American antiques, art, china and decorative touches creating the sophisticated air of a fine country home. Roaring fires on cool evenings, wicker on the lovely front porch, and lawn furniture by the water adds ambiance that invites guests to relax a while and enjoy the beautiful views from expansive windows or from the large decks overlooking the property. The bar is well stocked with a large selection of wines and local beers. Our bartender is always ready to mix our signature cocktails. Common areas include two sitting rooms, a library, a lounge, a dining room, a breakfast conservatory, a ballroom, and a loggia with views to the Bay. Evening wine and cheese is served to all guests. After having slept in spacious rooms beautifully furnished with antiques and sumptuous beds, overnight guests awake to the site of the sunrise across the bay and will enjoy a gourmet breakfast in the Inn's sunlit breakfast conservatory. Mimosa's always available on request. The murmur of waves from the Bay and wonderful sea air enhance the restful atmosphere. All rooms have private baths, flat screen TVs, wireless internet capabilities, coffee/tea service, and luxurious bath amenities. Some have electric fire places. The suites have balconies overlooking the Bay and comfortable lounging furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Captain A. V. Nickels Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain a. v. Nickels Hotel Searsport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing