We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Homeport Inn(Searsport)
US$125
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bait's Motel(Searsport)
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Yardarm Motel(Searsport)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seascape Motel and Cottages(Belfast)(Great Value!)
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village(Belfast)(Great Value!)
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Gull Motel(Belfast)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge(Belfast)(Great Value!)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belfast Harbor Inn(Belfast)(Great Value!)
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yankee Clipper Motel(Belfast)(Great Value!)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
86
20
2
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
86
20
2
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgracious hostsport of callfrench toastthree coursesother guestsmaine coasteach morningan amazing jobprivate balconyexceeded our expectationsgreat glass of winespecial anniversarymemorial daywine and cheese hourpotatoesbeautiful furniturelate afternoon
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We have not stayed at this B&B since the new owners completed their renovations a couple of years ago but we have enjoyed their restaurant several times and have stopped in for tapas and cocktails. It is a beautiful old sea captain's house in a beautiful location. We enjoyed our New Year's Eve dinner there last year - great food and service - perfect for a low-key celebration with my 80 year old mom. I just wish they had some sort of live music that night (jazz or classical maybe?) We returned several times during the summer and were not disappointed. The tapas menu is really good and the portions are sized for sharing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Visitor_from_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We were just passing through, but made this our stop due to a recommendation of a friend, who had also been passing through this past summer. That night, instead of dining in their formal dining room, we opted for the bar where tapas style bar food was served. The bar area, so quaint/charming was chock full of locals. We just kept ordering and it was all so wonderful, not your traditional tapas bar food, but very original.

But, the next morning was the very, very best -- their breakfast. I have had breakfasts almost all over the world, but this was the very best. I will not do it justice as I explain it, but their bacon is no ordinary bacon. I've never had bacon that tasted this extra-ordinarily good. As best as I could determine from them (the owners), they make their own rub and then slowly cook the bacon. Wow! No way really to describe. In addition to a delicious baked egg dish, they then served something like a french toast souffle with maple syrup. Hard to describe, but oh my gosh, so delicious.

They really should compile their recipes in a book; but then, it would not be a secret.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jm5445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

One of the best B&B I've ever had the pleasure to stay in. The personal attention that the owners pay to each guest sets them apart from any other proprietors. The breakfast included in the stay is worth staying there alone!

Room Tip: I don't think it matters as each room represents a different port of call. They have their own personality and are lovely.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

When Brenda and Mike found out we were celebrating a special occasion (my husband’s birthday) by dining at the Captain A.V. Nickels, they offered up their private dining option. When Mike seated us in a cozy, yet elegantly-appointed private room tucked just off the kitchen, we knew we were in for a wonderful evening. Nothing had been left to chance, from the beautifully laid table full of china, silver and crystal, to the roses and soft music, it was the perfect spot for a romantic dinner just for two. The excellent food only added to the beautiful setting. Served by a charming young waiter, we dined on salads dressed with Brenda’s own personal salad dressing. These were followed spectacularly by duck in a decadent cherry sauce and a massive stuffed pork chop with a fabulous sherry cream reduction. Both dishes were appropriately accompanied with fresh vegetables lightly dressed with just salt,pepper and lemon juice. To the delight of these foodies, the chef visited with us three times during the evening providing us with his thoughts on ordering and preparation. For our special occasion, a small cappuccino cake with candle was served up, but the true dessert highlight was the most delicious mocha ice cream ever. It is a homemade concoction from son and Tapas bartender, Mark. We were lucky enough to get the last of this batch.

The Capt. A. V. Nickels is a beautifully restored B & B with excellent dining, but their true treasure might be their owners attention to putting it all together. This experience is one we are glad we didn’t miss.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We had taken a tour of the inn a year ago and were so impressed we decided that for our 10th anniversary we would stay at the Captain Nickels Inn. It was everything we imagined and more. We booked the Port of call London room. So beautiful, so romantic, so comfortable, and the individual attention owners Mike and Brenda give each guest is unmatched anywhere we've ever stayed. Antiques lover? Gourmet food lover? You will be in heaven! Furnished totally with the finest european antiques and boasting a 5 course dinner and 3 course breakfast, it truly put our special weekend over the top. We vowed to spend every anniversary there from now on. It will be tough to choose which beautiful room to choose next year! Also I have to mention that the weekend we stayed, the inn was having Octoberfest. The whole staff was dressed in leiderhosen and drindl dresses and there was lots of german beer, food and music! So much fun! Thank you Mike and Brenda for making our special weekend something we will always remember and we look forward to many more anniversary weekends with you!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews